We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Ranked #84 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is located near the Central Railway Station (300 m) and the Dom. It was the main reason to chose it as we stayed in Cologne just for a couple of days. Shopping area starts quite opposite the Dom. The breakfast was very nice with a good products variety. We've been given Wi-Fi accounts in an hour after our check-in but for some reason the net was unacceptable within the 1st evening, later OK. We had a room at the 1st floor - very clean. The only minus was a bad ventilation in the bath-room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_wind_of_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the Dom and the city centre so it was a great location. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also very good value and definitely recommended! I would definitely stay here for again if I wanted a cheap and comfortable place. The only thing was that the staff might not be the friendliest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mercyme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visiting Cologne for the first time. This hotel was very handy for the rail station, shops and sights. Good clean room. We had rooms at the 4th floor at the back which was very quiet. Breakfast was included in our rate. The cooked breakfast was very welcome.

Room Tip: High floor worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Visiting Cologne for a short work trip me and my colleague chose this hotel mainly because of its’ central location, only a short walk from the main railway station, and very reasonable room price. No high expectations, given that our experiences of German middle-range hotels in general have not been very uplifting. As someone who is traveling a lot for work and leisure I highly appreciated the genuinely friendly service we received throughout our stay. What a difference compared to many hotels. The abundant breakfast buffet also exceeded our expectations. Our room was small but cosy and tidy, had free Wi-Fi, comfortable beds, and a complimentary bottle of mineral water. Free fruit in the lobby was a nice touch. Plus also for that the hallways and the room were decorated by oil paintings, not IKEA style prints. We did not suffer from any renovation noise or dust complained by some recent previous reviewers, but some noise was coming from other rooms and hallways. There is a shower cabin in the room. What was a little surprising was that the private toilet (for this room only) was not en suite but in the corridor (you get a key and the toilet is "earmarked" to this room only)- many would find this problematic, but it was manageable in a short stay, even if not very comfortable! The entrance hall leading to the lift had many stairs and might be problematic for guests with mobility issues. Could happily stay again for shorter business stays but would ask for a room with toilet en suite.

Room Tip: Check whether your room has a toilet en suite or in the corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was passing through Köln to catch up with friends before heading to Zugspitze. Found this 3-star apartment a gem as it is professionally run in the most convenient location! It is within 5mins walk to the Köln cathedral, 4711 colonge museum cum shopping belt, and train station!
This two-bedroom apartment is very clean, and has a good layout. It even has an additional toilet separate from its bathroom. The top level unit (stayed in by my other friends) even has the view of the Köln cathedral from its balcony. I remember a comfortable stay - a home away from home, as the bed comes with enough pillows for a fussy person like me, amongst other things like pleasant wall paintings and seamless wifi access. The breakfast area works for me too, as it is roomy and professionally run that I forgot it is a 3-star. Overall excellent. Worth every dollar!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place was dreadful. While staying there the hotel was under renovation. It created some much dust that it was disgusting having to walk to our rooms. In addition, the noise started extremely early in the morning. After having complaint we were given new rooms but had to be grateful for this! Well they threw in a couple of free breakfasts but I honestly don't think this made up for the noise and mess.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoppere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Well, it was cheap, and very close to the Cathedral. Everything else? Ughh. From the photos on the website, you'd think this is some kind of cute boutique hotel. Instead, our two-room family "suite" had rooms barely bigger than the (uncomfortable) beds, the tiniest shower I've ever seen (with nowhere to even hang a towel or put your glasses), carpeting you don't want to step on without your shoes, and light so dingy that you couldn't help think it was meant to keep you from noticing the details.

The hotel does not have its own parking, but suggests that guests use an overpriced garage many blocks away. Fortunately because we came fairly late on a Saturday night and street parking is free overnight and on Sundays, we were able to get a free metered spot one street over that we didn't have to worry about. (But the fact that there was street parking available tells you what kind of neighbourhood it is -- deadsville.)

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant a few doors over, where we were served a fairly decent meal by uniformed waiters who all looked like they'd rather be somewhere else. Let's just say we didn't order dessert or linger over a grappa.

After one night, we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonin60seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Hayk
Hotel Hayk
#121 of 263 in Cologne
102 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#56 of 263 in Cologne
982 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Domspatz Hotel
Domspatz Hotel
#209 of 263 in Cologne
86 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#45 of 263 in Cologne
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen

Address: Komoedienstr. 54, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $68 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing