We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
Ranked #38 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The upside of this hotel is that it is only a short walk from the main railway station and the staff were pleasant and hard working. Unfortunately they cannot cope with large numbers (we were a group of 40 and not the only group that evening). The impression is of a quality hotel that has been well used and requires some renovation and renewal. It is okay for a night and fulfils its purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Coling F,

thank you very much for your recent stay and for your feedback. We will forward your comments about the required renovation to the according department. We hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 555 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went here from Brussels for the Christmas markets, great central location decent price good free breakfast. Walked to 4 markets had a great time.staff was helpful and spoke English, also rooms were nice good shower and bed

Stayed: December 2013
Thank rockriverbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear rockriverbum,

Thank you for choosing the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

"Good" should be an option on the rating scale and that's a just about right for this hotel. Just steps away from the central train station and an easy walk to the Dom Christmas market makes this a good home base for all things Koln at Christmastime. Comfy beds with blackout curtains were just the right touch after a night of revelry. Good water pressure and large shower. Big downside to this hotel... Smoking rooms. Smell permeated the room so sleeping with a window open is advised. Breakfast was a nice treat in a festively decorated, well lit room. Choice of meats, cheeses, eggs, pastry and other bites served in small jars. Whole pot of coffee for your table! If all of this meets your needs then stay here. Friendly service as well.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Fleacyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Fleacyno,

Thank you for choosing the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to visit Cologne's Christmas markets and the hotel is ideally placed for this. Within easy walking distance of the mainline station and the Dom. I have only given an average rating because the accommodation is slightly tired. Our room was on the small side and the bathroom needed some updating. However the room was tided and cleaned to an extremely good standard each day. Beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful with an excellent choice of hot food or continental style and the breads on offer were amazing. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke English. Would recommend it for a City break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcodgers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear oldcodgers_12,

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We used this hotel for a two night leisure break - it was exceptionally good. We were received with a warm genuine welcome with English very widely spoken. The room was better than average for a city break hotel and it had a large flat screen tv. All you need is included - tea/coffee, shower gel even complimentary water each day. The breakfast is outstanding with both hot and cold choices, English and continental. Nice restaurant decor comfy cosy bar, very happy, will certainly go again to any of their hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear SteveM,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and all on the team say very heartfelt thank you! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly staff, clean room and good location. If you are in Koln to visit for a few days, this is a pretty good place, and right across from the rail station. They have a small bar on site as well. They also offer garage parking for 10 euro a day

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Fred T,

Thank you for choosing the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have used this hotel before as an overnight hotel. It is wonderfully placed for the station, cathedral, river bank and the old city. It basically is a 'bed and breakfast' hotel but with all the facilities that are seen to be necessay in a business hotel. We were travelling in a party and the hotel arranged an outside caterer to give us dinner in the hotel which was very good indeed. Breakfast the next morning was also to a good standard.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the front overlooking the station, as high as you can. It is not necessarily quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear rogerrobert98,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#58 of 261 in Cologne
930 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 261 in Cologne
200 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#29 of 261 in Cologne
874 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#72 of 261 in Cologne
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Address: Domstr. 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $80 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is situated centrally, at the heart of Cologne city and only 100 metres from Cologne Central Station. Located in a quiet side street, our hotel provides you with a high level sleeping comfort, comfortable beds and peace. Cologne cathedral, numerous shops and many museums are easy to reach on foot from our hotel. Messe Koln trade fair centre is only 15 minutes walk away. And it is only a few metres to the beautiful banks of the Rhine with its promenades. 85 Friendly and spacious hotel rooms await you in the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre. The warm and friendly atmosphere in country style conveys cosiness and high living comfort. You can use WiFi internet access in all rooms, free of charge. Coffee-and tea making facilities and 2 bottles of mineralwater in the rooms are free of charge. Relax after an exciting Cologne day and recharge your batteries in our hotel's sauna and fitness area. Two flexible conference rooms with modern conference technology are available for business travellers and conference guests. There are sufficient parking spaces in our hotel's underground car park (fees apply). Enjoy a relaxed start to your Cologne day in our hotel's breakfast restaurant Pergola. Enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our light and friendly breakfast room. The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre's balanced breakfast buffet awaits you with an extensive choice of food. The lobby bar of the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is an attractive and cosmopolitan location to enjoy a relaxed end to the day. Soak up the wonderful atmosphere while enjoying pleasant conversation and a glass of Kolsch beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Garden Mark Cologne
Hotel Euro Garden Mark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing