We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
Ranked #50 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Was on Park in for two Nights, Nice hotel and friendly staff.
I little to long waiting for check inn/out
The service in the bar was realy good.
But to pay for internett in 2014......For the price of the rooms internett have to be free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Junior Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your time to evaluate your stay.

Kind regards from cologne
Your team from Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was surely my worst hotel stay in a very long time.... Hotel location is in a desolate bi-lane surrounded with dark alleys. Check-In took more than 20 minutes, although I had a prior confirmation. I was told that I have been upgraded to a superior room..yet I bumped into a wall or furniture every time I tried to move within the room. I had to pay for every minute of internet usage....Yes, surprisingly there was no free Wi-Fi. The restaurant was closed on the evening of 3rd April--and I had to eat dinner at the hotel bar. My club Carlson points have not yet been credited to my account after 2 weeks of my check-out...........

Maybe, the only positive thing about the place is the breakfast was reasonably good.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you are getting a really cheap rate..............
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Junior Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your evaluation.
We will talk about your comment in our team to optimize our service.
We will also check if your Club Carlson Points are credited now.

Kind regards
Your team from Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staid at the ParkInn for 3 nights and had a very good experience. The service was great in the reception, the bar and the restaurant. Great breakfast!!

We had to pay for internet and it was just for 1 device.

The room was clean and nice. Nothing to complain about there.

This hotel is not in the center of Cologne, but it is just a 5min. walk from an "t-bahn" /subway station. It has a training facility and a sauna.

We will stay there again the next time we need a Hotel in Cologne

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Junior Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed evalutation.
We are happy to read that you enjonyed your stay.

Please let us know when we can assist you with your next booking in our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Your Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstraße

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

An odd set-up, after checking in, had to walk across the street to a different building. As others have mentioned, lack of free wifi is disappointing. Clean, comfortable, staff friendly but not exceptional, location fine. Used CC points, breakfast not included.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GF158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Junior Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to review your stay at our hotel.
For staying in our main building you can reserve a superior room.
Please let me know if I may assist you at your next booking.

Kind regards
Your Team from Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Terrible hole built sometime in the 60's and never touched again.

This place ranks around 90 in tripadvisor. Ask yourself why. Or ask me.

A few assumptions:
- you are sent to koln (on business, why else?), maybe even on a low cost carrier. Bad luck
- they book you at the park inn. They really do. Yes, very bad luck.
- you do not find anyone to replace you (they all know...) or a last minute funeral to flee it. Toughest luck. You hug your family, hoping this will soon be over. You go to park inn by radisson (it should more correctly be spelled park-ing)

The Ugly:
- double bed is two separate mattress.
- said mattress is 2 inches thick. Supermarket carts are more comfortable to sleep in.
- they give you a voucher to have breakfast. Yes a voucher.
- Internet is extra 17 eur / day by a dodgy third party provider.
- in the 60's they did not know about sound proofing. At park inn they still haven't a clue.
- bathroom is tiny, fixtures are cheap-o. Everything is thin plastic.
- 157 eur / night. Yes 157. In koln. Yes, it s not a nightmare, you are in koln. But you get haribo sweets for free.
- at reception they advertise you can see a champions league match on TV. Wow.

The Bad:
- Furniture was stolen from ikea. 20 years ago. They never caught them.
- the striped
- reception is a little desk in an atrium of a poor looking condominium.
- everything around you looks like a lousy pub. Must be the architect's signature.
- wish yourself you'll always be the first at check in/out or it ll take ages.

The Good
- the Good? Come on, let's be serious.
- ok. The room is clean. And you have a flat 32" TV (I did not turn it on)

The only real good is that at some point you go back home.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank duke_clar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed evaluation.
We regret that your stay was not that what you expected.
You can read in the previous evaluations that we have no claims about our mattresses and we can guarantee, that they have a thickness of about 8 inches (20cm) in each room of our hotel.
A lot of guests wrote, how comfortable the accommodation was on these ones.
We know that everyone has its own amenity and we tried our best to cover it for most of our guest.

We would like to refer on your comment of the breakfast voucher, too.
In our hotel the guests have the choice to reserve the rooms including or excluding breakfast.
All guest who already reserved the breakfast within the booking get a voucher at check in.
This should prevent that guests will pay double for their breakfast. A lot of hotels are using them.

We purchased our individual selected furniture from a well-known furnishing house.
But we can tell you that we are already ongoing to plan modifications soon.
Thanks a lot as well for the good points e.g. cleanliness or further amenities.

With kind regards
Your Team from Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location for the exhibitions at the messe. Well priced with free parking. Reasonable bar, restaurant and rooms. We had to live in a building away from the main hotel but didn't mind as they where hotel standard. Wifi is not free and very expensive a big let down. Breakfast was also basic but did the job. If I had a room in the main hotel building and free wifi I would have been much happier. Staff is great and very cooperative. You won't be disappointed but there is room for slight improvements to facilities and services.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to review your stay.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed it.
Your notes concerning Wi fi and breakfast I will share with my colleagues.

We hope to see you again soon.
Please let me know if I can assist you with your booking for a superior room in our main building.

Kind regards
Your team from Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for a three days for a cheap half term break. The hotel is clean and simple,similar to a trvel lodge in the uk. There is no tea and coffee facility in the room though which is a drag, but it does have good standard HD tv channels including english language news channels. WI FI is in the room but its expensive for what you get. The hotel is on two sites, one is offset over the road and is two minutes from the main building.the pool, small gym and sauna are in the main building, they are of a very high standard and cleanliness. Since most of the guests seemed business orientated the pool was empty at 9am, great if your kids just want to have fun. The bar is fine for drinks and is smart and had a good atmosphere, the food is pricey for what you get though. The main draw back was the distance from anything tourist related. It is a 5 minute walk to the Metro and Ten minutes into the city centre, not a problem for us but if you like a hotel in the heart of things, this isn't the place. Most of the staff speak English as well but will indulge in dodgy German as well:) overall its ok but not walkable to tourist places, if they hired bikes out that would be an inspiration!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jan,

thank you very much for taking time to evaluate your stay at our hotel.
Your reviwe ist very detailed. We will discuss your notes in our team.

We wish you a great time and hope to see you soon again at Park Inn by Radisson Cologne Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Neustadt-Nord
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#113 of 261 in Cologne
84 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Cologne
#53 of 261 in Cologne
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 261 in Cologne
575 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse

Address: Belfortstr. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $78 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a quiet location, a 15-minute walk north of Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral. Guests enjoy free use of the gym and 17-meter indoor pool. All rooms at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse include a flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse features the elegant Quirinal restaurant and the Consulchen pub. Ebertplatz Underground Station is just 320 yards from the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. Cologne Main Station is 2 direct stops from here. The Kolnmesse Exhibition Centre and Kolnarena stadium are a few minutes away by train. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse is a 5-minute walk from the Rhine River, right across from the Rheinpark. The Rhine bridge and cable car are near the hotel. Private parking with video surveillance is available at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. The A1, A3, A4 and A57 highways can be reached within a few minutes. Neustadt Nord is a great choice for travelers interested in Carnival, Nightlife and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Koln Belfortstrasse Hotel Cologne
Park Inn Cologne
Koln Belfortstrasse Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing