We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, nice modern hotel five minutes underground ride from city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
Ranked #51 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, nice modern hotel five minutes underground ride from city centre”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were apprehensive on reading some of the previous reviews - especially regarding the annex. But we had a very pleasant three night stay and the staff were extremely helpful. We were in the main hotel, in two standard rooms, which were of a very good standard compared with the many business hotels I have stayed in in UK. So I can't comment on the annex business.
The staff were universally polite and helpful, printing out our flight tickets for us and even supplying some German phrases for one of our son's postcards! We liked the massimo coffee machine and the good size of the rooms, with plenty of storage space, and a good hot shower. There is a mini-bar, and a large TV, lots of ambient lighting. The TV had fewer channels than usual - not a big deal at all, just thought I'd mention it.
We ate one night in the restaurant which was busy - a tip would be to reserve a table rather than just turn up, which is what we did, but we had a drink at the bar while the very efficient head waitress sorted us out a table, and we had a very decent meal, though not cheap. There was a good mix of couples, families and business people staying while we were there. We used the pool and the fitness room, though the pool closed on the second day. The pool was better than most hotel pools, being long enough to actually do some serious swimming.
The hotel is a five minutes stroll from the Reichensbergerplatz underground station - there is a 7-11 type store nearby but it doesnt sell much - and the underground journey is five minutes down to the Haubahnhof central station, where we had coffee and croissants in one of the cafes each morning - at 18 euros a head we decided not to bother with the hotel breakfast. There is also a well-stocked supermarket and numerous shops at the main station, and the Dom cathedral is pretty much straight outside the train station.

Room Tip: Well, the main hotel is clearly the one to pitch for. The end of corridor rooms are slightly bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacleonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comment. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    173
    109
    36
    13
See reviews for
41
156
24
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

we recently stayed here on a tour of German Christmas Markets, and on arrival found we were in the annexe block, not much fun when it had snowed overnight and you had to go to main block for breakfast, we were also told resturants were fully booked for the night time. and because we were in annexe we couldnt have room service,(unless we fetched it ourselves\) where is the logic in that.Not the best treatment by the very young staff and there definatly was one rule for them and one rule for us..regarding the 2 buildings.Also our coach was vandalised overnight so this also spoiled our trip.
BUYER BEWARE !!!!!!!Very dissapointing.

Room Tip: make sure its in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbryn06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to take position to some of your points. We cannot do Room Service in the annexe block due to hygienic regulations which do not allow to take food over the street. According to the restaurant capacity we always offer the possibility of reserving a table. As you can see in many of our comments we mainly have positive comments about our staff. We are a formation hotel where young people start their working life. We train our staff at our best and feel sorry that you haven’t experienced that. Of course we will inform our colleagues about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackwood
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Firstly we stayed in the annex to this hotel as we were told we may be in there when we booked. It was not cheap over £110 a night including breakfast which is very expensive and there is no option near you can use.
Very dissapointing. The Premier inn we used at heathrow the night previous to the trip for £44 was twice the hotel.

Firstly, checkin was ok we were early so cases were stowed for us in a room. Staff we all very good realy made an effort to speak english and help us.
It had snowed the previous night and a good layer of snow was down, If you book with Expedia then they say, "the annex is next door with a covered walkway" This is writen on my invoice and total fabrication i will be contacting them it is not the truth.
We struggled the actual 180 yards down the drive accross the road in the snow to this annex, there was no staff available to help with this. Actually i did it twice as another lady couldn`t make the trip in the snow so i went back to help her. Not what i`d call good service.

The room in the Annex was only ok at best, no Tea, coffee making facility annoying as you are so far away from the hotel, no "do not disturb " signs to put outside on door handle. Again annoying as room cleaners knocked and entered our room on two occasions at 9am when we were still in bed. Again our invoice stated we would have a double- bed they were actually single beds pushed together. These annex rooms are not what i would expect from a Radisson hotel charging over £100 a night.
Meals at main hotel were ok nice decor and good staff. If you are a family of four then breakfast is much too expensive will put over £50 a day on your bill.
Still these problems did not spoil a very good weekend not sure if i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle with you just in case you are in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerwynBlackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We have checked the description on the Expedia page. It seems that they have changed it. We will communicate your comments to our staff and sensitize them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have stayed at Park inn, Belfortstr. in Cologne several times. Its location is a 15 minute walk from the central railway station and the Dom, towards the North of Cologne or 3 stops on the underground. It is also a short walk to the botanical Garden and the zoo. The Rhine is quite close too. The standard rooms are of a reasonable size, there is a mini bar and large TV. The beds are very comfortable . The bathroom size is sufficient, incl. the usual toiletries. Superior rooms and the bathrooms are more luxurious, of course, but is it worth the extra money? soBest of all is the large swimming pool in the basement and a sauna and small gym, all free of charge. The staff are friendly . There is a small pub in the hotel. I cannot comment on the breakfast or restaurant as I eat out locally. I prefer to stay in the main hotel, but with a low-ish early booking price tend to be put in the house across the road.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the main hotel. The rooms are all quiet as the hotel is in a residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for an extended Weekend in the main building in a standard room. Contrary to some reviews here the staff although, very young, they were very friendly, accommodating and helpful, throughout our stay. Coffee maker was also available and refilled every day, even just hours before we left. Room was as expected, bathroom also nice and clean. Swimming pool/fitness and sauna made a very clean impression and I did enjoy it. Generally, the typical business hotel I would say.

On the downside for us: the location was off the city centre (around 20min. walking to the city centre - but metro not far if you need it), the room location on the second floor was far from optimal (awful view to the inside, and you would not be able to keep the windows open during summer, as this would be a security problem). And then next to the stair case (but was not noisy). The cleaning lady also walked into the room a bit too fast for my understanding. like "knock, knock, here I am". Well, and the usual: Where is the free internet? and a Double bed for me is not one, which is pieced together from two beds. All in all the typical business hotel with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best there is the breakfast, which is really good. But the service - last time there was to many trainees - is not very good, the rooms are very small and the hotel has had his best times years before. I can not recommend it, only if you get it to a good price. Book Superior Rooms, because the Standard Rooms are outside the main building.

Room Tip: Book Superior Rooms, because the Standard Rooms are outside the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiseprofi_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. Since many years we are a training hotel and we are very successful with this strategy, so thank you for your appreciation at this point. Nevertheless we will definitively inform the involved departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Killingholme
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with an elderly friend. On arrival at the reception with a voucher clearly stating we were booked in for bed and breakfast was told the price we had paid was for room only. I pointed out that it was bed and breakfast but the receptionist was extremely rude and said if we wanted breakfast we had to pay an extra 18 euros each.

Room although in the annex was nice and spacious but that was the only plus point. We were only given one room key and when I asked for another at the reception it only allowed access into the annex. Walked back to reception but again unhelpful and not interested and said we had two keys,

There were no tea and coffee making faciltiies in the room so I asked for a kettle and cups but was told we had to purchase coffee from the main hotel at 2.50 euros a cup and then carry across the road and up two flights of stairs to room. The coffee was served in cardboard cups so dangerous to carry this distance with the risk of scalding.

Would defintely not stay at the Park Inn again until they had sent reception staff on a customer relations training course.

Room Tip: Stay at the other Radisson down the road in Cologne
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldberg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. You can have a look at the rest of our comments and you will see that we mainly have positive comments about service. We regret that we couldn´t convince you during your stay at our hotel. But for sure we will pick up your opinion and forward it to the mentioned department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Nord
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#115 of 260 in Cologne
83 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Leonardo Hotel Cologne
#52 of 260 in Cologne
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 260 in Cologne
567 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#29 of 260 in Cologne
692 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse

Property: Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
Address: Belfortstr. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a quiet location, a 15-minute walk north of Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral. Guests enjoy free use of the gym and 17-meter indoor pool. All rooms at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse include a flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse features the elegant Quirinal restaurant and the Consulchen pub. Ebertplatz Underground Station is just 320 yards from the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. Cologne Main Station is 2 direct stops from here. The Kolnmesse Exhibition Centre and Kolnarena stadium are a few minutes away by train. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse is a 5-minute walk from the Rhine River, right across from the Rheinpark. The Rhine bridge and cable car are near the hotel. Private parking with video surveillance is available at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. The A1, A3, A4 and A57 highways can be reached within a few minutes. Neustadt Nord is a great choice for travelers interested in Carnival, Nightlife and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Koln Belfortstrasse Hotel Cologne
Park Inn Cologne
Koln Belfortstrasse Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing