We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for the Xmasmarket. ideal location also opposite car park if you drive as we did. Good helpful staff . Bar and breakfast resturant nice. Overal a nice place to stay in Cologne if you can afford it. We got a great deal booking about 3 weeks in advance via the Trivago site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertshezbulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear hertshezbulla,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    210
    59
    29
    13
See reviews for
194
464
91
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel restaurant is one of the best in Cologne. The attention to detail, the food, the wines all exceed expectation and the setting is in a wonderful wooden dining room. Every course was delicious and presented delightfully.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear WillnRoss,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our restaurant Hanse Stube in this portal. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal as well as the overall service and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Single night stay for a business trip in this traditional hotel was very good. Service and general courtesy is really old school if you are used to the high tech US/Eu chains, but the difference is refreshing.
Was shown around the room by a member of staff and although the decor was quite dated the place was clean and tidy. TV was best set up I have seen in a hotel as you can search channels by language so I was able to watch the BBC!
Good quality bed, good breakfast and we had a snack lunch in the bar where my colleague commented that the portions were US sized.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear voyager,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our hotel in this portal. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore we are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As you enter, you would never anticipate the quiet elegance that sits behind those doors. The rooms are very traditional. The bathroom is expansive with marble counters. Bathrobes are included. We asked for a quiet suite and were given a room in the back of the hotel. It was quite a trek but well worth the walk. The service was warm and very responsive. Even the doorman was helpful with directions & a smile. We booked the room with breakfast and were treated to a spread of fresh fruits, meats, fish, cheeses, eggs...breads, etc. They have a great bar that also serves food...an intimate setting. Yes, you pay more for this hotel but it wasn't unreasonable given the quality of service, rooms, food and privacy. Across the street is the Dom and a huge shopping center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrFreeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ZephyrFreeway,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The excelsior is a very quiet, clean and well-located hotel. Nevertheless, it's over priced! If you want to stay here, try to pick the right days since at events' times it gets really crazy in terms of room rate. The internet is NOT free, though you pay 300-400 euros daily rate! This seems unacceptable at all..

Room Tip: Very close to the Dome, the old town, and fast food outlets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulaziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Abdulaziz A,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on this portal.
It is our daily ambition to create a comfortable atmosphere for every guest each day anew; therefore we will take your honest comment in consideration of the internet.

We really hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location is superb, just next to the Dom and the central train station, but without the noise as rooms are well insulated. The Deluxe Twin Room is very spacious and has separate wardrobes and wash basins. But what impressed us most was the service and warmth provided by the front desk lady, Rebecca. We had a very late check in but her professionalism in resolving the issue, sincere apology, and personally showing us to our room, more than made up for the problem. She also made very good restaurant recommendations and was always serving with warmth, smile and humour. To us, she exemplifies what great customer service is all about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Singapore_Quek,

Thank you for commenting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities and have forwarded your kind comments about our staff to the referred employee. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests. From that we take our aspiration to guarantee a consistently high level of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future I remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First of all, not everyone expects the same of an accommodation. Meaning, if I like something, it doesn’t mean that you (the reader) will also like this hotel.

For us, important are:
1. Location
2. Service
3. Cleanliness
4. Room / Quiet room
5. “Design”
6. Breakfast / restaurant

1. Location:
We came to Cologne to experience the start of the Carnival season. We wanted to be close to the “madness” but not in the smack middle of it.
The Excelsior Hotel Ernst is about a 90 second stroll from the train station (very convenient!), right across from Cologne’s most famous sight – the Koelner Dom (beautiful and impressive), and a short walk of about 5 minutes from Old Town and Heumarkt. As well, if you like shopping, you basically just stroll 2 minutes to one of Cologne’s main shopping areas.
2. Service:
I expect friendliness, efficiency and help, when we need it.
The Excelsior Hotel Ernst more than fulfilled all these requirements without ever coming across as being pushy or “we know better than you anyways”. Room service was great, too: Professional and polite and friendly.
You get the feeling, the staff just wants to help and please you wherever possible!
3. Cleanliness:
Very satisfied with it! I felt comfortable enough to walk around in our room barefeet.
4. Room / Quiet room:
Our purpose for a hotel room is to stay and SLEEP in it. I am waking at the tiniest bit of noise.
Of course, you never can guarantee not to have rowdy hotel guests that spoil it all for you. But street noise and such is something that you can avoid.
Upon booking, we asked for a quiet room. The staff graciously upgraded us to a suite: Room 305/306
The living room faces the square in front of Koelner Dom – what a beautiful view we had. Not only of the Dom, but also of all the fun Carnival activities below (without needing to be in the middle of it).
The bedroom was out to the quiet back, courtyard area of the hotel.
It was quiet, and we had a wonderful time!
And: I am sure, that even without our upgrade the hotel would have done everything to put us into a quiet regular room!
5. Design:
I am not a fan of hypermodern everything. I want my amenities, but prefer some kind of charme.
This hotel is it! Our room had a nice mix of old/antic furniture in the living room and nice and modern (but not cold) looking furniture in the bedroom. The bathroom was clear cut, yet stylish.
6. Breakfast / Restaurant:
I have to admit, we are probably food snobs. Yes, we can go and get a Kebab or go to a fast food restaurant (plenty of these around the hotel!).
But for a nice dinner we prefer a peaceful venue with well prepared food out of excellent ingredients, but still sort of homestyle and not too fancy. Meaning: The ambience should not feel like you are in a church where you don’t dare moving or talking, and food with “infusions” of something sometimes makes me wonder, if they don’t know how to bring out the best of basics.
Breakfast: buffet style plus staff offering cooked items for you.
Everyone should be able to find something out of these German style breakfast offerings. They even had soy milk. My favorite: Honey directly from a honeycomb!
Piano Bar: Just a little more upscale than others hotel bars I know. My favorite is French champagne – and they had THREE to offer BY THE GLASS!!!
Restaurant: We went to “Hanse Stube”. Clean cut, yet cozy and WONDERFUL, EXCELLENT food! It was exactly what we were looking for! Another example for the hotel’s great service: At the end of dinner you were being offered sweets – a tray of choices of chocolate truffels. The pure thought of it makes me topple over in excitement again ;->
Also: We had a bottle of wine with dinner, that we did not finish. It was the most normal thing for the restaurant to send the remaining ½ bottle up to our room (with new glasses mind you!) to enjoy it there in peace and quiet.

For more details check out the hotel’s website: http://www.excelsiorhotelernst.com

Bottom line: We absolutely LOVE this hotel! It was OUR perfect stay and I can only recommend it!
This is one out of the many hotels we have been to where we looked at each other many times and said “this feels almost like home”!

Thanks to the ENTIRE staff at the hotel again to pamper their guests and really make you feel welcome and well cared for!

Room Tip: If you have special requests for a room, I urge you to call the hotel directly - they will ensure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear familynomad,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing