We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Ranked #55 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on route to Munich from the UK and found it to be a suitable hotel for our family. The room is very typical of a budget stop over hotel. It was clean and comfortable for our needs. The bar/restaurant were closed for refurbishment and we had to take breakfast in the conference room which was no inconvenience at all. The hotel has several fast food and family restaurants in walking distance and the train station is a pleasant 10 minute walk away. We went into Cologne by train for the afternoon and found this to be a pleasant break from the motorway. Overall a good stay...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was clean and good for one night. The rate was good and included breakfast. Location was not far from city center. The rooms are on the small side but were nice to have baby beds and pull out extra bed available. I have never been to a hotel where the staff hide in the office and you have to stand at the desk to wait for them. This was a little bothersome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Joanna O,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and location.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the poor customer service provided by our front desk. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a comfortable stopping off hotel close to Cologne - good train service from Spich station (within walking distance). Comfortable and clean rooms, friendly efficient staff and a good breakfast to see you on your way. What more could you want!

Room Tip: Request a room on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a good hotel as a base for exploring Cologne and Bonn and further afield. It has good transport links (right by main road - but quite quiet inside) and on a main train line. There is not much in Spich (the village, near to Troisdorf) but we did eat well at the Italian restuarants in the village. One criticism of the hotel is that there was no Tourist Information, no brochures, no maps in the Hotel.
Also, we had a 'family' room, with one dbl bed and a sofa-bed. The sofa-bed was incredibly uncomfortable, so much so that we ended up putting it away and asking for extra duvets and blankets so we could put them on the floor and sleep there!

The staff were on the whole very helpful and friendly, and breakfasts were good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many trips to Bonn. The hotel has a very helpful staff and provides a good breakfast. The rooms are functional and clean. I recommend this hotel to people traveling to and through the Bonn/Koln region, particularly by car. I would prefer free internet in the rooms and more TV channels.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good value for families. Does the job adequately for a night stopover. Several restaurants close by. We tried the Mexican across the road. Don't bother food was crappy.
Good parking, room has everything you need with the exception of a bar fridge which can be a real pain if you want to keep items cool. Beer :)
Has free brekky but don't get your hope up as lots of tour groups stay here and they decimate the breakfast area one after the other! We ended up at mc Donald's for brekky which is 100metres across the car park.
An adequate cheap place for a night stopover.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Scullytraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Traveling to the center of the machine building industry in Germany you look for a hotel which gives you no (bad) surprises and is convenient by all means.
This HI Express is what you/I are looking for:
- Standard rooms with the service level and space you exspect from a *** hotel.
- Close to the motorway, but quiet.
- Free parking.
- Convinient restaurant near by/in the hotel (this is a rather good Chinese one).
- Fast, efficient and friendly check in/out.
- Good breakfast.

Is there anything negative? At least I found nothing.

Room Tip: There is no big difference....as for all HI Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Bellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#39 of 263 in Cologne
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Koeln City
#35 of 263 in Cologne
1,357 reviews
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf

Address: Echternacher Str. 4, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $64 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne-Troisdorf is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition centre KÖLN MESSE, the Cologne/Bonn Airport (CGN), the main railway station and the business areas of Cologne and Bonn and the sports centre Köln ARENA. Both by car via the A 59 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Cologne and Bonn. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like GamesCom, Anuga & Medica as well as shoppers headed for the old town, art and historical lovers enjoying the DOM, the shopping area of Cologne and Bonn and musical fans cheering at the Musical DOME. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 110 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. The hotel features both non-smoking and smoking floors as well as easy wheelchair access, a room with roll-in shower and special alarm systems. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Troisdorf
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing