We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, gem of Koln!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, gem of Koln!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the Excelsior Ernst. It was the best part of dreary Cologne. When we asked for a quiet room, they more than obliged - no trouble with noise and slept soundly. The bathroom was fabulous and seemed brand new - which is often hard to come by in European hotels. The hotel bar is also very quaint and waiters gave great service. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycTaveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear nycTaveler14,

Thank you for commenting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. It’s a pleasure to read that you was enthused by the furnishings of your room and especially of your bathroom. Furthermore we are pleased that you had such a great evening in our hotel bar and that you felt very welcome and comfortable there.
We are especially happy about your positive evaluation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst Team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    214
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
198
476
93
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed 2 nights after completing a river cruise down the Main and Rhine rivers. After being in a small room on the boat our room was extremely spacious and close to everything in Cologne. The staff were very helpful and recommended a great local pub where the beer and food were delicious and authentic! Would recommend this hotel to anybody holidaying in Cologne.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuellenRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear voyager,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst .Your personal opinion is the basis for our employees to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Thank you as well for the compliments on our rooms and the service. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your dinner at the local pub which was recommended by our concierge service.
Therefore, we are very happy about your positive evaluation and we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to your acquaintances.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Amazing Hotel. Walked out of the train station and was inside the lobby within 2 minutes. The location is fantastic. The Dom, trainstation, shopping, food, etc... are all right outside your door - but when you enter the Hotel - it is 5 star all the way. Amazing staff - friendly and they speak English if you need them to. Quiet, luxurious, spacious, VERY helpful. It is expensive - but you get what you pay for!

A couple things to know:

They do not provide free WIFI. It's about $10.00 euro/day.

The great bar inside the Hotel allows smoking

Room Tip: Renovated rooms on 2nd floor - very quiet and peaceful and VERY luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jeffrey,


thank you very much for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
We are delighted to read that you have been pleased with our services and facilities.
Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future we remain

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed with my wife and two of our children for a couple of days to explore Cologne. We were given a comfortable room that consisted of two bedrooms: one for the children and one for us adults. The children were given teddy bears and some sweets, which impressed them. The windows gave straight to the Dom, which was a nice plus. Furthermore, we appreciated the free mini-bar and the excellent breakfast that was included in our room rate.

The location is perfect as it is next to the railway station and you can easily access all the places of interest in Cologne. If I ever need a hotel in Cologne again, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Finkki,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
It is great to read that we could surprise you not only with our excellent location next to the Cathedral and the fantastic view on the it but also with the little welcoming presents for the children. Our staff and we aim for making your stay an unforgettable experience.
We are happy that you had such a pleasant stay in Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A nice place, well located to discover Koln and visit the messe.

Very friendly and helpful staff, nicely renovated rooms overall good quality. Hans Stube restaurant is excellent. Breakfast a bit clumsy setup and basic for a hotel at this level.

Wireless internet in the room a hassle to access, connection keeps dropping and slow. A 5 star hotel should simply provide free wifi in the whole place like, it's nothing different than water from the tap.

Overall OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanfromG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear JanfromG,

Thank you for your comment on the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are glad to read that you was pleased with the friendly and helpful staff and the facilities of the rooms. Thank you as well for the compliment regarding to our restaurant Hanse Stube. We deeply regret that we did not reach all of your expectations this time. We will verify your remark regarding to the internet access. We appreciate any kind of criticism. That way we can resolve your point of criticism satisfactorily.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the not too distant future

for the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at three others in the Leading Hotels of the World group, and they are all fabulous hotels if you like old-world style and excellent service (and are willing to pay for it). If you join the Leaders Club ($150USD/year) you get free room upgrades, Internet, and continental breakfast for two, which is probably worth it if you only stay for a few days. The Ernst is immediately adjacent to the rail station and the magnificent Dom, and Cologne is easy to get around. As others have said, the rooms are sumptuous; I particularly liked the offer of several different kinds of pillows. The concierge was most friendly and set up a one-day Rhine cruise for me, and ensured I knew exactly what to do, which was wonderful since I don't speak any German. The breakfast is excellent and is served until 11:00a.m. My only slight complaint is the Internet service; I stayed at three hotels in Germany on this trip and although the wi-fi service at the Ernst was the best, you're limited to 250mb uploads on any one session so your Skype call home will only last at most half an hour. You can keep renewing the sessions, but it's a bit annoying. All in all, though, I'm very happy with all the LHW and the Ernst was no exception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOL55186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate the Excelsior Hotel Ernst as well for the compliments on our rooms and service philosophy on this portal.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and it is great to read that we could surprise you with our central location next to the Cathedral, the rail station and the historic centre.
We are very happy that our offer of several different kinds of pillows suits you.
Furthermore it we are glad that you are content with the exceptional advantages of being a Leaders Club member.
We would like to thank you for your constructive criticism relating to the internet access we will introduce the necessary steps to rectify the problem.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.


Warm regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillelagh Co Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel has a big heart, as well as being in the very heart of Cologne opposite the cathedral and close by the railway station.

As others have said, it is an old and very gracious hotel, both in architecture and service, which is the friendliest, kindest and most helpful we have ever found, anywhere. It was also very efficient. From check-in with the lovely Rebecca who gave us such a warm welcome, to Luciano on the door; Christos [who organised tickets to the Opera, hairdresser and recommended good quality shops locally. Try Sauer's - I purchased a beautiful classic coat there]; to the very young trainee lad in the breakfast room - all the staff were simply superb.

We were given an amazing spacious suite facing the cathedral and plaza with two sets of french windows, It was a great place to 'watch the world go by' as well as all the talented street artistes who performed throughout the day in the square. The suite was gracious and well appointed, with a large desk, comfortable seating and complimentary mini-bar. My only reservation was that the bathroom had no separate shower [though two hand basins and a bidet], and the bath had rather high sides for climbing in and out! The large bedroom was at the back of the suite and had plenty of storage space. The bed was sooo comfortable, with the fluffiest pillows and duvets ever. You are also offered a selection of different types of pillow [from spelt to neck support etc].

Excelsior Hotel Ernst is an exceptional place - a real joy to stay in. We will return!

Cologne is a lovely city with a myriad of restaurants. The cathedral alone is stunning, and there are excellent museums. A great place for a short break, and so accessible. We flew from Dublin to Dusseldorff [1hr 25 mins] and picked up an express train in the airport, arriving in Cologne 35 mins later. The hotel is one minute from the station across a pedestrianised square.

Room Tip: Room 305 gives an uninterrupted view of cathedral and plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHEKoeln, Manager at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Countrybumkin,

we are deeply grateful for you detailed and positive review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and it makes us proud that we could convince you with our service philosophy “Your individuality is our excellence”, lived by all of our staff and we aim for making your stay an unforgettable experience.
To all our staff it is priority to make our guests feel at home as much as possible and It is our daily ambition to create a comfortable atmosphere for every guest each day anew. We are happy that you felt at ease in our room and it suits us to read that you was stoked due to the comfortable bed and our pillow-selection.
It is great to read that we could surprise you not only with our excellent location next to the Cathedral and the fantastic view on the Cathedral but also with the design and the atmosphere of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are happy that you had such a pleasant stay in Cologne and the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again
Warm regards,

For the Excelsior Hotel Ernst team,

Wilhelm Luxem
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,361 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,067 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#20 of 261 in Cologne
430 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 261 in Cologne
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Ernst

Property: Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Address: Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#3 Business Hotel in Cologne
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Ernst 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing