We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only choice for a great stay in central Koln”
Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #109 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Fantastic stay with our young family. Great room overlooking the markets and the "Dom". Charming front office and excellent concierge (thanks for the excellent restaurant recommendations!). Location is excellent. Rooms, staff and service cannot be faulted. Only minor issue was the bar adjacent to the lobby was little smokey during the evening.

Room Tip: dom view rooms are sought after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXBDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

Dear "DXBDan",
Greetings to Dubai and a heartfelt Thank You for your most generous review. My team and I hope you have many more reasons to travel to Cologne. We would be very happy if you would give us the pleasure to welcome you soon again.
Best regards,
Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 476 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights at the end of November, and couldn't fault anything. We had a fabulous room overlooking the cathedral in the new part of the hotel - even on our last day I was still really excited each time we returned to our room as the curtains automatically opened to reveal wall to wall windows and a spectacular view of the cathedral. The location of the hotel was super and we found some lovely bars and restaurants quite near - although we always ended up back at the hotel bar which had a great atmosphere and gorgeous cocktails. I cannot understand how anyone could moan about the Dom Hotel - no hotel in this price bracket is going to be that perfect, but this hotel was almost there and the staff were great. People need to relax a bit more and enjoy just being in a such a lovely hotel, rather than picking fault at minor details. I think it is the overall experience that makes a hotel worth the stars, and staying at the Dom Hotel made our 6 day holiday in Cologne very special indeed. It is a wonderful place in a wonderful city.

Due to the Christmas markets, we couldn't get parked near the hotel either, so we parked in a nearby car park, walked through the busy shopping area and asked the concierge to help! He took us back to our car and then drove us back to the car park that we couldn't find (which was actually just next to hotel entrance). Internet is free at the hotel if you use the facilities near to the lifts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great staff-friendly and big smiles. Dieter at the front desk and Ms. Bartel especially stood out. The property had great platinum recognition. Our cathedral view suite and beautiful views of the Dom and it's Christmas market. We enjoyed easy access to the train station and the other markets.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear "Chellebell",
On behalf of my entire team: Thank you very much! We look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We went for a night to see the famous Christmas Markets - the location could not have been better; from our balcony we could see over the market and the Cathedral.. the only downside was that it was impossible to drive to the Hotel - the markets and construction made it very difficult to find the parking garage. One other couple at the reception said that they called the Hotel and the Hotel sent someone to help them drive in to the proper location - a recommendation during the Christmas season.. we had a wonderful time in a huge room and really enjoyed the Saturday night at the Hotel Bar; they had the stereotypical German piano player with very cheesy hair... I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear “RT1971”,

Thank you for posting that lovely feedback. Good to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated especially the wonderful Christmas market. We hope you will soon come to Cologne again and honor us with a visit.

Merry Christmas to you!

Best regards

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

There's nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just that given what you are paying you should get a little more. Location is awesome, but rooms are tiny and room servicing is not great, asked for things to be done and they never happened...

Room Tip: Cathedral view rooms do have an awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear “zimzum42”,

Thank you very much for your time and effort to evaluate our hotel. I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable all over. I hope you will give us a second chance, whilst you are next visiting Cologne.

Be assured that we will take your comments to heart and do our utmost to make every guest feel more than happy and comfortable when leaving our hotel.

Have a wonderful Christmas time!

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at the Dom to visit the Christmas Markets and were disappointed with the hotel. It purports to be a 5* hotel but in reality it is no more than a 4*. On arrival the reception could not find our booking and so a few anxious minutes and a phone call were needed to decide that we were genuine customers. Consequently our room was not ready so off we went for a walk around the Christmas Market which is right outside the hotel. On returning we were given our room card and made our way to a room that had no heating and was made up for one person. This is poor service for a 5* hotel.There are also issues with TV noise from adjacent rooms. We were unable to book a room with breakfast and based on a whopping 28 euros for a breakfast was pleased we hadn't. Our room was large with a good bathroom but no tea and coffee in the room, again you would expect it in a 5* hotel.
The location of the Dom is excellent and is its saving glory for me as it was nice not to have to walk very far after visiting the markets. One other issue that people may like to know is the only bar in the hotel is a smoking bar so if you don't like a smoky atmosphere it would be best to stay away as we did. Indeed the hotel proudly announces the fact that it has the only smoking bar in Cologne which is strange in this day and age. All in all I will not be returning to the Dom as I feel that it needs a complete rethink of its priorities and how it boasts to be a 5* hotel. But like every review, see for your selves.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Cathedral or Christmas market, ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear “thefamilyguy61”,

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that you left with some unpleasant memories for your home. We will take your feedback to heart. I really regret that you did not have a nicer stay.

We would be happy to get another chance and hope we can welcome you back soon. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time. I would be glad to assist you and to convince you of the ability of the Dom Hotel.
I wish you happy holidays!

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

After a small problem on check in it was a great weekend in Cologne. The hotel staff were polite and friendly and only too willing to help. The room was well appointed and of a good size the double glazing was great and worked well with the noise from the Christmas Market outside. The location of this hotel is really good so close to the train station, the cathedral, the christmas markets and the shops. I would recommend this hotel for your stay. Only one small thing there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, All in all a great weekend in a great hotel, thank you,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear “David O”,

THANK YOU for staying with us and your generous words about our hotel and our staff! It was a great pleasure for us to host you and we hope you will stay with us soon again.

Merry Christmas!

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,272 reviews
Hotel Im Wasserturm
#22 of 263 in Cologne
596 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,551 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,208 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#27 of 263 in Cologne
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing