We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & comfortable central hotel - fab breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Ranked #69 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very clean & comfortable central hotel - fab breakfast!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff run this small hotel, a stone's throw from the very centre of Cologne. Fab breakfast, great selection of hot (bacon,scrambled egg, sausage, haslet etc) & cold (cheese, cold meats, etc) buffet, cereals, very varied selection of dried fruit & other toppings, fruit salad, yogurt, boiled eggs, rolls,pastries, croissants and several fresh juices to choose from as well as a pot of coffee or wonderful hot chocolates with cream. We booked the 2 bedroom suite on the top floor (5th), very large rooms and furnished traditionally and very comfortably with sofa, coffee table, desk in the living area and the kitchenette has a fridge, sink & cooker,plenty of cupboards, and cutlery, although no cooking utensils but fine for making a quick lunch. Very nice newly fitted bathroom with decent shower. The beds in both rooms are 6 feet wide and very very comfortable! We visited this hotel with our 2 teenage daughters, we stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets and it was absolutely ideal. There is free bottled mineral water every day and a display of fresh fruit in reception which you can help yourself to free of charge.

At the time of booking, the hotel arranged parking at a nearby car park which cost around 50 euros for our 4 night stay and was very secure. Just a note to anyone who may not be aware, Cologne is a low emissions zone and if you plan on bringing your car into the town centre you need a LEZ sticker, best thing is to go to the KolnTourismus site and look under "Travelling in Cologne", at the bottom of the page you can click on the Low Emissions zone bit and by sending 5 euros to the address given there, they will send a stick to you, ours was posted and arrived back within a week! Beware other sites who charge 25 -70 euros plus for doing the same thing for you!!!

The shops in Cologne are fab with Hohe Str & Schildegasse being the main areas. There's a little train to get you from one market to another if you don't want to walk. We visited the Lindt chocolate factory/museum by the Rhine which was fascinating and the girls went ice skating, such a perfect and pretty setting.

We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is very roomy and has a kitchenette, it is right at the top of the building. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillseekers044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    122
    64
    27
    12
See reviews for
112
86
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Lier
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We (two couples) stayed 2 nights in the two-bedroom suite. The separate bedroom is quiet and has a terrace. The beds in hte bedroom are way too soft. The living room is spacious and has a double bed, large sofas, small table with two seats and a lot of cupboard space. The kitchen is small and the bathroom large. The suite has a dated look but was clean. Staff at reception and at breakfast was extremely friendly. The breakfast area is too small. We had to wait twice before we could have breakfast. The very friendly lady apologised and asked if we would please wait a couple of minutes and gave us coffee. The breakfast itself is OK (just about average if you compare to the German dtandards for breakfast). The lsmall ift is a few steps up; not very convenient with bags. We had two complimentary bottles of mineral water every day in the room. At the reception area you can find some free fruit.
We paid Eur 160 per night.
Hotel is close to the Dom and Bahnhof and has a U-Bahn stop just a few meters away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucDeLier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the luxury apartment for 1 week in August. Booked last minute and Hotel offered a very competitive rate. The apartment was as decribed and decorated to a very high standard. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the Cntral train station and was easy enough to find. Staff were very helpful.

The only issues we had was the Dishwasher was not working through-out the stay and also there is an unpleaseant smell in the main lobby of the aprtments (this was not noticable from inside the apartment).

The main shopping district, catheral and river were all in walking distance. Overall we had a pleasenat stay and would have no problem renting the luxury apartment again.

Room Tip: Luxury apartment is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuclearmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The glossy images on the web site did not match the room ... by a long way !
It would seem that the web is portraying the "luxury apartments" & not the standard rooms .
Not a hotel to use if you have difficulty with steps : yes - there is a lift , but there a couple of steps between reception & the lift .
Breakfast is served between 7 - 10 : and again , the web site photos of the big fluffy croissants don't quite match reality - we took a late breakfast & found oddments of bread & congealed food . Make sure that you get down before 10 , because at 10 on the dot , the staff come round & advise all people in the breakfast area , that they will be clearing up immediately .
Was glad that we only had a couple of nights here & left feeling somewhat cheated at having paid over £120.00 per night , for a drab, poorly furnished room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had the "luxury" apartment - their language - and it was amazing. You even have a tiny balcony where you can sit outside and see the Cathedral. I wish we were able to stay in Cologne longer. This was a great respite during a long trip. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We travelled through Cologne as Mum, 17 yr old daughter and dog on a very hot day. We booked this hotel after checking it out on several web sites and all the photos of the rooms made it look up to date, clean and new. What a different story in real life. Our room was tiny, old and dated and our window looked out into what could only be described as the inner shaft yard of the hotel where the kitchen staff liked to have a chat and smoke at 5am. If we had had a cat too we would certainly not have been able to swing it! In order to use the bathroom facilities (the size of a cupboard) you had to open the door, not good when sharing a room. We booked our dog in online prior to arrival and were told they were not expecting him and after the owner had a long conversation in German with the staff (obviously supposing that we could not understand her!) she wanted to charge us another 15Euros for extra cleaning - no mention of this on the web site! This has to be the most expensive charge I have come across for a dog and was a total joke as the carpet was old and dirty to start with. The hotel is very 'compact but not bijou', we struggled up stairs, into a small lift and then into an even smaller horrible bedroom with no air conditioning. The staff in the evening had no interest in us at all and we ended up getting lost trying to find somewhere to eat late at night. The morning staff were much nicer but breakfast was average and although a cosy room it was again hot. I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel and wish we had stayed elsewhere, it was certainly not cheap. The only bonus was being able to park outside the hotel for free but this was not secure as it was on the road and it was close to the Cathedral however we had to pay for parking from 9am but this was not expensive.

Room Tip: It is not guaranteed that you will get a room that looks anything like the web site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawbsandtheMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We went to this hotel for a couple of days in Cologne. The personnel is very friendly and tries to help the guest. I did not like, that when I make my reservation, they did not mention that they were giving me a room that has the bathroom outside the room, I never asked for a special deal, I only asked for an offer and they gave me price but never a category. We complained about this and they were kind to change us room "without extra charge", it was good to change room with bathroom included, but we had to change room twice because availability, this was not the most comfortable situation. Besides that, the breakfast is ok, pretty much average as on any other hotel (scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, bread, etc. They dont have many fruits though). Internet is free, which is good. They dont have space if you want to leave your luggage after checking out. We did not like, that the hotel is full of paintings of naked persons, which are for sale, does not seem kind friendly in this case, maybe it was only a temporary situation. Another thing was that they have some stairs until the elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, you will have to carry that by yourself about 5 stairs until elevator.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFerdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 260 in Cologne
191 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cerano Hotel Koln City
Cerano Hotel Koln City
#102 of 260 in Cologne
124 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#121 of 260 in Cologne
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#48 of 260 in Cologne
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen

Property: Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Address: Komoedienstr. 54, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing