We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
Ranked #40 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed January 1, 2009

visited cologne for Christmas markets.
Hotel near train station and cathedral.
Rooms clean and well equipped, we had no problems with noise.
Excellent breakfast-wide range of hot and cold food.
Staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful and informative.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancslass164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 544 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2008

The Euro Garden is a very convenient hotel to use in Cologne, with a few specific caveats. If the weather is hot, the rooms can get very uncomfortable. If you are on the street-side, the close proximity to the train station means it can be noisy with the windows open. If you are planning to stay there in hot weather, I would recommend the interior court-side rooms. The windows are double-paned, so when they are closed this is not a problem. The staff is friendly and very competent. The lights are a little dim for easy reading in bed (a common problem in many German hotels). The breakfast buffet is a slightly better than average version of the usual German hotel fare.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank popvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were attending a large trade show in Dusseldorf and due to room scarcity and outrageous prices decided to stay in Cologne. The Euro Garden was a good value. The room was small, but clean. No air conditioning, but we had an oscillating fan and that was just fine for early June. The sound of the trains didn't bother us, but if you are sensitive to such things then be aware that you can hear the trains.

The hotel is on the "back" side of the train station, but it was a quick walk through the station to the tourist area and restaurants. The train station was a big convenience - cash machines, a drug store, lots of food shops. We walked over to the old town every night for dinner and never felt like it was an inconvenience. The hotel did not serve dinner but they do have a bar open in the evenings.

We thought breakfast was very good - cheeses and meats, pastries and breads, yogurt, fruit. On the day we left, we had to take a cab to the airport too early for breakfast and the staff packed us each a takeout breakfast with ham and cheese sandwiches, apples, and a yogurt. It was very thoughtful and lasted us through lunch!

I would recommend this hotel to people travelling on business and people who don't mind walking a few blocks.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank AZflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day Netherlands/Germany trip that included a two night stay at this hotel. While it had mixed reviews, most were positive and we took a chance...poor choice on my part. The room was extremely small, even for a European room, and did not have air conditioning. Normally in this cool Spring weather that would not be a problem, but with the windows open the noise from the nearby Hofbanhof was deafening all night. The bathroom had an old urine smell around the toilet that could be detected in the bedroom.

On a positive note, the linens were clean. I would not stay here ever again, what a waste of Euros.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tngypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Located near to the main train station, this hotel is easy to access. There is a frequent train service from Koln/Bonn airport to the central station. The rooms were satisfactory in every respect, and clean. the front desk staff were helpful. the breakfast provided was good

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNSMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

A great stay at the Euro Garden. Very clean, bright rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and in a easy, convenient location. What more can one ask for? Sure, there is building work outside the train station, but it cannot be heard in the hotel. Sure, you have to walk a few steps out of the way to get there from the station, but it was no hardship whatsoever. So, if you are thinking of staying in Cologne, forget the moaners and book there straight away. For the handy location for Cologne city centre its worth the price without anything else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovukWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

This is your average mid-range hotel in Germany. I was weary of staying here given the last reviewer's bad rating, but I didn't have much choice as all the other hotels that had space were ridiculously expensive. Actually, my room at the Euro Garden was overpriced, too, but it's because of the huge conference I attended in Dusseldorf (not far from Cologne). All the hotels were gouging customers due to the limited space.

Anyway, this is your typical Germany hotel, as I said. Breakfast is very good and traditionally German. I was disappointed that they didn't server dinner, but then the typical hotel in Germany doesn't.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful (except for one cranky, old guy who I encountered at 6 AM one day). Their English skills were good enough to communicate.

The room was very clean and tidy. The mini-bar is free (a couple of juices and a couple of waters per day). Yes, the room was small, but again I've found this typical of Germany hotels.

There was a sauna (which I didn't visit), but no exercise room. You can purchase t-mobile wireless internet (18 euros per day); it's expensive but the signal strength is excellent. Make sure you have a personal firewall and anti-virus running. My Norton blocked several attempts to penetrate the firewall.

The location is so convenient (steps from the train station). There is a lot of construction right now, so getting there is a bit tricky. Here's the way:

Leave the end of the train station that is opposite the cathedral. Take a left and follow the walkway between the station and the construction (you'll notice a large, blue pipe hanging to your right about 10 feet in the air). While walking in this direction, keep your eyes on the buildings across the street. If you pay attention, you'll see that the hotel it tucked just behind a couple of building across the street. It's on Domstrasse.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank d3dtn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#55 of 261 in Cologne
920 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
195 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 261 in Cologne
862 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#75 of 261 in Cologne
192 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Address: Domstr. 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $37 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is situated centrally, at the heart of Cologne city and only 100 metres from Cologne Central Station. Located in a quiet side street, our hotel provides you with a high level sleeping comfort, comfortable beds and peace. Cologne cathedral, numerous shops and many museums are easy to reach on foot from our hotel. Messe Koln trade fair centre is only 15 minutes walk away. And it is only a few metres to the beautiful banks of the Rhine with its promenades. 85 Friendly and spacious hotel rooms await you in the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre. The warm and friendly atmosphere in country style conveys cosiness and high living comfort. You can use WiFi internet access in all rooms, free of charge. Coffee-and tea making facilities and 2 bottles of mineralwater in the rooms are free of charge. Relax after an exciting Cologne day and recharge your batteries in our hotel's sauna and fitness area. Two flexible conference rooms with modern conference technology are available for business travellers and conference guests. There are sufficient parking spaces in our hotel's underground car park (fees apply). Enjoy a relaxed start to your Cologne day in our hotel's breakfast restaurant Pergola. Enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our light and friendly breakfast room. The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre's balanced breakfast buffet awaits you with an extensive choice of food. The lobby bar of the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is an attractive and cosmopolitan location to enjoy a relaxed end to the day. Soak up the wonderful atmosphere while enjoying pleasant conversation and a glass of Kolsch beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Garden Mark Cologne
Hotel Euro Garden Mark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing