We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cologne
Ranked #4 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here on business, and loved it. The hotel is modern and clean, with beautiful rooms and comfortable bed. The onsite bar is great with quaint outdoor seating, and the restaurant has a very nice breakfast buffet. The staff are very courteous and helpful as well. The location is perfect for walking to the Dom or the Schildergasse for amazing shopping (and this from someone who hates shopping!) I would recommend this hotel highly for anyone visiting Cologne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    706
    160
    44
    13
See reviews for
123
766
138
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very good location, especially during Carnival. Not far from Christmas markets and close to the best brauhaus in Cologne...Paffgen right down the street in Friesenplatz! I used to stay at the Renaissance but it is now owned by a German chain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet area of the city but yet within easy walking distance of the cathedral, Rhine and shopping areas. The beds were the most comfortable hotels beds I have slept in and the room was well equipped with modern bathroom. The reception staff were exceptional helpful, with good recommendations for restaurants and how to get to places etc... They also were able to provide a loan travel pug and when we had our camera stolen liaised with the police on our behalf. Breakfast was exceptional with a fantastic choice of any type of breakfast food including freshly cooked eggs sausages and bacon as well as their own honey (they have a bee hive on the roof of the hotel). We ate in the restaurant one evening and again very good service and food. The spa area was also great.

The only downsides were having to pay for Wi-Fi and parking (23euros per day) and no swimming pool.

However I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Pullman is a very comfortable hotel with contemporary decor, nice linens and toiletries, and somewhat of a business travel vibe. The bathroom was immaculately clean, the beds were super comfortable, and check-in was efficient and friendly. As a tourist, I was surprised how quick and pleasant it was to walk to the major sights of Cologne (i.e. the Dom area) from the Pullman, along Breite Strasse, a largely pedestrianized shopping street. If the price was right, I would definitely stay at the Pullman again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very good hotel. Located within walking distance of the Hautbahnhoff, main shopping areas and the cathedral, i found it particulary pratical.

Room extremely comfortable with a nice modern bathroom. Everything worked. Located on the 11th floor, i had a small balcony and a wonderful view over the roofs with the cathedral as a backdrop.

While the bar was closed for redocorating, the outdoor terrace was OK and the service adequate.

Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of german specials togther with fruit, cerials, etc... And for once the bacon was actually cooked!

Room Tip: Try to get a eastward facing room on the upper floors. The view of the cathedral is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'm glad work was paying, because I'm sure it wasn't cheap. This is a very nice hotel. Room was very comfortable and quiet. The brand-name toiletries are a plus. Service was excellent. Breakfast was great.

If you have the means, or if work is paying, I highly recommend it.

Only minor downside: internet is not included in the price. However, if you are an Accor club member or join up as an Accor club member, then the internet is free.

Also, internet doesn't work well in the lobby/bar area (which was a slight irritation).

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on a higher up floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babelfish111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear babelfish111,

Thanks a million for your nice feedback! W-LAN will be offered complimentary within the second half of this year - for the being we offer free W-LAN for our Le Club members (new and existing).

With best regards,

Esko Rebstock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Going to the hotel from the station made it seem like it was out of the way but in fact the back of the hotel is one of the best shopping streets in Cologne. Also the main streets of bars and restaurants are only a few minutes walk.

The hotel itself was very comfortable. The rooms could have been a little bigger and maybe with a few more luxury touches. However as I only stayed one night it was perfect. The breakfast buffet was very good. In general the staff and service were fine but a special mention must go to the bar man in the wine bar who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,400 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,211 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,100 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 260 in Cologne
532 reviews
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#10 of 260 in Cologne
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Property: Pullman Cologne
Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Family Hotel in Cologne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing