We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Hotel am Dom
Ranked #209 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good breakfast. Clean room, shower floods, unfriendly staff, sml room, basic amenities, only 30 consecutive mins of free wifi per day or you pay heavily, cleaning staff trying to enter our locked room early in the morning. Great location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 721daryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    63
    102
    52
    46
See reviews for
31
75
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Cologne by train. When you walk out of the train station the cathedral is looming in front of you and this hotel is a short block away. What a great location. It's not fancy but the rooms are clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was very good and they had free wifi. We were mainly in Cologne to see the cathedral so this was a perfect place for us to stay. Be sure to walk across the pedestrian bridge to the other side of the Rhine river for great views of the cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Cave, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were in town for Photokina and since we booked late were lucky to find a room somewhere. All the hotel prices in Cologne are significantly higher when there is a convention in town. I may have given the hotel a better review if we stayed at the normal price. The hotel was completely booked during our stay.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main train station and the Dom. We were in room 252 which is on the fifth floor but the elevator only goes to the fourth floor. I didn't mind walking the up though. The elevator was old and barely worked. One morning it was making a horrible noise and was stuck but it was fixed not that long after. One policy I was not used to was that you are supposed to return your key to the front desk when you go out. We were never told this and the person at the front desk seemed offended that we tried to enter without going to the front desk to get our key when we returned the first night. The front desk staff weren't friendly or helpful but that doesn't bother me.

My wife and I stayed in a double room. The room is small and the slanting ceiling makes the it appear even smaller. There was a desk and two chairs in the room and some space to hang clothing. The bed was fairly comfortable. The bathroom was large compared to the room. The lights in the bathroom all came on when flipping the switch which could make it fairly bright in the bedroom if the lights were off. Also the door to the bathroom would bang against the slopping ceiling when opened. Not the best if someone gets up in the night and doesn't want to disturb the other person in the room. The room and the hotel overall were clean. There was a large stain on the wall beside the door though. I uploaded a couple of pictures of the stain.

One night the person across the hall was briefly noisy when returning to their room with a friend but besides that I didn't hear any hotel guests while in the room. On Friday there was some street noise but not all that bad considering where the hotel is in the city.

Breakfast was included in the price of our stay. The buffet was good but the room was busy with the hotel being completely full. There were scrambled and hard boiled eggs, lots of cold cuts, lachs, cheese, cereal, fruit, and a large basket of various kinds of bread and rolls. Definitely classic German breakfast fare.

The stay was alright and if the price was cheaper I would have been impressed. I will stay somewhere else the next time I'm in town though. If you want to buy some food or beer there is a small city grocery store down the alley behind the hotel. Not as cheap as a regular grocery store but it seemed cheaper and had a decent selection compared to most of the shops right around the Dom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songoftheeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pleasantly surprise by this hotel. Only stayed one night but staff was very nice and answered all our touring questions. Nice breakfast for only 6 euro and some snacks are in the lobby all day. After spending 3 nights in Munich at a Motel One (which was a bit disappointing) we were surprised at the accommodations here. Great location around the corner from the main train station and the Dom.

Room Tip: I was traveling with my father. We need a room with 2 beds so they gave us adjoining rooms with a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieNYC1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel because of its central location and reasonable price and I must say it did not disappoint on either of those counts. The property and rooms though are fairly dated and in need of renovation. Adequate for purpose though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RonSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Central Hotel am Dom is generally considered a European boutique hotel.

The positive side first. Price, this hotel is considerably cheaper than hotel in the immediate surrounding areas, Hilton etc. The location is really good, you're only a block or so from the train station, quite easy to get too. The ability to visit tourist attractions is well served. There are hotels in the area that have a better location but they also have a much higher price, Cologne at the time we went was very expensive compared to Amsterdam and Prague. Fairly quiet considering we had the windows open, the hotel itself was good, no noise from there, just outside. So, the positives in summary are location and price.

Now for the negatives. The rooms are very small. This is a European hotel so I wouldn't ding them too much for that, fairly common in this type of establishment. The furniture however was very dated, the bathroom was tiny, the shower in my RV is bigger than the shower in this bath. No air conditioning, read that again, no air conditioning. It wasn't terribly bad for August, the room does have high ceilings and the window does open. Unfortunately, I had got sick and had a fever so temperature control would be nice. If you're wondering, not many establishments in Cologne do have AC, restaurants etc, some do but most do not. During the summer you'll be better served sitting outside to eat. The front desk were surly, it may have been they were just German, hard to tell to be honest.

If I had to go back to Cologne, I'd probably pony up the extra euro and stay elsewhere but it wasn't a terrible experience, we had much better hotels for the price in Amsterdam and Prague.

If you get bored doing the tourist thing, take a cab to the Claudies Therme, very cool european spa with several pools outside of the city. It was the best part of our trip to Koln.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the back side on a lower room, you're facing several shops and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTravlr_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#148 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#59 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
A&O Koeln Dom
A&O Koeln Dom
#199 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#151 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel am Dom

Property: Central Hotel am Dom
Address: An den Dominikanern 3 | corner of Marzellenstrasse, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Central Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing