We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Nea Smirni, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old building 150 years old this year in a very nice location next to the cathedral of Koln and the central train station.
very nice breakfast,very clean rooms and very professional staff ready to answer in any need.
plus a Michelin Polynesian restaurant

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loukas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service. Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    209
    58
    29
    13
See reviews for
189
459
88
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is very well located, close to the railway station and Cologne Cathedral.
Very nice old building that's just this year celebrates 150 years.

The first thing that catches your eye - is the level of hotel staff.
Everyone is very kind, well-schooled and trained to be always useful to you throughout your stay.
Great staff on the front desk, restaurant and concierges! 100% LHW

About the rooms.
The lowest "superior" class rooms not advise to take, it's not what you would expect from a 5 ***** Deluxe.
We had booked a deluxe room, but at the time of our arrival, he was not yet ready. Concierge immediately suggested us to wait at the bar and take advantage of their hospitality by all that we want to chose .... (Very nice).
Excellent cappuccino with candies & pastries!
While our room was in preparation process revealed that there is some problems, and we expect a big and pleasant surprise! We was upgraded to the executive suite in the new part of the hotel!
Our happiness knew no bounds when we entered the room!
Thank you very much to the management for such opportunity!
More than 70 square meters, 3 LCD, guest area, small meeting area, a lovely bedroom and a luxurious bathroom with a bath and rain shower, a good cosmetics! Minibar is included in the room (only drinks, beer, soda, juice). Even a guest toilet and a separate entrance to the living room. )

The next morning we waited for breakfast. Which have disappointed us a little. (
No, the food is very fresh and tasty, but the choice is very modest, unless you're a big fan of baking (here is what to choose)) ). Breakfast is continental rather.

The historic building has brought some correctives in the Spa.
Of having only a small sauna and gym. But what can you do ... But quietly and calmly, in the sauna we were alone visitors. )

Below the hotels lobby is a wonderful Japanese restaurant, by the way one of the best not only in Cologne!

We very satisfied of our stay!
Especially the room, it's something! We haven't been before in such one yet!

We strongly recommend this hotel for a stop in Cologne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Vladislav,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate our hotel on this portal. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore, we are especially happy about your choice of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst as “one of the best in Cologne”. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Excelsior is a world class hotel located within walking distance of the Dom, the train station, the museums, and the pedestrian only shopping street. Reception staff and the bell men were courteous and well organized. Our room, finished in dark mahogany, was luxurious. The bed mattress and linens were divine. Everything was spotless in the room and, as with other 5-star hotels, the evening treat of fruit and/or chocolates was a nice touch. The sauna, included in the price of the room, was a wonderful way to unwind at the end of the day. There are two guest computers on the mezzanine floor. We'll be staying at the Excelsior again when we come back to check our lock on the Hohenzollernbrücke.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteknight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear WhiteKnight63,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service. Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

With one night in Cologne, we had wanted to stay at the Dom hotel to have a good view of the magnificent cathedral, but as it was closed for renovation, we opted for the Excelsior. They only had a suite left, so we took it. We had stayed at the Excelsior several years ago when it was already looking sad and tired. I thought surely they must have done some renovation. But no. Our suite was not only pricey (€520/night) but it had no air conditioning, a very soft queen-sized bed, and ghastly decor. We had a small bedroom with a large adjacent living room that only had three vey sad looking chairs in it and amazingly unattractive paintings on the wall. It was a warm night. Without air conditioning we had to sleep with windows open which ushered in the boisterous noise of the rowdy crowds in the pubs below. Aside from having a view of the Dom, it was a very terrible experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riosupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Riosupermom,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. I deeply regret that we did not reach your expectations in every way this time. Please contact me directly to discuss the situation. That way we can resolve your point of criticism satisfactorily.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a junior suite which was large, quiet, clean and very comfortable. There was a free minibar which was stocked up daily and a good choice at the buffet breakfast. The location is excellent, the hotel right next door to the mainline station and the Dom.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jal13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear jal13579,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. Therefore we are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot the location is one of the best in Cologne and the staff service excellent. The room was very spacious and luxurious. My only comment for the hotel management would be ditch the free mini bar and replace it with free Wi Fi which is charged at 9 euro a day I am sure it would work of more profitable in the long run and nowadays people expect free WiFI in a hotel of ths standard

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartcrag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear 268Traveller_Nick,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on this portal. It is our daily ambition to create a comfortable atmosphere for every guest each day anew; therefore we will take your honest comment in consideration concerning the free wifi. We really hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel nearly has it all - wonderful location, classic Grandeur and really superb and constantly obliging staff matched with a reasonable room rate.
Unfortunately the relatively small rooms seemed to have lost a little polish.
I suspect the hotel's rooms will be under more scrutiny once the "Dom" Hotel re-opens in May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Rodney,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. We regret that we could not reach all your expectations and sincerely hope you accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused. We take your feedback very seriously and will introduce the necessary steps to rectify the problem. Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
2,218 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
1,690 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 262 in Cologne
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#26 of 262 in Cologne
1,983 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing