We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pullman Cologne
Ranked #6 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here in May & got upgraded to a nicer room-- made getting out to explore Cologne on a cold & rainy day difficult! Super comfortable bed & pillows! The shower was amazing, but it was one of those fancy voyeur ones (don't worry there's a "wall" you can bring down for privacy). In general, the room had all sorts of silly gimmicks I found very amusing-- from the shower, to the lullaby cord by the bed, and the tea drawer. The breakfast was plentiful-- omelette bar, a cool honey comb (yes, more gimmicks!), huge selection of cheeses, meats, and breads (those mini whole wheat croissants are amazing!), and so much fresh fruit. Great location-- right between the Dome & the shopping area, you can easily walk anywhere. We had issues when we were checking out with wifi-- we were told it was free when we checked in, but were charged for it upon check out. It worked out in our favour in the end, but keep an eye out for this! Oh, and definitely take the glass elevator up to the bar for an excellent view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    676
    153
    44
    13
See reviews for
119
726
136
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel and it's location is very good, there is a good party street in the next block.
But to charge 25€ for breakfast is robbery. When going 100 meters down the street there are to nice restaurants serving buffets for under 10€.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Typical business hotel room although a bit on the small side. Bathroom was also small and a bit dark if you are trying to put on makeup. No tub, just a shower. Staff didn't seem interested in helping us as tourists - we found most things on our own just by wandering. There is a nice pedestrian area a couple of blocks away with shopping and cafes (Bastian is great for breakfast). Only real plus is underground parking although it does cost. Location is not fantastic for tourists but easily walkable to the Dom area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear KiwiRoadrunner,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry that my team made such a detached impression on you. Rest assured that this is not the regular service. We love Cologne und we love to help you discover it.
Our rooms have different bathrooms. Some are equipped with a walk in rain shower, others with a bath tub and also a few rooms with a regular walk in shower. Tell us your preference and we will offer you the suitable room type.
It would be a great pleasure welcoming you back - there is still a lot to discover in Cologne.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is about a 12 minute walk from the main train station. It's pretty much a straight run, and easy to do if it not raining, or too cold, or you don't have much luggage. The room is well laid out, with lots of plugs. The breakfast, included in the rate, is really quite good. With a choice of made-to-order eggs, breads, cereals, and various meats and fish, you have a choice that fits pretty much any type of diet requirements. It was a great start of the day.

The health-club area is also quite good. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear DBM24,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast offer. Our breakfast should meet every diet requirements we´ve heard of but if not, we will add the missing items.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is close to the main railway station and very near to the city centre. Check in fast and friendly and the deluxe room was quite spacious, clean and modern. Great waterfall shower! The facilities are what you would expect from a business-oriented hotel except there is still a (reasonable) charge for the Wi-Fi but hopefully that will get absorbed into the room rate some day. The public areas are spacious and there is lobby bar with good friendly service. Slept very well in the bed and had an extended check-out time with no problem. Overall a good hotel with very good service albeit a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cham3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in a good location within a short walk from the city centre in Köln. The hotel itself looks average inside, but the rooms are good with some of the most comfertable beds I've slept in (I'm fussy), and a good bathroom with a nice shower. Top marks to the bar on the top floor for great views and a very good Pimm's that was just perfect after a long day of walking.
I also liked the nespresso machine for my morning coffee (no dry evil powdercoffe!).

The hotel is central but not really that convenient for public transport if you're unfamiliar with Köln and don't like walking. To get from the airport the easiest option is definately a taxi. (we normally try to go by public transport, but it was just too inconvenient here).

My main complaint is that they charge for wifi. I would expect it to be free in a hotel of this standard.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but instead we opted for Bastians around the corner (Auf dem Berlich 3-5) which had really great food with lots of diffrent nice german bread on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
414 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a well located hotel that is busy with many business meetings it seems. Limited service - we arrived by car, no doorman to take our bags, no one to tell us where to park until desk clerk. Room 1028 is nice with view of the cathedral and cozy, oddly just Euro 70 cheaper than we paid at hte Ritz Carlton Berlin which is over the top luxury and this is just ordinary

Good breakfast buffet, decent internet you pay for either for 1 hour, 24 hours or 1 week, no other options., I bought a week for three days to avoid visiting the desk.

Front desk is a disappointment. Lines, slow, no interest. I asked about the river cruises and was told to buy tickets and get information at the tourism office, which was closed at 9 pm on May 29 when I went (no surprise) but happily did find the Dom open and visited. May 30 was a holiday and tourism office opened at 10 am and boats leave at 9:30 am. Bad luck for me as this was one reason i chose to stay in Cologne, but we drive to Koblenz and had fun there. I actually liked Koblenz more than Cologne - livelier, happier and prettier place.

I did overhear on May 29 that hotel restaurant was fully booked, not great for guests on a rainy night but it gave me more of a reason to go near the Dom and eat at the Fru Hofbrauhaus which was grand.

Room Tip: get a view of the Cathedral (Dom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Hilton Cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Property: Pullman Cologne
Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#5 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing