We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location!”
Review of Wyndham Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Koeln
Ranked #61 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Located across from the central station, and opposite Cologne Cathedral, this hotel offers the perfect location for those that like to use public transportation. Other highlights of this hotel include a friendly staff and free wifi access for more than one device! For a short stay is a good option, but if you expect a comfortable hotel you may be disappointed. The rooms are clean but very small and so is the bathroom. The hotel also is a little noisy if your room faces the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompeo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Tompeo T,

thank you very much for taken the time for this feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    334
    250
    83
    33
See reviews for
110
330
58
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northants UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to visit the Christmas Markets, and the location is good, right next to the train station, and Cathedral where the largest market is found. The staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay and the bedroom adequate for our needs, albeit a little small, and noisy at night if you had your window ajar as it was so hot in the room! Being just before Christmas breakfast was full during peak times, but a warning was in your room to go before 0830 or wait till 1030, and the food was good and constantly refreshed . If you had to wait then you waited in the bar area and they collected you when your table was ready.
In all it suited our needs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear marcoNorthantsUK ,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Koeln for your recent stay and thank you also for your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great hotel, Rooms very modern. Was allowed to check in early which was a bonus. Staff very friendly and free wi-fi came in handy. Excellent location for train station, dom and the old town bars. Breakfast was good with both English and continental to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the train station and it's tannoy are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Addie B,

Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the Best Western Grand City Hotel Koeln soon.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We visited as a party of 7, booking 3 rooms at the Best Western near the main station in Cologne for a couple of nights. The hotel location was excellent - very easy to find after taking the train from the airport. The rooms were clean and large enough for our needs - not massive but not as small as other city-centre hotels sometimes are. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome, making sure we could check in early to one room so we had somewhere to store our luggage and freshen up before heading out. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear sm_1016,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your nice feedback. We are glad that all of you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Best Western for one night at the start of a Rhineland Market Cruise and were more than happy with the accommodation and service. Lift capacity was limited and we often walked the walk down five floors but not up. Restaurant capacity was pushed to its limit at breakfast time but we managed. I can say with absolute certainty that the room was much bigger than our cabin on the MS Bellevue.
We had no need to come into contact with the Hotel Management and anyone who has read my views on the Riviera Resort and Spar in Marfa Malta will perhaps see where I am coming from. I would like to recommend that the manager of that Hotel take a trip on a Rhine Cruiser and see how a hotel should be managed. Our boat had a "Hotel Manager" in charge of the hotel element of the boat. He was the 'front man' always present and always involved from presenting the life drill through cooking eggs and omelettes at breakfast to doing a stint behind reception.He seemed utterly tireless and gained the respect of all of the guests and clearly all of his staff.
I know I'm being naughty tying these comments to the Best Western but I felt the need to give him a plug!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Tony W,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And we thank you for your effort and honesty. We assure you, your valubale feedback will help us to monitor and to improve our performances steadily.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.


Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent in this hotel 1 night to visit the Xmas markets. The position is perfect: just in front of the station, each of the market is almost walking distance from there. Big concern was the size of the room, as big as a cabin in a ship... The same comment applies to the bathroom. For a 4 star hotel, 1 night x 160€ without breakfast, it was really unsatisfactory!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clo_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Clo_Lu,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret very much that our rooms and our service have not corresponded to your expectations. With pleasure we reserve for your next stay if requested a bigger room. We would be glad to be allowed to persuade you of our service on your next visit.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night because we were traveling across Belgium and Germany by train. But we really enjoyed staying here.
The hotel is located right outside the central train station. The check in was fast. We checked in early which was no problem, We had a room with the view of the Koln Cathedral.
The room is a bit small, but very clean, gets plenty of sunshine and the bed is comfortable. Everything worked fine.
We opted not to buy breakfast at the hotel, since there are many shops at the central stations selling breads and other baked goods. The cathedral is so near, and the famous, wonderful Cafe Reichard is only very near.
We will definitely come to stay at this hotel again the next time we visit Cologne.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the front, you will get the view of the Cathedral. But you must compromise a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ed-Henry,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and all on the team say thank you! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the Best Western Grand City Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#95 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Koeln

Property: Wyndham Koeln
Address: Breslauer Platz 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 131 rooms at our Cologne hotel enjoy a comfortable and modern design. Sound-proof windows and air conditioning ensure perfect sleeping comfort. Our hotel guests have free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel. Relax in the hotel bar with a cool "Kölsch" beer or a sparkling cocktail. The WYNDHAM Köln 's summer terrace is the perfect place to socialise in the summer months. The WYNDHAM Köln is located at the heart of the city, across from the Cathedral and central railway station. Cologne, the fascinating Rhine metropolis: 2000 years of rich history, gathering ground for people from around the globe, home to a vibrant art and culture scene of Cologne and extensive shopping miles, with a picturesque historic district and the trade fair grounds - all within just a few minutes' walking distance. In summer you can enjoy the view from the hotel terrace at the heart of Cologne while the city's night life pulsates outside. Relax with a cool Kölsch beer or a sparkling cocktail in the hotel bar "Le Perron" or on the terrace. Our hotel rooms are ideal for business travellers and visitors planning a short trip to Cologne. Our hotel's comfortable beds ensure a good night's sleep and tempt every guest to have a lie-in. The free WiFi internet connection in the rooms keeps you in touch with your colleagues, friends and family at any time of the day or night. All rooms are equipped with a desk, telephone, flatscreen TV and a safe deposit box. A free bottle of mineral water is on hand as refreshment. A kettle and a selection of teas & coffees provide you a relaxed start to the morning at the WYNDHAM Köln. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wyndham Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Hotel Cologne
Four Points Cologne
Sheraton Cologne
Cologne Four Points
Cologne Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing