We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #96 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed September 26, 2013

- Location: Great. It is right next to the Cathedral. Is located steps away from the Cathedral, the railway station and the market.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant. You will hear the bells all night!
- Decoration: Elegant.
- Room: It was spacious, clean with comfortable beds.
- Breakfast: Good, but expensive.
- Service: Medium level. While the price includes smiling face of the staff, some of them do not like to smile to the customer.
- Would I stay there again?: Maybe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 475 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is really great location in Cologne. It is just oposite of the Cologne Cathedral(Koln Dom) and Koln main train station.
I woke up to the glorious sound of bells ringing from the Koln Dom. Great room, fantastic view, right next to Cathederal. Koln train station is less than two minutes walk.
There are many souvenir shop are surrounded by the Cologne Cathedral.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is all about the location; however, being adjacent to the cathedral, you will hear the bells all night. All night. (And our room was not facing the cathedral--so I guess it doesn't matter where your room is--you'll hear it.) We got a deluxe room, which was very spacious and modern. At the same time, the service needs a lot of improvement. There weren't any specific issues; I just felt like our presence in the hotel was annoying to them. It wasn't a bad hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arrived on our wedding anniversary, summer 2012. We were on a camping holiday but decided to splash out for one night. There was a mix up with our online reservation and our room had not been reserved, but this was quickly sorted out, and we were upgraded to a beautiful 3 room suite. We were also offered full breakfast as a gesture. Staff are fantastic, friendly and professional. Location is simply perfect, right in the centre of Cologne. Suite was luxurious and spotless to say the least. Breakfast was truly amazing with the largest variety and combination of fresh foods i have every seen. I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, it never hurts to ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the cathedral square, close to the train station, shopping, restaurants. The view of the Dom is great. The room is very good with a very futuristic bathroom. The staff are friendly, give good recommendations for local restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Dom Hotel for 3 nights in June of 2012. I picked it because of the location (I know Cologne quite well) and the view of the Dom from the room was amazing, especially at night, with the Dom lit up! The room faced the side of the Dom and Roncalli Platz.
The room was spacious,well-lit and clean, the bed very comfortable, the table/chair area spacious, the TV modern, the bathroom huge and clean.
The service was also excellent and they let me speak German instead of insisting on speaking English :-)
The hotel really is perfect location-wise - right in the middle of everything, steps from the Dom, steps from stores, steps from the train station and steps from the bridge leading across to the other side of the city.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor - the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was good but not perfect, the air conditioning was pooooooooooor , it was toooooo hot, and we talk with the reception many time but they didn't take any action , I liked the location, it was just steps to the shops and botiques , i hope to improve the jotel services more and more.....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuwaiteiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Im Wasserturm
#27 of 262 in Cologne
574 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
1,239 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#16 of 262 in Cologne
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
1,714 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#5 of 262 in Cologne
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $120 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Prestigia and Orbitz so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing