We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-polished hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ranked #7 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My stay at the Premier Regent Hotel was due to attending a tradeshow in Cologne, and so I chose this after reading good reviews on trip advisor.

The hotel is some distance from the city centre and famous Cathedral, however there is an excellent tram system nearby which is reasonably priced and fairly frequent.

The rooms are very well appointed and spacious, with modern fittings and tasteful decor.

Downstairs, the bar and reception area are fairly small but well appointed.

My only critisms would be that the hotel is quite expensive, presumably more so when trade fairs are on, and that the hotel is too far from the centre to be within walking distance.

Overall though I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonianBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Ameron Hotel Regent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 536 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very well equipped hotel outside the city centre but with excellent public transport links. Underground garage is expensive at 15 euros/day but is easily accessible and not cramped. I would not recommend driving in Cologne centre.
Unless you think you will eat 17 Euros worth of the buffet breakfast I suggest walking 50 metres to Cafe Bonnen on the corner of Aachener Strasse. They will sell you as much or as little as you like and it is linked to a baker's shop.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

A fantastic hotel - we stayed here during a visit to the Christmas Markets. We were looking for a hotel with breakfast included (not many in Cologne seemed to offer it and you can easily pay Euro 20 per person per day to buy it separately), and booked this for less than £80 a night through Octopus.

The rooms had parquet flooring and were spotless, the hotel having only been built last year. I needed to get a razor as I'd forgotten mine and the hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating when I asked if one could be obtained, which it was - free of charge.

The hotel's a few stops out on the tram from the city centre, but don't let this put you off. None of the hotels I looked at near the centre were of the same high standard as this. The breakfast was fantastic - a superb range of hot and cold food, including smoked salmon, and the freshest warm pastries you've ever tasted.

A final recommendation is the Cafe Bonner (?) on the corner of Melatenstrasse/Guertel, a few yards from the hotel. It's been there for 70 years, and no wonder - great, friendly service and well-priced food at lunchtime/in the afternoon. Well worth a visit.

To sum up, book this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tagr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Where there for a business Trip. Very good breakfast and sauna included. The rooms are very nice with flattv and free internet (lan, but not that fast) I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApALex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The hotel is conveniently located near the rail line 1 and 7. We just hop on the train to go to Koelnmesse Convention Center. On the way we will pass lot of cafes, restaurants, and shopping area. Our room has a great view of the skyline of Cologne. It looks like a view from a hotel next to Central Park in NYC. Though the Melaten is not exactly that lively. The hotel is new and the staff is super nice. The breakfast is too expensive, 16 euro. We just stop by the cafe around the corner for light breakfast. Rewe supermarket is a rail stop away.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedoka411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed overnight on our way to Amsterdam. Had two connecting rooms for ourselves and two young children. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard, and we had great views of Cologne. The staff were very efficient and the children had free ice-cream. The Hotel was not in the centre of the city but the tram stop was just outside. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed at the Premier Regent for one night in July using Best Western gift cards we redeemed from our Frequent Flyer programme.

I booked the hotel online and when, closer to the date of travel, I went on to the hotel website to print maps etc, I noticed the rate had gone down by 20 Euros. I rang the helpdesk and asked to change to the new rate which was not possible, however I cancelled the booking by phone and rebooked straight away online. Just be aware of price changes when you book. The final room rate (I think around 90 Euros) was excellent value for the quality of room received. Check out was handled well and there were no problems with using our gift cards.

The hotel was excellent with a lovely, modern room. The location was good, probably a half hour walk to the Dom for a fit person, but right on a crossing serviced by trams direct to the city. Breakfast was pricey at around 15 Euros, but this is a standard price for hotels in this class. We got a good, cheap breakfast at a cafe in the city instead.

The hotel offers parking at 16 Euros for 24 hours but we got a parking easily on the other side of the road. It's in a fairly quiet area so parking didn't appear to be a problem. Free parking was the reason we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed.

Overall, heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaciousNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,783 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,424 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,676 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#10 of 261 in Cologne
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#6 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $94 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Best Western
Cologne Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing