We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three nights in Cologne for the Christmas Markets.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Ranked #61 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Three nights in Cologne for the Christmas Markets.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed in the 5th floor apartment which had two bedrooms with comfotable beds, the larger one having a settee, desk , chair and a small kitchen off it.

Our kitchen had a fridge kettle and oven, this wasn`t really equipped for use, as there were no trays or saucepans etc. A bit disappointing as we hoped to try and warm some food up.

The bathroom was very clean, shower worked well etc.

The lift went to the 4th floor so there were quite a few steps to negotiate after that ,this was fine for us, as there were no other guests on our floor..

The main bedroom was facing two roads and the traffic made it difficult for me to sleep though this may not bother some people.I felt exhausted after three nights .
The other bedroom though smaller, was quieter but the radiator did not work so it was cold at night.

Breakfast was very good, with cold meats, cheeses breads and a great selection of cereals and fruit, staff very friendly in the morning. .

The hotel was very easy to find from the Cathedral and convenient for walking everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dededede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    119
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
110
85
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

A wonderful hotel in a central location, just a stone throw away from cathedral and the old town is just 10 minute walk away. We went with friends for the christmas markets and you can walk to all six markets from 10 minutes to the nearest to about 30 minutes for the furtherest. The hotel has 20 rooms and very clean, with sheets and towels change every day. All staff were very helpful and the breakfast was supberb with wide choices from the usual fruit, cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon to bacon & sausages. We definately recommend a christmas trip and ideal in the summer trip with all the shops and plenty of restraunts and bars to satisfy anyones appitite. The hotel display paintings throughout the hallways and rooms and may not be to everyones taste, but its just a personal choice. We would recommend this hotel to anyone going for a short break and you can walk from the train station to hotel in ten minutes making it ideal for a base for touring the city.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are old but the definately clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DANDYDON1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff run this small hotel, a stone's throw from the very centre of Cologne. Fab breakfast, great selection of hot (bacon,scrambled egg, sausage, haslet etc) & cold (cheese, cold meats, etc) buffet, cereals, very varied selection of dried fruit & other toppings, fruit salad, yogurt, boiled eggs, rolls,pastries, croissants and several fresh juices to choose from as well as a pot of coffee or wonderful hot chocolates with cream. We booked the 2 bedroom suite on the top floor (5th), very large rooms and furnished traditionally and very comfortably with sofa, coffee table, desk in the living area and the kitchenette has a fridge, sink & cooker,plenty of cupboards, and cutlery, although no cooking utensils but fine for making a quick lunch. Very nice newly fitted bathroom with decent shower. The beds in both rooms are 6 feet wide and very very comfortable! We visited this hotel with our 2 teenage daughters, we stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets and it was absolutely ideal. There is free bottled mineral water every day and a display of fresh fruit in reception which you can help yourself to free of charge.

At the time of booking, the hotel arranged parking at a nearby car park which cost around 50 euros for our 4 night stay and was very secure. Just a note to anyone who may not be aware, Cologne is a low emissions zone and if you plan on bringing your car into the town centre you need a LEZ sticker, best thing is to go to the KolnTourismus site and look under "Travelling in Cologne", at the bottom of the page you can click on the Low Emissions zone bit and by sending 5 euros to the address given there, they will send a stick to you, ours was posted and arrived back within a week! Beware other sites who charge 25 -70 euros plus for doing the same thing for you!!!

The shops in Cologne are fab with Hohe Str & Schildegasse being the main areas. There's a little train to get you from one market to another if you don't want to walk. We visited the Lindt chocolate factory/museum by the Rhine which was fascinating and the girls went ice skating, such a perfect and pretty setting.

We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is very roomy and has a kitchenette, it is right at the top of the building. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillseekers044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Lier
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We (two couples) stayed 2 nights in the two-bedroom suite. The separate bedroom is quiet and has a terrace. The beds in hte bedroom are way too soft. The living room is spacious and has a double bed, large sofas, small table with two seats and a lot of cupboard space. The kitchen is small and the bathroom large. The suite has a dated look but was clean. Staff at reception and at breakfast was extremely friendly. The breakfast area is too small. We had to wait twice before we could have breakfast. The very friendly lady apologised and asked if we would please wait a couple of minutes and gave us coffee. The breakfast itself is OK (just about average if you compare to the German dtandards for breakfast). The lsmall ift is a few steps up; not very convenient with bags. We had two complimentary bottles of mineral water every day in the room. At the reception area you can find some free fruit.
We paid Eur 160 per night.
Hotel is close to the Dom and Bahnhof and has a U-Bahn stop just a few meters away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucDeLier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the luxury apartment for 1 week in August. Booked last minute and Hotel offered a very competitive rate. The apartment was as decribed and decorated to a very high standard. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the Cntral train station and was easy enough to find. Staff were very helpful.

The only issues we had was the Dishwasher was not working through-out the stay and also there is an unpleaseant smell in the main lobby of the aprtments (this was not noticable from inside the apartment).

The main shopping district, catheral and river were all in walking distance. Overall we had a pleasenat stay and would have no problem renting the luxury apartment again.

Room Tip: Luxury apartment is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuclearmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The glossy images on the web site did not match the room ... by a long way !
It would seem that the web is portraying the "luxury apartments" & not the standard rooms .
Not a hotel to use if you have difficulty with steps : yes - there is a lift , but there a couple of steps between reception & the lift .
Breakfast is served between 7 - 10 : and again , the web site photos of the big fluffy croissants don't quite match reality - we took a late breakfast & found oddments of bread & congealed food . Make sure that you get down before 10 , because at 10 on the dot , the staff come round & advise all people in the breakfast area , that they will be clearing up immediately .
Was glad that we only had a couple of nights here & left feeling somewhat cheated at having paid over £120.00 per night , for a drab, poorly furnished room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had the "luxury" apartment - their language - and it was amazing. You even have a tiny balcony where you can sit outside and see the Cathedral. I wish we were able to stay in Cologne longer. This was a great respite during a long trip. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Cerano Hotel Koln City
Cerano Hotel Koln City
#90 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#66 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#43 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#46 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#27 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen

Property: Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Address: Komoedienstr. 54, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing