We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more Pimm's please!”
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cologne
Ranked #5 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One more Pimm's please!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in a good location within a short walk from the city centre in Köln. The hotel itself looks average inside, but the rooms are good with some of the most comfertable beds I've slept in (I'm fussy), and a good bathroom with a nice shower. Top marks to the bar on the top floor for great views and a very good Pimm's that was just perfect after a long day of walking.
I also liked the nespresso machine for my morning coffee (no dry evil powdercoffe!).

The hotel is central but not really that convenient for public transport if you're unfamiliar with Köln and don't like walking. To get from the airport the easiest option is definately a taxi. (we normally try to go by public transport, but it was just too inconvenient here).

My main complaint is that they charge for wifi. I would expect it to be free in a hotel of this standard.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but instead we opted for Bastians around the corner (Auf dem Berlich 3-5) which had really great food with lots of diffrent nice german bread on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    697
    158
    44
    13
See reviews for
122
751
137
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
415 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a well located hotel that is busy with many business meetings it seems. Limited service - we arrived by car, no doorman to take our bags, no one to tell us where to park until desk clerk. Room 1028 is nice with view of the cathedral and cozy, oddly just Euro 70 cheaper than we paid at hte Ritz Carlton Berlin which is over the top luxury and this is just ordinary

Good breakfast buffet, decent internet you pay for either for 1 hour, 24 hours or 1 week, no other options., I bought a week for three days to avoid visiting the desk.

Front desk is a disappointment. Lines, slow, no interest. I asked about the river cruises and was told to buy tickets and get information at the tourism office, which was closed at 9 pm on May 29 when I went (no surprise) but happily did find the Dom open and visited. May 30 was a holiday and tourism office opened at 10 am and boats leave at 9:30 am. Bad luck for me as this was one reason i chose to stay in Cologne, but we drive to Koblenz and had fun there. I actually liked Koblenz more than Cologne - livelier, happier and prettier place.

I did overhear on May 29 that hotel restaurant was fully booked, not great for guests on a rainy night but it gave me more of a reason to go near the Dom and eat at the Fru Hofbrauhaus which was grand.

Room Tip: get a view of the Cathedral (Dom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very good hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Only bad point is that there is no free wifi (yes, in 2013) so I had to use my overseas 3G signal, and this is why I gave service a three out of five. Although all other elements of 'service' were very good (room service, cleaning, check in / out etc). The buffet breakfast was also very good.

Hotel is a short walk from the Dom / centre so great location. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds. Only thing I would note is that maybe the rooms look a bit old fashioned but this doesn't really bother us. Likewise there is an odd window (covered with an electronic blind) that looks into the bathroom from the main bit of the room. But again this didn't really bother us.

Overall we were very happy with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sighmohn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sighmohn47,

And you should stay again with us! Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay. At the moment we are offering free W-LAN for our Le Club member - also for members who join Le Club upon arrival or during their stay.

With kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When me and my partner go to Cologne, we choose this hotel without any hesitation.
There are some good and some bad about the place but all and all, quality of the service is absolutely pleasant. And what impressed me is that they actually take your voice and review all the feedback you give.
They may not to have newest facility. But I think they have a good sense of make you feel welcomed.
Oh by the way, yes, bed is a bit too soft. We would like you to remove the topper for our next stay. ;)
B.C

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothrajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear mothballjp,

Guest feedback is highly appreciated and vital for our constant development. The mattress topper will be removed for your next stay.
Thanks again for your kind review.
With kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Pullman is conveniently located on the fringes of the city center in Cologne - it's about a 10 minute walk from the cathedral and main train station, and just 5 minutes away from some of the busiest bar/restaurant areas in the city. For us this is the ideal location balance - close enough to comfortably walk to all the action, but away enough to not feel claustrophobic.

The rooms are comfortable enough - they are pretty much the standard take on a modern luxury hotel room, with the bathroom separated from the bedroom by a glass wall (with the obligatory modesty curtain, which in this case in an automatic blind built into the glass wall). The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows (I find this to always be the case in Germany, even in mid-range small city hotels), and the room was well insulated which made for a good night's sleep.

As previous reviewers have said, the hotel does have well-designed common areas, and a nice bar and restaurant with a view. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and is available until very late on weekends, which is great. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, so this brings up the service level a notch.

Overall, definitely a good choice for both business and leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors and on the right side of the corridors will give you a view of the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Cooki,

Thanks a lot for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you stated " a good choice for business and leisure" - we strive for being the best choice.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had a room in the 11th floor and the view over Cologne was fantastic. There's a bar/restaurant on 12th floor with splendid views towards the cathedral, which is very nice as well. Unfortunately they tend to close early and do not seem to be very much frequented.

Location of the hotel is very central, not a too far to walk to the cathedral and close to many places for dining and shopping. Connection by public transport (having baggage to carry behind) could be better but is still acceptable.

The room was very well appointed and perfectly clean. Considering the price and compared to similar hotels, the room size could be somewhat bigger. Bed was very, very comfortable and I had a sound night of sleep.

Check-in and check-out was friendly, quick and efficient. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would return here when staying in Cologne

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocos_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babylon ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Pullman may not be right on top of the Dom, but it's close enough. It's within walking distance of everything. Everything is new, updated, beds are incredibly comfortable. it's exactly what you'd expect from a business hotel with the exception of the following:

-the breakfast buffet and staff are beyond exceptional
-The 12th floor bar has an amazing view of the city- the best way to end the day with a drink and a view
-there's no concierge so the front desk staff is sometimes not as patient as what you'd expect. I don't know, is this a european thing? A german thing? who knows. Didn't stop us from anything, just curious.

Unless there's some sort of status-seeking reason to stay at a hotel right on top of the Dom, this is a fabulous place to stay in Cologne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko R, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear smjbab,

Great that you enjoyed your stay! And rest assured that also in Europe patience is considered as a virtue - I will discuss your comment with our Front Office team.
By the way, we are the only hotel in Cologne with rooms facing the front side of the Dom. In all other places you see the Dom, if at all, only from the side or from behind.
It makes us very proud to read your comments about our breakfast. Thank you very much.

We will see you on your next trip to Cologne!

Kind regards,
Esko rebstock
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,313 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 260 in Cologne
426 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Property: Pullman Cologne
Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#5 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing