We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people looking to party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse
Ranked #214 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited Koln with a group of 10 guys last weekend. It was exactly what we needed: cheap clean rooms, 24h service/bar, friendly personel and a short walk to the party areas. Don't go here if you need your sleep as it can be noisy. If you need a place to crash after partying this is it, don't look further.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Good hostel, cheap, ensuite in every dorm, kitchen, clean etc. Only problem was that it was 25 minutes walk from the Cathedral around where most of the sights are. There is a tram though I suppose. Would still recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is for those who are low budget travelers. The room was clean when we arrived but one day no one came to clean up. Another thing was that the electronic keys sometimes didn't work and we had to go down to the reception down and reprogram them. Breakfast was very very basic. On the whole I had a feeling that this place was not clean enough everywhere. One thing I liked was that they have a guest kitchen where you can cook and eat your food and wash your clothes (you have to buy a token at the reception). On the whole, I think this hotel is a good choice for students.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Like a lot of the Meininger Hotel chain, this budget hotel makes for a perfect travel companion. It provides a good, basic, solid place to sleep and get a good breakfast before going out and touring the city. I quite enjoyed my all too brief stay in Cologne, and the same can be said of the Meininger hotel there. As well, the young lady at the front desk was absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was the best hostel i stayed in Germany, great service and workers, very good rooms with very reasonable rates, for me i would say if there is a meininger hostel in the city your are visiting just book your bed and be 100% sure that you will get a great deal :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great rates, perfect localization and confortable bedroom, also very small. In our bedroom, the window, when open, was dangerous, because it's just over the bed. The wifi conexion is perfect and free. Very near to the heart of Colony. They have a very interesting and cheap telephone service to call around the word. We called Brasil a lot of times, paying almost nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ContatoVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We've been there for 2 nights during end of April. We spent hours searching for the hotel as the map is not detailed enough. We've got some help from Cologners but none of them could understand the map. Fortunately, we decided to ask the staff in Esplanade hotel where it supposed to be the Meininger hotel in the map. She gave us another map and show us the way which we needed to cross the road and walk a bit more. Anyway, when we knew the way, it's not so far from public transport but you need to know which direction go where because the platforms are in different road (junction). We booked the twin rooms but have got the 4-bed room instead and the floor was not very clean at all. No cleaning service during the stay as well and the phone was there but there was no slot for the phone cable so it didn't work. At least we can use the internet but it was quite slow. The staff there was not very friendly but helpful enough.
I would say we've met a lot of kind people around. That makes the journey great!

Room Tip: If you get the twin room, it might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
#195 of 261 in Cologne
271 reviews
Hotel Weber
#87 of 261 in Cologne
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#127 of 261 in Cologne
130 reviews
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
#149 of 261 in Cologne
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse

Address: Engelbertstr. 33-35, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Meininger Hotel Köln City Center)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $55 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Koln City Center is located on the left bank of the river Rhine in the student district. It is the ideal starting point for shopping trips at Schildergasse and a stroll through the Old Town to Cologne Cathedral. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi in the lobby, a hotel bar, a guest kitchen and a games room are all great places to get to know our international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Cologne
Meininger City Hostel Hotel
Meininger City Hostel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing