We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...WOW!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Ranked #15 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2010

This hotel is fantastic!!!
When we opened the door to the room they had given us, i thought they had got it wrong! It was like a penthouse suite! We had to climb a few stairs to the door and it was like a whole apartment instead of just a normal room. The room was massive and had a seperate bedroom section. There was a dining table and chairs, settee, another area with a desk and wardrobes and a fridge and the bathroom was amazing, it even had speakers for the radio to play in there! There was also a large balcony with a great view!
It was cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels and the whole hotel was spotless. The bar and restaurant areas were just as good and the breakfast was the best ive ever had, there was so much choice! The chef made anything you asked for! Freshly cooked waffles covered in fruit and drizzled in chocolate fountain is my idea of heaven!!!
The location was also good, not exactly in the centre but only a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral and other central attractions. We went for the Christmas markets, of which there were 7 and the best ive ever visited, and these were all within a short walking distance of the hotel. 10/10 for this hotel and i DEFINATELY recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

The staff varied greatly. Some were very friendly and proactive, others were grumpy and unhelpful.
With the exception of the reception area, the whole hotel feels very dated. The rooms were compact but comfortable. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room but there was a minibar. There was also a desk, wardrobe, TV and an arm chair.
I had a quick look at the fitness facilities and they were very basic.
The hotel is in a great location - only 15 minutes walk to the town centre and the Dom cathedral. It is also just a ten minute walk to the chocolate museum.
With so many other hotels in the area, and having previously stayed at another hotel in Cologne, I feel there are better deals to be had than the Mercure. I would therefore not recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunsWithSquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in early December 2009. We had travelled to Cologne to visit the Christmas markets. This was my third time in Cologne so I was happy with the location of the hotel in relation to the markets before I booked.

The hotel is around a 15 minute gentle walk into the very centre of Cologne.

We arrived at the hotel around 11:30 am and were delighted to find that both rooms were ready for us. The check in was quick and efficient.

The rooms are of medium size, not huge but not small either. They are brightly decorated and very clean.

The bathroom is fairly small but not cramped. The shower is excellent.

There is a small mini bar in the room but it is very limited in that it only contains water, juice and beer. There was also a packet of crisps and a bar of chocolate.

One of the rooms did have a small safe (safety deposit box) but the other didn’t.

There is air conditioning in the room but we didn’t use it as the room temperature was fine for us. The windows can be opened so we usually opened it in the mornings to let air in and closed it at night to block out the noise.

The windows block out most of the noise once closed but you can still hear a certain amount of noise especially church bells. But then again this would be the case with a lot of hotels in Cologne as there are a large number of churches in the city. The noise didn’t bother us and you wouldn’t really hear it unless you were already awake or an extremely light sleeper.

The reception area of the hotel is bright, clean and spacious, with seating available. There is a free internet point for residents use and it also includes a printer, which is handy if you need to print out tickets, boarding passes etc… The printer is also free of charge.

The hotel bar is fairly large and well stocked. It servers bar food from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm. We didn’t eat in it during our stay but we did see other people eating and the food looked nice.

One of the reasons I chose this hotel on this visit was that breakfast was included in the price and I had read here that the selection was very good. I have to say I was not disappointed as the breakfast was one of the best I’ve ever had in any European city hotel.
It consisted off :
A large selection of breads and rolls
Salads
Cheeses
Fruits
Yoghurts
2 types of scrambled eggs
Boiled eggs
Sausages
Bacon
Baked Beans
Meat balls
Chicken Wings
Fried eggs cooked to order
Omelettes made to order
Chocolate fountain
Large selection of juices (about 20 varieties)
Coffee machine with a choice of around 8 coffees

The food was constantly replenished even up to the end of service. So there is no need to rush down early in case things are gone.

The restaurant area where breakfast is served is fine during the week but at the weekend it got very crowded and you can find that you are either waiting for a table or are but in an conference room at the back which is a bit of a pain.

On the first Sunday of every month they offer a brunch option from 12:00 so you can choose to have that instead of breakfast.

As it was near Christmas on the Sunday morning there was a chocolate Santa left for each person on the breakfast table. Which was a nice surprise.

On the last morning there we discovered that there was a shopping street to the right of the hotel as you leave it. This street had everything from clothes and shoes stores to small shops where you can get water etc…
There are also a few bars just at the start and an Italian restaurant less than a 5 minute walk up the street on the right hand side.

The staff throughout all areas in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. You could not fault them in any way.

I’m hoping to head back again next year to Cologne for the Christmas markets and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breezer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in October 2008.Hotel sits right next to Severinstrasse tram stop (lines 3 and 4) two stops down from Deutz/Messe Train station and the Kolnarena. Hotel is about 5-10 min walk from the main shopping area so quite well located.

Arrived at 1am as I usually tend to do on a late flight into Cologne and had to wait 10 mins at the front desk, as there was no one on the desk. Finally decided that I wanted my bed and so went in the open office to find the night staff on the PC surfing the net. So not a good first impression.

Was allocated a room on the 1st floor overlooking the tram stop. The double glazing is great becuase you cannot hear the trams or the traffic from the dual carriageway next to the hotel.

However the room is on the small side perhaps no more than 13-14 square metres and becuase of the small nature of the room, the door is not far enough from where the bed is to stop you hearing the noise from the corridor of people going past/slamming doors/being drunk at 2am in the morning!

The room itself is ok, it lacks an in room safe, its a bit sparse on hangers, but it benefits from a honesty minibar. Bathroom is tiny with raised shower cubicle. Although the shower works very well and is powerful.

Bed is quite comfortable, I did manage to sleep quite well in the end.

Toiletries are the standard Mercure fare.

The Spa in the basement was quiet on the Saturday evening we used it. It features a weights/fitness room and sauna and relax area and this was nice to unwind in for a few hours before heading out.

Ok hotel,nothing special. Having stayed in the Novotel City, Park inn Belfortstrasse and Park Inn city West and Radisson SAS hotels in Cologne, this is behind these in terms of comfort and overall experience, but this is an okay option if on a budget or other options are full.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank outrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Rather worryingly this is often the only hotel I can find a room when most of the other hotels are booked up because of trade fairs. In saying that this is a good hotel for the price. Rooms are quite small and drains in the bathrooms get a bit smelly (even in winter!!). Lack of airconditioning means rooms get very hot in the summer. Can get long queues at reception first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Synodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I was unsure why this hotel was so cheap when i booked it. When i arrived, i discovered the entire street in front of it was completely torn up. This was a minor inconvenience though, as my room faced the other way.

Due to the construction, it was difficult to find. At 12,50 per night, parking was reasonable. The room was excellent though, and the interior of the hotel was also very nice.

The main tourist area (near the Dom) was a short bus ride or a nice 15 minute walk. The walk takes you through the shopping areas of Koln.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank magnet1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel. The room was very quiet, clean and spacious. We didn't bother with breakfast (15 euros) as there are loads of bakeries nearby with delicious cakes and pastries. The location is great - about 10 minutes' walk into the city centre and there is a bus stop just nearby if you need it. The reception staff were extremely friendly and I'm sure they speak English if you need them to. There's a sauna in the basement of the hotel but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jesmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hilton Cologne
#18 of 263 in Cologne
2,208 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 263 in Cologne
1,411 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#35 of 263 in Cologne
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#5 of 263 in Cologne
567 reviews
art'otel cologne
#24 of 263 in Cologne
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City

Address: Severinstrasse 199, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#39 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $93 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Hotel Severinshof Köln City is right at the heart of the lively metropolis, in the popular Severinsviertel area. In just a few minutes, you can reach the old town, the famous cathedral, main train station, Lanxess Arena and exhibition center. The hotel has 253 modern non-smoking rooms with free WIFI. We have 6 rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people available for your event. At RELAX - FOOD, DRINKS & YOU, you can eat and drink in a relaxed lounge atmosphere with a large sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Cologne
Mercure Severinshof Koeln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing