We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pensioners”
Review of Flandrischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flandrischer Hof
Ranked #52 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was booked for us through a travel agent (travelling by euro star) and we were not disappointed. Lovely clean entrance and receptionist spoke excellent english, although we did try out our german. Because the conditions that we asked for at travel agent either hadn't been met or passed on, our two rooms were upgraded instantly, Ours on 2nd floor our daughters on 3rd. Both rooms near the lift because my husband has trouble walking, although right next to lift we did'nt hear a sound. The room was like a very good Premier Inn, only a shower no bath. Of course there isn't any tea or coffee facilities in room but we knew that and took our own. The continental breakfast was really good, with th usual cold meats and cheese, fruit, juices ,croissants, rolls , there was also scrambled eggs and boiled eggs, in fact my husband a dedicated full english man was satisfied. Although the hotel is in the heart of the bar and restraurant area, it was really quiet. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORMA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 525 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good points :

Location (30 minutes by foot to the Dom)
Friendly staff
Cleanliness
You can leave your car in the parking till the evening on your last day.
Price

Bad points :

Old fashioned decoration.
The room was VERY HOT (about 30 degrees) so the first night it was very difficult to sleep well. The second night we borrowed a fan in the reception.
The room was VERY NOISY at saturday night till 2 am... so we had to choose between noise and hotness. Maybe we could have change the room but we didn't ask for it.
The cleaning lady opened our room door at 8:30 in the morning... We didn't put the thing "not disturb" but it's the first time it's happening for us in a hotel...

So this hotel is correct but don't hesitate to ask for something if you need it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We always stay at Flandrischer Hof when we are at Cologne. We love it there!
The rooms are very clean. Breakfast is more than oké. Very friendly personal. Shops, bars and restaurants are in the near area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Kristel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On the plus side, the hotel is around a half-hour walk to the main sights, or a ten minute trip on the tram or underground from Friesenplatz. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast room was excellent, with a good range of food and drink. The price of the room was very reasonable.

On the down side, the rooms could have been better equipped - ours had no hairdryer, fridge or safe - and the noise from the busy Hohenzollernring and the bar downstairs was EXTREMELY loud (and we were on the seventh floor) and it goes on past midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emgeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hotel is a mid-prized business hotel. In other words "unexciting". The location in Cologne is great, the rooms are small, clean and old fashioned. If your room is to the street side (Hohenzollernring) the passing cars and motorcycles will propably prevent you from sleeping. If your rooms are to the back you will propably have a beautifull view to the airconditioning and kitchen hood system (like I did) but there are also great rooms with a nice view to the breakfast terrace. Ask for those ones. The breakfast is just ok. Coming to the good things: the Hotel is connected to the "Bruegel deluxe" a live Music place with excellent steaks. Good: on Mondays all steaks are 50% off.

But there is no live Music on Mondays and propably no other guest...

Warning: The underground parking is really small. Don't go there with a car bigger than SMART or Golf. You'll propably regret it.

Room Tip: If your room is to the street side (Hohenzollernring) the passing cars and motorcycles will propably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilsinEimsbuettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We liked the staff, the decor, the proximity to good eating & shopping. Excellent breakfast in superb breakfast area (spacious, with excellent outlook onto garden terrace - not quite warm enough to eat outside).
We liked being within 15-20 minute walk of museums & other places of interest.
Our only complaint was the absence of tea & coffee making facilities in the bed-room or in a communal area. There is a "bar" on the ground floor where coffee & tea can be purchased, but no staff available, except when very quiet at the front desk. I must say, desperation for a cup of early in the morning or late at night came over us a number of times during our 5 day stay in Cologne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is located approx. 20mins walking distance from the Dom. The service at the reception is professional. The breakfast buffet is really rich with a variety of meat and dairy products, fruit and vegetable are served in a spacious room. The room we stayed (we were 3 adults) was really big, had 3 windows, it was cleaned daily and had all the basic needs for a short accommodation while we explored Cologne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamarShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Nord
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
#46 of 263 in Cologne
209 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#9 of 263 in Cologne
423 reviews
Hotel Weber
#91 of 263 in Cologne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#51 of 263 in Cologne
113 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#124 of 263 in Cologne
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandrischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandrischer Hof

Address: Flandrische Str. 3 - 11, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $82 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flandrischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Cologne is best known for its events and trade fairs that regularly take place. The privately run Hotel "Flandrischer Hof" is located in the Center of Cologne directly at the "Rudolfplatz" You can easily reach the shopping miles of Colgone, as well as lots of restaurants, bars and other localities. The Cologne Cathedrale is with about 2,3 km in a ten minutes walking distance. Besides the categories which fulfil a casual to enhanced requirement the lots in our parking garage build the comfort of placing the vehicle in striking distance and so you can spare the search for a parking lot in the City Centre of Cologne. Enjoy a substantial breakfast to start your day right. Bread rolls, fruits, cereal, cold meat or hot food - our buffet contains lots of tasty treats. Even if you suffer from a gluten intolerance an alternative can be offered. Please let the hotel know in advance if you would like to have your breakfast gluten free, so it can be arranged. Enjoy day and evening dining at the "Brasserie Brvegel", a local favourite known for its classy yet casual atmosphere. The restaurant features International and Mediterranean Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flandrischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandrischer Hof Cologne
Flandrischer Hof Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing