We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent when you need more than the basic.”
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #21 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is really 4 stars. I spent 3 nights here, during summer and vacation period sadly, to work…
Front desk very helpful, details like shinning your shoes if you ask and considering the breakfast including things like fresh fruits flavored yogurt, champagne, scrambled and poached eggs, sausage, fruits, salmon, cakes, breads… Be prepared an high standard stay and to have delightful meals.
It’s 5 to 10 minutes walking from the Köln Hauptbanhof (Dome), in old side of the town, not exactly near to the crowd, but if you need silence to sleep and do not complain to walk a little, or even got a car, it works.
It’s not the cheapest, especially during the events at the Kölnmesse, but I would stay again, even paying EUR 100/night for a single room.
I got a single’s room, it means a smaller than the average, nevertheless, there was enough space to sleep and work in a decent manner. Besides, unlike other hotels where the room and the bathroom are small, the room has a good size bathroom, including room heater (which I did not use) and automatic water temperature control.
Refrigerator, vault, good hangers, LCD TV and a desk, nice and clean sheet and pillows, everything you need, no flaws but one little consideration, there is no air conditioning in cooling mode!
Yes, that’s a surprise to me, there’s heater but no way to cool my room. Anyway considering that we are talking about a place where it’s unusual more than 22 Celsius (72 Fahrenheit) and I live in a tropical country, 27 (the way it was during my stay), even 30 Celsius to me is “piece of cake”, but be aware to the weather forecast if you are from a “normal” country, you may not like it.
Summarizing my stay: really nice, great breakfast, helpful staff, almost perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning (cooling mode) during the summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 452 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were a couple and stayed here in May2013 for 2 nights. The hotel rooms are nice and clean. The style is modern. The staff is very friendly and gave us good guidance on the things to do and places to eat and drink. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the central station and the cathedral. It makes getting around quite easy and convenient. Having said that the location is on one of the street corners so doesnt offer a great view. But that didnt matter much coz we used to be out the entire day. The breaskfast spread was pretty good as well. And not to forget the price is relatively reasonable. So overall good value for money and a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night in May, having just arrived in Germany on a business trip.

The room I stayed in (a single) was very clean and comfortable and had all the amenities one could need. The bathroom was especially good, with a huge, powerful shower.

The location, while not far from the city centre, wasn't the greatest - it's not in the prettiest spot, being just off a main road and a good 15-20 minute walk to the Old Town.

Having said that though, it was excellent value for money, the staff were lovely and the breakfast buffet was very good. There's also a nice little square about 5 minutes walk away that has a good selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nites during an easter getaway. The staff was super friendly, lots of variety with the big breakfast, and the room itself was clean and comfortable. Not much more to ask for! Street parking can be had if you're lucky, otherwise they have a small garage with average fees. The location is very good, less than 10 minutes (walk) north of the main train station, and 5 minutes from the Eigelstein area (restaurants and shopping).

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an inside-facing room - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlee179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Santo recently for a week long business trip and would certainly recommend this place due to favorable price/value ration - especially during trade fair periods. Since a lot of reviews have already been submitted for Hotel Santo, here are just my personal pro's and con's:

Positive:
- very, very friendly and efficient service: from check in to breakfast staff, it was really a pleasant surprise to experience such highly motivated, courteous and helpful service staff who made you feel welcome every day
- breakfast service was high quality and with plentiful choices of cold and warm items as well as a great coffee and tea selection; they even served sparkling wine, but also lot's of yummy healthy foods (fruits, yoghurts, mueslis etc)
- location was quite central and in easy walking distance to the "Eigelstein" area (lot's of shopping, restaurants, bars) as well as the Ebertplatz area; the city center and main train station are not too far away from Santo as well, and street parking to my surprise was not a problem (even though charging parking fees between 9 AM and 9 PM is quite excessive, but certainly not the hotel management's fault)
- design style in the public spaces is somewhat 'modern minimalist', but if you do like it, it is done quite tastefully, and if you are not a fan, it never becomes obtrusive or feels 'overdone'
- Internet service is great with high reliability and speed (WIFI access was included in my rate)

Negative:
- unfortunately, the design style inside the hotel rooms clearly emphasizes 'form with no function'; I have rarely seen a worse room design than this: cold atmosphere, highly impractical closet space design, a bath room that is hard to keep clean and practically non-existing noise insulation for the room (you literally hear everything from the next rooms and the hall way outside, so prepare for very short sleep time)
- the double room provides two single bed frames (rightfully labeled 'early 90's IKEA style' by another reviewer) who are being pushed together and not fixed to the wall or floor (thus it is always a surprise where in the room you might "end up: in the morning); the beds also offer some of Cologne's most uncomfortable mattresses;
- seating is inadequate on the hard, cheap looking plastic desk chair, and the plethora of confusing light switches leaves much desired if you want to simply be able to switch on the lights without having to first pass an interior lighting designer's course at the local polytechnic...
- rooms facing Dagobertstrasse are facing a major construction site providing the extra 'motivation' and accoustic signals to get up early in the morning...
- Hotel Santo has no in room dining service and no lunch or dinner restaurant on the premises

As you might be able to guess, my stay at Hotel Santo was quite okay for a business trip since I hardly spent any time in the hotel, and just needed a central, clean business hotel. Due to my busy schedule it did not bother me that nights are short at Hotel Santo due to non-existent noise insulation in the room and the less than acceptable bedding arrangement. I had to get up early every day anyway.

The very nice service staff and great breakfast offer was truly the highlight of my stay, and a main reason why I would consider coming back to Hotel Santo - especially when other 4* and 5* star hotels are jacking up room prices to stratospheric heights during trade fair times. Havin said that that, I would look for other alternatives for a personal holiday trip with friends or family to Cologne. A good night's sleep is definitively the most basic service you need to offer to any kind of traveler, and there are definitively better choices than Santo if it comes to room quality, ambience and sleep comfort.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing Dagobertstrasse for the time being (construction site), and try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaffaelloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel Santo offers you nice clean rooms , a nespresso-machine in the room , affordable breakfast and a short distance to the lively center of cologne.
Perfect hotel for a stay without children and for a short trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sejoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a good location we had :) close to the Eberplatz tram station, close to Rheine, close to town and even closer to Puncho Mexican restaurant (there is also Chinese one) and to Metropolis cinema (playing 3d).
The hotel itself was really good, attentive & helpful staff, good selection for breakfast, nice, modern surroundings.
Our room 306 had a free wifi, little toiletries, hair dryer, slippers, shoe polish,nail file, little bar and nesspresso machine which was really useful :) flat TV with good selection of programs, comfy bed, enough space for both of us and luggage.
Bathroom also in nice size, shower big enough for two with great water pressure.
If there was something which we could moan about, it would be that the floor wasn't mopped even once so it was good we had slippers, there is only one hook in bathroom so no place to put your clothes and the fan was laud, but there are only little things which will not disturb to much.
Overall great stay, we do recommend :)

Room Tip: 306 was overlooking a building site, but we were lucky because due to Xmas break, don't know how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#64 of 263 in Cologne
710 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#33 of 263 in Cologne
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dellbrück
Hotel UHU
Hotel UHU
#10 of 263 in Cologne
205 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
720 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#50 of 263 in Cologne
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Address: Dagobertstr. 22-26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#24 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $97 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Santo in a quiet location, in the heart of Cologne, and walking distance to the Cathedral, has a straight forward atmosphere since its renovation, but is not lacking in warmth.The stylish rooms are fitted with parquet floors, and have high shine varnished furniture and natural stone floors in the bathrooms.The hotel in the middle of art and culture in the lively cathedral city, has the philosophy “attention as a present to the guest “.Since August 2012 all rooms at the Hotel Santo are refurbished. We are convinced to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing