We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel with unbeatable views”
Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #109 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located next to the marvellous Cathedral this luxurious hotel offers a perfect location (2 min walk from the central railway station), beautiful views and peaceful relaxation.
Our room (Corner Suite) was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The view to the cathedral and square was very beautiful. Worthwhile mentioning is the fact that for such a windy, cold and rainy weather as it was during our stay, our room was very warm and cosy.
The second thing that deserves mentioning is the generous breakfast. First of all, it was nicely organized in the restaurant area on the ground floor facing the cathedral and the square. Second of all, there was an amazing choice of food for all tastes and preferences, and a chef at hand cooking fresh omelettes and eggs exactly the way you want it.
Also the staff at this hotel was excellent, especially the concierge who was very friendly and helped us with storage for our bags.
There would be two critical points about this hotel. First one, there is no free WiFi in the rooms available. One would expect these days from such a luxurious hotel to have free internet access in your room!
Second point, about the shower – the little glass wall which is supposed to protect the bathroom from splashing water is far too small. As a result the bathroom floor was flooding. Generally this kind of showering, standing in a bathtub, is a sign of the past and needs upgrading for the next generation of guests.
Tip: Although you can also dine at the hotel, we would strongly recommend you to venture out into the old town and sample some traditional local food in one of the beautifully old Kölner Brauhauses. We tried out the Gaffel-Haus which serves some very yummy and inexpensive local dishes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear “Sensula”,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you found the facilities and service to your complete satisfaction. Guest experience is so important to us. Furthermore, you may rest assured that we have noted your comments concerning the internet access and installations in the bathroom, which we will take into consideration for the future

Hoping to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

That´s how a traditional carneval song in Cologne starts. If you want to visit Cologne best is to stay somehow downtown. One of the scenic hotels is the Dom Hotel. Just oposite of the Dom, infront of the museums, around the corner of the shopping street and just a little walk away from the downtown district near the river - ideal for a short business or weekend visit. The rooms are furnished in an art-deco style, the tiles in the bathroom could need some replacement, but whenever you wanted to use golden tabs, you will find them here. The breakfast is a little bit expensive, but the big mug of milkcoffee is worth of it, better than the Starbucks around the corner. One recommendation would be to have it´s breakfast in the MANUFACTUR, a 10 minute walk in direction of 4711.
Most of the waiter are very young, but very responsive. There is a guard on every level, so you might feel very safe during your stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms that are facing the Dom and the museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeriderShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear “TimeriderShanghei”,

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel.

The location is indeed exceptional: We are directly connected with all interesting sightseeing and shopping points.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were overall satisfied with our staff and the level of service offered. We were happy to forward your positive comments to our team.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Dom Hotel.

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The best location in town: facing one of the worlds most beautiful cathedrals and being close to museums, sights and Cologne’s typical bars.
At the hotel very friendly staff members received us: They parked our car and helped us to orientate. Our room was spacious, cozy and clean and our beds were comfortable. The small but well assorted bar looks on to the cathedral and has a nice atmosphere in the evenings and good service. I liked the soft sound of the Cathedrals bells ringing late evening and early morning - absolutely not too loud!

At the check-in I shared a family detail: my grandfather stayed at the “Dom Hotel” for his wedding night in 1930 (!) and it happened to be my husband’s and my wedding anniversary that day…
When we came back from town we were surprised with a delicious fruit basket and a bottle of sparkling wine in our room – courtesy of the hotel. Thanks for that little detail – it made us feel special!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7R3H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear “7R2H”,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that we could contribute to turn this year’s wedding anniversary into a special one. It always makes us happy to hear that we could give travelers a good time. We are honored and proud that you gave us the highest rating. Thank you once again! We certainly look forward to your return visit, hopefully soon!

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I redeemed my SPG for a night stay at this hotel. With a platinum status, I believed I was upgraded to a room with Dom (Cologne Cathedra) view. Nicer view with backdrop at night. This hotel was in excellent location which was close to most sightseeing places. Basically I was able to walk around to explore the city. The location was also close to (walkable from) the central train station. Due to the size of this hotel, staff told me that there was neither a lounge nor fitness center. All the staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripleP-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear “camrybkk”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and showing us that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your time with us. We always try to make our traveler’s stay a most enjoyable one. It is nice to hear that we succeeded in your case.

We hope to see you soon again.

All the best,


Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes the location of this hotel is great, in fact can't be beat. That's is about all that's positive. The staff here are in the wrong profession. None seem to exude any sort of hospitality nor smile. The concierge was not helpful at all. We asked the concierge how to get to a specific address, he just told us it's not on the hotel provided map. That was it, and ended our inquiry! We ended up googling the directions ourselves. Our room was old and tired. Clean. However the walls were dented, smudged with dirty prints, scrapes, and god knows when it was last painted. There is no on site gym. When we called down to ask about one, the woman just mumbled something about a 5 minute walk off site, and didn't elaborate further. The kicker to all this? We are SPG Platinum. Zero service, zero anything. We will most definitely not return to this property, and need to rethink about even trying other Le Meridiens. Stay far far far away from is sorry excuse for a five star hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Fionarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear “Fionarina”,

Thank you for staying at our hotel.

It is with great regret that I learned that you were not satisfied with the level of service offered during your stay with us. This is a bit surprising as normally we do get very good feedback concerning our service.

My concierge team told me that you tried to find a restaurant that the map did not show, so he told you that the taxi driver for sure will know this restaurant as it is well known in town. He also offered you to recommend you another restaurant within walking distance. I am sorry if this lead to a misunderstanding and a kind of displeasure on your site. You may rest assured that it is the goal of our team that our guests feel as comfortable and happy as possible. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Concerning the room itself, I hope you have noticed some of the changes that are going on in the moment. As soon as all renovation works have been finished in the new part of the hotel, we will begin to renovate the traditional part. I am sure; you will like the new modern design and ambience.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to react on your feedback and for your notes concerning a better guest performance. I hope you will consider staying with us again and would be happy to welcome you again one day.

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just a two minute walk from the railway station, this hotel is in a terrific position to view and enjoy the beautiful Cathedral. The river is just a couple of minutes walk away. There are many restaurants close by as well. We took up a special offer for accommodation but were a little disappointed with the noisy air conditioning and poor drainage in the shower and basin. Otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable. There were no tea making facilities provided and only one small bar of soap for two people for two nights. The bar was small but lively with good service. I was looking forward to a morning coffee overlooking the cathedral but turned away because a VIP was in the restaurant. Also I requested a two hour extension to the check out time but was told the cost would be an extra 40 euros. I was however offered storage for bags at no cost. The concierge was friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Cathedral views are more expensive. The more you pay, the better room you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHonestAssessment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear “MyHonestAssessment”,

Thank you very much for your feedback and review here on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you were not entirely comfortable during your stay with us but I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our excellent location.

Concerning the tea facilities, we offer the newest equipment in our newly constructed and designed rooms. I am sorry not yet to be able to offer it in our traditional rooms but we provide our guests in those rooms on request immediately with coffee and tea making facilities. Additionally, our room service is always willed to satisfy every guest’s wish.
Be assured that I have immediately forwarded your comments about the air conditioning system and the shower drainage to the responsible team to find a solution and for that our guests are able to enjoy their stay without any inconvenience. Anyway, as soon as all renovation works in the new part of the building have finished we will start carrying out renovations in the traditional part and for sure consider all guest comments to guarantee an overall satisfaction when staying with us.

You may want to try one of our new renovated Deluxe Dom rooms upon your next stay. I am sure you will be positively surprised.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is well situated just by the cathedral, near to the sights, museums and typical bars and restaurants. The rooms in this classic hotel have been renovated, the breakfast room looks on to the cathedral and bar has a nice atmosphere in the evenings. The street behind is very lively, full of people so if you want an early night, be sure to ask for a room looking out on to the cathedral and not the street behind.
The hotel provides a room with computers and internet service but no free wifi areas in the lobby or rooms.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and if you want peace and quiet, ask NOT to be in a room that looks out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaprimavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear “patriciaprimavera”,

Thank you for the time in writing a commentary about your stay at our hotel and for your positive review. I am happy to hear that you especially liked our location.

I hope you will book our hotel again for your next visit to Cologne. We look forward to welcoming you. Should you then wish to reserve a quiter room, just let us know prior your arrival and we will make sure you enjoy a perfect stay as it is the goal of our team that our guests feel as comfortable and happy as possible.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,270 reviews
Hotel Im Wasserturm
#23 of 263 in Cologne
596 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,546 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,206 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#27 of 263 in Cologne
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $83 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing