We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand by name NOT by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre
Ranked #41 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel does not really deserve the title Grand City Hotel. This is a utilitarian hotel that has nothing Grand about it. The bedrooms are basic and rather cheaply done. The bathroom had a drain in the floor which allowed disgusting smells all the time up from the pipework into the bathroom and bedroom. Having said that it was in the main clean and staffed by pleasant staff. the breakfast was good and well worth the €7. For a business man this was I suppose just somewhere to lay my head but i would have liked better duvets and pillows, and and non smelly bathroom.

Room Tip: book direct . dont book through late rooms or last minute etc. It was 20% cheaper going direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkyfab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear mikkyfab1,

I have read your comment with great interest and I would like to thank you, that you have taken the time for this. I assure you that your valuable feedback will help to review our services to continuously improve it.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 566 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Being there for 1 night, in my opinion this hotel have one more star that i think it deserves. The hotel is clean and well located (only a max 5 minutes walk to the Cologne Cathedral and railway station). The room was very little, with a old decor. Room with cable tv, small bathroom (but clean), small bed, even for just a single person. The door can not be locked from inside. Curious was the fact that someone from room cleanliness enter my room at 8:30am. Never saw that before... The breakfast was good, enough for a day start, some sort of fruits and hot bread, but again faraway from a lot of 4* hotels that I know. I really think that the hotel needs some improvements to be more modern and confortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monalisa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Monalisa 1969,

Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum recently and I am sorry to read that you did not felt a 4* service.
I assure you that your valuable feedback will help us to review our services to continuously improve it. We would like to take the opportunity to convince you of our services and hope to welcoming you back in the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Easily confused with the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne which is 5 minutes walk away. Fortunately both are part of the same group and I was quickly re directed.
This is a comfortable hotel within a few minutes walking distance of the main railway station. This gives rapid access to Koln/Bonn airport in about 11 minutes on the train but there is a much longer walk within the large airport.
Free Wifi in rooms, no air con, but a fan was provided. There are no views but the room was especially pleasant and the staff were good. Breakfast included in my room rate, but I had to leave too early to benefit from this.
Cologne is a clean pleasant city with friendly cultured people. High standards are evident everywhere. Some wonderful shops too. Little of historic interest remains except the Kölner Dom which I thought was rather austere inside and out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is in a good location - within a five minute walk of both the train station and the cathedral making it ideal for sightseeing in Cologne. Its a small hotel - about 80 rooms which I prefer. The room was adequate - good storage facilities and unusually for hotels had plenty of mirrors in sensible locations - by the hair dryer, dressing table and a magnifying one for make up too. The decor of the hotel lets this hotel down a little - its early 90s decor so does need bringing into the twenty first century but it is clean and functional. Our only issue was with the bathroom - the sink had a big crack in it meaning had you needed to, you couldn't have a shave and the towels were on the thin side. Breakfast was very good however and the furniture in the breakfast room have the impression that a refurb may not be too far off. You certainly could eat very well at breakfast - a very good selection of fresh food - cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, yoghurt, fresh fruit, hot food and pancakes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear GreenwichSarah. Thank you for choosing the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit. Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very well located but the rooms lacked airconditioning and even though the temperature was in the low 70's the room was VERY hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zosimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Zosimus, thank you for choosing the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Kind regards, Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night only early June 2012 as part of an escorted railway tour. Slightly apprehensive due to previous negative comments, but needn't have worried. A stone's throw from the main station (well, we were on a railway holiday!) and the cathedral on the opposite side of the tracks. The hotel was clean, our room was just fine, ideal for one night's stay. I could be picky about the lack of English-language channels on TV, or the tiny wardrobe, or the one small lift, but for one night? The hairdryer in the bathroom was faulty and the staff were very obliging when we asked for a spare one. Excellent breakfast buffet including hot options. Not sure that buffet works equally well for an evening meal but there was a good choice even if the pork we had that night was a little dry. Staff were good, taking great care to ensure that my wife had the gluten-free meal she required. Only minor criticism was late-night street noise through open windows due to lack of air conditioning. I wouldn't stay here for a longer holiday but for a short city break, especially if you're travelling by train, it's absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear OxonjohnK, thank you for your very valuable feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

this is a lovely hotel though we went to the other grand city hotel first..seems rather strange to have 2 hotels with the same name so close to each other and the station.
we had a big room which was very quiet even though we were close to the railway station.
A good thing, there was a safe in the room which is a thing that is usually missing in English hotels.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was an excellent spread with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear carole034,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and all on the team say a very heartfelt thank you!
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Grand City Hotel Köln Zentrum soon,

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#56 of 263 in Cologne
961 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 263 in Cologne
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#23 of 263 in Cologne
1,073 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,166 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre

Address: Domstr. 10-16, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $90 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is situated centrally, at the heart of Cologne city and only 100 metres from Cologne Central Station. Located in a quiet side street, our hotel provides you with a high level sleeping comfort, comfortable beds and peace. Cologne cathedral, numerous shops and many museums are easy to reach on foot from our hotel. Messe Koln trade fair centre is only 15 minutes walk away. And it is only a few metres to the beautiful banks of the Rhine with its promenades. 85 Friendly and spacious hotel rooms await you in the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre. The warm and friendly atmosphere in country style conveys cosiness and high living comfort. You can use WiFi internet access in all rooms, free of charge. Coffee-and tea making facilities and 2 bottles of mineralwater in the rooms are free of charge. Relax after an exciting Cologne day and recharge your batteries in our hotel's sauna and fitness area. Two flexible conference rooms with modern conference technology are available for business travellers and conference guests. There are sufficient parking spaces in our hotel's underground car park (fees apply). Enjoy a relaxed start to your Cologne day in our hotel's breakfast restaurant Pergola. Enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our light and friendly breakfast room. The TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre's balanced breakfast buffet awaits you with an extensive choice of food. The lobby bar of the TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre is an attractive and cosmopolitan location to enjoy a relaxed end to the day. Soak up the wonderful atmosphere while enjoying pleasant conversation and a glass of Kolsch beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Koeln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Garden Mark Cologne
Hotel Euro Garden Mark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing