We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centro Hotel Central am Dom
Ranked #219 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Initially we were given a smoking room despite our booking a non smoking room, we asked to switch rooms, at first the receptionist said the hotel was full, but when pressed "found one".

Note, If you use this hotel and need to park your car, do not leave overnight Saturday it in the Car Park at Enggasse / Tunisstraße, Cologne. This is closed on a Sunday, the only way to get car out is to pay a Euro 50 call out fee!!!!

We asked the hotel to help us call the owner but they said it was not possible, they already had another couple in same position and could not help. So we went to the police station (very helpful) which is near the car park, they called the owner who came in 1 hour to unlock the car park.

Park instead in the Dom Cathedral underground car park - Dom-ph, Kurt Hackenberg Platz 2, 50667 Cologne.

Despite this, the Hotel is a perfect position for the Cathedral and Christmas markets, which means it is always full, they could be more helpful. However we would not stay again due to the staff attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet, however some are smoking rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_59_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 354 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Small and outdated hotel, small rooms but the bed is comfortable. The hotel location is excellent, breakfast is definitely reasonable. Hotel charges too high for Wi-Fi and is not suitable for a business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good breakfast. Clean room, shower floods, unfriendly staff, sml room, basic amenities, only 30 consecutive mins of free wifi per day or you pay heavily, cleaning staff trying to enter our locked room early in the morning. Great location

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 721daryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Cologne by train. When you walk out of the train station the cathedral is looming in front of you and this hotel is a short block away. What a great location. It's not fancy but the rooms are clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was very good and they had free wifi. We were mainly in Cologne to see the cathedral so this was a perfect place for us to stay. Be sure to walk across the pedestrian bridge to the other side of the Rhine river for great views of the cathedral.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandBforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were in town for Photokina and since we booked late were lucky to find a room somewhere. All the hotel prices in Cologne are significantly higher when there is a convention in town. I may have given the hotel a better review if we stayed at the normal price. The hotel was completely booked during our stay.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main train station and the Dom. We were in room 252 which is on the fifth floor but the elevator only goes to the fourth floor. I didn't mind walking the up though. The elevator was old and barely worked. One morning it was making a horrible noise and was stuck but it was fixed not that long after. One policy I was not used to was that you are supposed to return your key to the front desk when you go out. We were never told this and the person at the front desk seemed offended that we tried to enter without going to the front desk to get our key when we returned the first night. The front desk staff weren't friendly or helpful but that doesn't bother me.

My wife and I stayed in a double room. The room is small and the slanting ceiling makes the it appear even smaller. There was a desk and two chairs in the room and some space to hang clothing. The bed was fairly comfortable. The bathroom was large compared to the room. The lights in the bathroom all came on when flipping the switch which could make it fairly bright in the bedroom if the lights were off. Also the door to the bathroom would bang against the slopping ceiling when opened. Not the best if someone gets up in the night and doesn't want to disturb the other person in the room. The room and the hotel overall were clean. There was a large stain on the wall beside the door though. I uploaded a couple of pictures of the stain.

One night the person across the hall was briefly noisy when returning to their room with a friend but besides that I didn't hear any hotel guests while in the room. On Friday there was some street noise but not all that bad considering where the hotel is in the city.

Breakfast was included in the price of our stay. The buffet was good but the room was busy with the hotel being completely full. There were scrambled and hard boiled eggs, lots of cold cuts, lachs, cheese, cereal, fruit, and a large basket of various kinds of bread and rolls. Definitely classic German breakfast fare.

The stay was alright and if the price was cheaper I would have been impressed. I will stay somewhere else the next time I'm in town though. If you want to buy some food or beer there is a small city grocery store down the alley behind the hotel. Not as cheap as a regular grocery store but it seemed cheaper and had a decent selection compared to most of the shops right around the Dom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank songoftheeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pleasantly surprise by this hotel. Only stayed one night but staff was very nice and answered all our touring questions. Nice breakfast for only 6 euro and some snacks are in the lobby all day. After spending 3 nights in Munich at a Motel One (which was a bit disappointing) we were surprised at the accommodations here. Great location around the corner from the main train station and the Dom.

Room Tip: I was traveling with my father. We need a room with 2 beds so they gave us adjoining rooms with a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieNYC1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Cologne
1
Reviewed September 5, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Centro Hotel Kommerz
#82 of 263 in Cologne
224 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Domspatz Hotel
Domspatz Hotel
#204 of 263 in Cologne
87 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#26 of 263 in Cologne
918 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Central am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Central am Dom

Address: An den Dominikanern 3 | corner of Marzellenstrasse, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $68 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Hotel Central am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centro Hotel Central am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing