We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the City”
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #21 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Difficult to access due to traffic and they could not accommodate our Range Rover in the garage as it was too big, had to find street parking. Reception very friendly and staff very accomodating.
Rooms modern but well appointed and spotlessly clean. Definately a business stop over rather than family but the breakfast was well presented and priced At 160 euro for two not bad for a city location.

Room Tip: Lower floors the lift was very slow and busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 446 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel impresses with a very high-tech and clean appearance, but the staff is warm and attentive. I booked a larger room – "superior single room" – because I don't like being cramped in small places, so my review regards this category. Although there was confusion about the "quiet room" I had requested at the desk, I did indeed get a room that wasn't on the street side of the building. I was very happy with everything about the room except for the lack of food in the evening. The only snacks available as a substitute for dinner at a local restaurant were frozen sandwiches, and both choices had meat on them (which I ended up picking off). Other than that, this was a great place to stay for my conference.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank picky2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good location, very near to Hauptbahnhof. Modern hotel, in an area that is obviously being improved. The bedroom was nicely decorated, with great lighting, comfortable bed and an extra pillow provided on request. The bathroom was quite large, with a very good shower, could just do with a seat in there. One of the best breakfasts we've had, loads of choice and very pleasant staff in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdean187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly, and rooms are good.
Location is about 10 minutes by foot to the Dom, located north of the station.
The hotel has paid indoor parking spaces, and offers an elaborate and high quality breakfast (pushing my review from 4 to 5 stars)
The free nespresso coffee in the room is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has great location with walking distance from main attractions of Köln. Rooms are nice and clean. Hotel has best breakfast what We have seen for very long time. Hotel has a parking lot which is very good because of small streets with full of cars. Friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rauno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We looked on Tripadvisor and found this hotel based on the price range we were looking for. Our GPS in the car found it very easily and we arrived around 8pm on a Saturday. There is some parking spaces out front, which were all taken, but we found one right around the first corner. The parking rules/ cost is 1 EUR for 20 minutes between the hours of 9am - 9pm, and it is free on Sunday. We tried putting money into the meter for the one more hour before it was free, but the meter was broken. The lady at the front desk was nice enough to even write us a note to put in the car just in case, but we ended up having no problems. We did hear that it was about 14 EUR to use the hotel's parking garage, but we lucked out finding an outside spot. Our check-in was smooth and seamless, very friendly lady at the front desk...she was extremely helpful. I had already read about the somewhat nude pictures when you step out of the elevator, so that is no big deal. Our room was very clean and had a hair dryer, mini fridge, and Nespresso machine inside. To turn on the lights, there's a slot inside the door you put your room key in to turn them on. There were a lot of channels available on the tv, a few in English. We walked to the Dom Cathedral which only took us about 10 minutes, very easy walk to do, so if you're worried about location, it
was great. There were plenty of large towels and hand towels, so we did ask for some washcloths, which they brought up to the room for us. The bed mattresses were a bit hard, I ended up waking up in the night and putting the duvet under me to soften it a little. Our window was facing the construction area, but at night was quiet. Because of the wind the next morning, we could hear the plastic tarps rattling out there. But we had the breakfast buffet which was amazing. They had hot items like eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, plus a lot of fruit, breads, juices, tea, jams, etc. The other nice thing was they do a late riser breakfast that stays open until noon on Sat and Sun. Even though there were a few negatives, the positives were all so nice, it still gets five stars here. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was on a business trip in Cologne, and I was staying in this hotel for a few days.
Hotel is very good, little bit pricey but very decent for that money.
Rooms are very spacious and clean.
Toillet is clean and very nice.
Location is PERFECT!
Staff was very fast, however, since I went there on summer, it was very warm in a hotel.
They didn't want to turn air condition in restaurant ON even when I clearly asked for it.
(probably hotel policy)
It is very difficult to have a breakfast while sweating.
Anyway, do not want to give a bad review for a good hotel,
only minus was that air condition. (air condition in room was more then fine)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioKordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,806 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
2,449 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Address: Dagobertstr. 22-26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $104 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Santo in a quiet location, in the heart of Cologne, and walking distance to the Cathedral, has a straight forward atmosphere since its renovation, but is not lacking in warmth.The stylish rooms are fitted with parquet floors, and have high shine varnished furniture and natural stone floors in the bathrooms.The hotel in the middle of art and culture in the lively cathedral city, has the philosophy “attention as a present to the guest “.Since August 2012 all rooms at the Hotel Santo are refurbished. We are convinced to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing