We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Markets 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
Ranked #40 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a lovely stay again at this great convenient hotel which ideally situated to the Dom. Had a good room 520 and had previously asked for a high floor and it certainly was. The breakfast is a buffet style and has a very good selection. The room has a comfortable bed and great powerful shower. Would return again and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 520
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Bonnie 1999,
Thank you for choosing the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

A friend and I went over to Cologne to have a trip around the town and also to visit Phantasialand which is a short distance away. Chose this hotel as it was conveniently located near the town centre and looked easy to get to from the airport.
The hotel is right next to Cologne train station, which is only 15 minutes train ride from the airport. I have to say though, from maps it is not clear where the hotel is behind the station. Eventually did find it, mainly through recognising the street names.
Hotel has a warm reception, and English is spoken fluently. Check in is from 3pm, however we arrived at 12pm, and they said the room would be ready by 1pm. This was very much appreciated as the weekend we went must have been the hottest in August and as we had been up since 4am, we were in much need of some rest.
Rooms were very standard, would not say a 4 star, but was good for wat we paid. Room was supplied with a fan, which was needed in the heat. However in the evening, if the windows were left open there seemed to be a lot of small flies which invaded our room. This meant we could not have the windows open in the evening, so suffered slightly!
Breakfast was brilliant. Always a wide choice of cooked/continental food, which changed depending on what time you went downstairs to eat. Best thing there had to be the pancakes!
The town of Cologne is lovely, great shops and restaurants about! Also great bakeries! So many right on the doorstep. River is a short walk away and there are some lovely cafe's along the front. Cheap boat tours are also available during summer, which were very relaxing!
Rooms were clean and water was supplied in the mini bar each day. Was great for what we needed for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wright89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear wright89,

Thank you for choosing the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped at this hotel for 4 nights and used it mainly as a base. We were told it was 4 stars when booking and whilst it was clean and good location I wouldn't say it was 4 star.
The room was quite small but this did not bother us as we didn't spend an awful lot of time in the hotel. The beds were a bit hard but otherwise comfortable. Bigger quilts would have been welcomed; we had 2 single (maybe smaller?) quilts as opposed to one between us, we are in no way large people but they seemed very small and my boyfriend complained of being cold in the night.The bathroom had a shower which was OK but looked in need of a deep clean as it had lots of limescale build up on it and the basin in the bathroom had a crack. We also noticed that in the stairwell there was a half empty bottle of wine the entire length of our stay; just general things like this meant the hotel didn't feel quite 4 star.
The breakfast was nice; a fair amount to choose from and coffee bought to the table nearly as soon as you sat down.
Staff were friendly enough and there was always someone on reception, everyone in Germany speaks embarrassingly good English so if you needed any help I'm sure the reception staff would be able to provide this.
Would recommend the hotel for a similar trip but would say that if you're looking for a bit of luxury try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnygirl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear sunnygirl1003,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum recently and thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to read, that the general things you told about, not made you feel to be in a 4* hotel. I use feedback such as yours to motivating the team to perform to the highest level consistently.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Whilst this hotel is nothing special, it is very convenient for the railway station. The single rooms have double beds in, which makes a nice change to some other hotels I've stayed at in the region, and the nice TV with cable made for a comfortable short stay in Cologne.

I would probably stay here again if I was passing through Cologne, but I might look for alternatives if I was staying any longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaerast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Kaerast,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and thank you also for your very feedback. We hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had a single room for €90.00 including breakfast.

Room was OK, in fact it was a double in the end, right on the top floor. Mini bar in room but not stocked for some reason. bathroom fine, but, like a lot of German hotels, they could really do with something other than a hand towel for drying off after a bath or shower!

Bed comfortable.

Parking is available underneath the hotel at extra cost, but it is very very tight so be careful.

Check in was slow as was getting a drink at the bar (which was also manned by the seemingly only member of staff in the place, who had to be called from reception if you wanted something.

Dont think they served dinner in the evening but that's fine as a quick walk through the station and you are on the piazza in front of the cathedral and here there is a large choice of places to eat.

Breakfast was good in the morning and check out much quicker than check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear animalthatswims,

thank you for choosing the Grand City Hotel Koeln Zentrum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Cologne.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel does not really deserve the title Grand City Hotel. This is a utilitarian hotel that has nothing Grand about it. The bedrooms are basic and rather cheaply done. The bathroom had a drain in the floor which allowed disgusting smells all the time up from the pipework into the bathroom and bedroom. Having said that it was in the main clean and staffed by pleasant staff. the breakfast was good and well worth the €7. For a business man this was I suppose just somewhere to lay my head but i would have liked better duvets and pillows, and and non smelly bathroom.

Room Tip: book direct . dont book through late rooms or last minute etc. It was 20% cheaper going direct
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkyfab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear mikkyfab1,

I have read your comment with great interest and I would like to thank you, that you have taken the time for this. I assure you that your valuable feedback will help to review our services to continuously improve it.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Being there for 1 night, in my opinion this hotel have one more star that i think it deserves. The hotel is clean and well located (only a max 5 minutes walk to the Cologne Cathedral and railway station). The room was very little, with a old decor. Room with cable tv, small bathroom (but clean), small bed, even for just a single person. The door can not be locked from inside. Curious was the fact that someone from room cleanliness enter my room at 8:30am. Never saw that before... The breakfast was good, enough for a day start, some sort of fruits and hot bread, but again faraway from a lot of 4* hotels that I know. I really think that the hotel needs some improvements to be more modern and confortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monalisa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Monalisa 1969,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum recently and I am sorry to read that you did not felt a 4* service.
I assure you that your valuable feedback will help us to review our services to continuously improve it. We would like to take the opportunity to convince you of our services and hope to welcoming you back in the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#55 of 261 in Cologne
919 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
195 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 261 in Cologne
862 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#75 of 261 in Cologne
192 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Address: Domstr. 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $37 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is situated centrally, at the heart of Cologne city and only 100 metres from Cologne Central Station. Located in a quiet side street, our hotel provides you with a high level sleeping comfort, comfortable beds and peace. Cologne cathedral, numerous shops and many museums are easy to reach on foot from our hotel. Messe Koln trade fair centre is only 15 minutes walk away. And it is only a few metres to the beautiful banks of the Rhine with its promenades. 85 Friendly and spacious hotel rooms await you in the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre. The warm and friendly atmosphere in country style conveys cosiness and high living comfort. You can use WiFi internet access in all rooms, free of charge. Coffee-and tea making facilities and 2 bottles of mineralwater in the rooms are free of charge. Relax after an exciting Cologne day and recharge your batteries in our hotel's sauna and fitness area. Two flexible conference rooms with modern conference technology are available for business travellers and conference guests. There are sufficient parking spaces in our hotel's underground car park (fees apply). Enjoy a relaxed start to your Cologne day in our hotel's breakfast restaurant Pergola. Enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our light and friendly breakfast room. The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre's balanced breakfast buffet awaits you with an extensive choice of food. The lobby bar of the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is an attractive and cosmopolitan location to enjoy a relaxed end to the day. Soak up the wonderful atmosphere while enjoying pleasant conversation and a glass of Kolsch beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Garden Mark Cologne
Hotel Euro Garden Mark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing