We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
634
557
163
41
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
557
163
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel public parking walking distance clean rooms coffee machine restaurants and shops recommend this hotel great shower central location pleasant stay city break would stay again business trip old town per day excellent breakfast stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We enjoyed our rooms, bar/bistro, and location. What would stop me visiting again was the breakfast. We attended breakfast at 09.10 knowing that the restaurant would close at 10.00, and we do know how to keep time. From 09.40 on, the staff started clearing-up noisily, preparing tables for lunch, even removing the coffee flask at our table, generally creating an unpleasant restless atmosphere. In a lesser extablishment, the chairs would have been turned upside down on the tables to start cleaning the floor. Even so, that is what it began to feel like with the impatient looks. At 09.50 a waitress came to tell us politely that it would close in ten minutes. I have taught at a Higher Hotel Management School for 12 years, and do recognise when I see poor hospitality. On leaving, the person who seemed to be in charge told us that the warning it was closing in ten minutes was given only to avoid complaints. This summed up the attitude. It was not just the ten minute warning, it was the rest of the spectacle that undermined any sincerity of this concern. This I am afraid will stick in my mind for this place. Wanting to manage some guests who complain unreasonably that breakfast closes at closing time, is not a good enough reason for spoiling the peace of the rest of us who simply wanted to enjoy the time we had together until it was in fact 10.00.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Narvik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteigenbergerHotel, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
First, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Steigenberger Hotel Cologne and for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Primarily please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.
We will hold internal training so that such mistakes can no longer happen to us.
Because it is very important for us to say goodbye to our guests with a good feeling.,
I would be honored if you gave us an opportunity to be of service to you once again.
Kind regards,
Peter B. Mikkelsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

It was my first time in Cologne and I have to say that hotel selection was very good. Room was very nice and spacious, bed comfortable and breakfast very tasty. There was wide selection of everything what you can expect for the breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank bran0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteigenbergerHotel, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear Guest,
We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comment: it motivates us to keep on working hard in order to provide the best possible service!
Kind regards,
Peter B. Mikkelsen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Location is awesome. They dnt have their own garage. You park at a public park garage with direct link to hotel. Check in time is 3pm. We arrived at 3:15pm and were told to wait as the room wasnt ready. After insisting that we need to change and leave immediately, she just said sorry, but few mins later we were given an upgrade. Thanks for that, but the whole conversation wasnt trustable. Room was awesome so the bathroom. Clean and modern.
At breakfast the selection wasnt as good as you would expect from a Steigenberger. Had better breakfast in smaller hotels. Staff could be more professional and friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank hoodyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteigenbergerHotel, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and like to deeply apologize for any inconvenience.
We kindly ask you to contact us next time during your stay to be able to solve any problem coming up.
Kind regards,
Peter B. Mikkelsen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Easy parking, pleasing and welcoming staff, building and bararea has an 70's and scandinavian design feeling, great breakfast and agreable breakfast room, cool restaurants in neigbourhood, explore the "Belgisches Viertel".

Room tip: view to the dome
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 135svc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteigenbergerHotel, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are very happy that you had a good time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Steigenberger Hotel Koeln.
Kind regards,
Peter B. Mikkelsen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Very beautiful hotel with super friendly staff. As a couple, we got a room with two separate beds and we could change to another room with one bed without any problems. Rooms are big and have a comfortable, big bed and everything was very clean. Nice bar with good cocktails and nice whisky.

Room tip: Clean and modern room, big and comfortable bed. Cozy bathroom.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joedub90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteigenbergerHotel, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Koln, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a great stay in our hotel. It makes me happy to read that you were satisfied with the service, the location and your guestroom. A maximum score of 100 % is the best praise you can give us.
We send you best regards from Cologne. We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Peter B. Mikkelsen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews