We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wifi quality soured my experience”
Review of Wyndham Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Koeln
Ranked #63 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wifi quality soured my experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a last minute business trip so the hotel options were limited... even if a room could be found, normal business properties were charging upwards of €400/night. The Best Western at €200/night seemed a relative bargain. I made my choice based on tripadvisor reviews - specifically looking for negative feedback regarding the internet connect, which there appeared to be none. My experience, thus far (still have two nights to go):

a) Location - fantastic... directly across from the Koln hbf. Shops in the hbf are open late, great for picking up food or drink.
b) Service - friendly... front desk staff was good.
c) Air Conditioning - seemingly non-existent. If one turns down the temperature, hot air continues to pump out of the vents. I had to turn off the a/c and rely on open balcony door to provide some cooling. Of course, overlooking the main train station resulted in this being a rather noisy alternative.
d) Satellite television - my computer monitors (at work and home) are larger than the television. Although, this was not the main problem... I was restricted to news channels (France24, BBC, Bloomberg, CNBC) as I only comprehend English/French. Just one 'entertainment' channel in English would have been a blessing. Normally, this would not be an issue as I spend much more time online working or catching up with friends/family... but this wasn't really possible due to:
e) Horrible WIFI - ...periods of the day where it did not appear to work; so slow that it could not even complete a speed test. I (like a lot of business travellers, I presume) can put up with a lot in hotels but the quality of the internet connection is a 'make or break' item for me. Even if it were at 1.5 mbps I would have probably rated the internet 'average'... but there is no way it was even close to that.

If I was back for pleasure and the cost were €100/night I might consider a repeat visit... but, even with a price reduction, I would not consider the property for business. Great location though...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan_yyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear ryan_yyc,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable and detailed feedback.
We have read your comments with great interest. We assure you that your valuable criticism serves to check and improve our achievements steadily.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    340
    254
    83
    35
See reviews for
111
337
58
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked a family room for two nights in August 2013, to explore Cologne while en route to Austria by train. Excellent location by main railway station and our room had a superb view of the cathedral too. Very friendly staff, who spoke English well. Excellent breakfast. Hope we'll get chance to return here some time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out over the square, railway station and cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Pinza42,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much.
Your positive comments regarding the great location, good breakfast and friendly staff are most welcome and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto San Giorgio, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel should be chosen for the fantastic position. In front of the station, you can go out and everything is there, trains to go easily to the exhibition centre, cathedral, restaurants and shop. Very useful all shops at the station, open till late, which is not so usual in Germany. Location is the plus of the hotel. It's also quite notwithstanding the close railway station. Bathroom is very small, but it's ok.
The only really negative point was the price but I have to say that this is common in exhibition period. Personally I find really crazy to triple prices during shows. Here price should be 100 euro max per night, instead I paid 300 euro per night and it has been a rip-off!! Do not visit Cologne during shows, if you can, this is my advice.

Room Tip: 2-3 floor...it takes ages to go down from the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piergiorgio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear PiergiogioB,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked too late for a business trip and ended up at the Grand City. Before arriving, I was very disappointed at having to stay in a Best Western for over a week. I was surprised that it wasn't as bad as I was anticipating. The location was great! Easy access to all modes if transport, only across the street from the main train station. The rooms were small but ok for one person, bed was comfy but can use puffier pillows. Closet and bathroom were tiny! Free wifi was a great perk. This was an acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Travlil,

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Clean hotel - not fancy - but a good place to leave your bags and go see the city. The room is really small - so is the bathroom - but if you are just there overnight it is fine - not sure I would do more than one night there - but as I have said before - I am a snob in some ways.
A short walk into the Old town and the train station - so great in that way.
Was well priced , clean and safe - parking was about 400m away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Brett1712,

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The good bits - excellent efficient Reception staff on both check-in and check-out. Could not be more centrally situated, by the railway station (not always a plus) and five minutes from The Dom and Aldstadt. If you want to be so close to the sights, this is a good choice. Free wi-fi, as it should be everywhere but some in Cologne charge up to €20 per day!

As is typical in Cologne, the Grand City does not have its own car park, but a secure garage is five minutes walk away, priced at €15 per day.

The rooms, are, at best, a little tired. Our so called Superior Room had a view over the station to The Dom, but featured chipped furniture, adapted to take modern equipment, a hole instead of a mini-bar, and badly worn carpets. Fraying at the doors will soon become a trip hazard. The balcony doors - well door, as only one is openable - were strange. One was disabled by the removal of the handle, the other would not open fully as the bedside chest of drawers blocked it! A non smoking room, obviously not refurbished for many years, had a number of burn marks where cigarettes had been used. Oh well, it was a bed, and only for two nights. The Superior Room rate of €90 we got through an agency is at the top end for this very average room.

But the coup de grace was the restaurant. We took a look on our first night, but as a mouse entered just before us, we chose to eat elsewhere. Mice don't bother us, but this really is unacceptable! By the way if you do go in, breakfast is €19 per person.

Room Tip: Ask for Dom view but make sure you get a heavy discount if considering this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear PaulausTirol,

thank you for you very valuable feedback and thank you very much for you positive comments regarding the friendly staff and the great location.
At our hotel modernisations are carried out at regular intervals so that the rooms are partly on a different architectural state. It seems that you stayed in a room which will be modernised in this rotation next time. 2/3 of our rooms were renovated in the last 2 years. Hopefully you understand that everything cannot happen at the same time. For your next visit we will reserve a renovated room for you.
Your are right, if you say a mouse is unacceptable. We have already took the necessary measures regarding this.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for just one night while on a Great Rail Journeys trip. The hotel is very convenient for the station, and our room was clean. There was free bottled water as well as tea/coffee making facilities and, a big plus - air conditioning!
The only real downsides to the room, were the awful 'German' thin square pillows, the size of the room - not a lot of room at all and the very short bath! As a bath people as opposed to shower people it was a real disappointment not to be able to have a relaxing soak in the bath - to be honest it would have been better not to have bothered trying to put a bath in the tiny bathroom and just settled with the shower. (From other reviews there must be other rooms that are larger, or they were in a different hotel to us - there is another hotel called Grand City Hotel Koln Zentrum!)

We ate as a group in the restaurant. The area we were in was fine. The food did leave a little to be desired though - I would prefer fresh carrots to frozen and fresh potatoes to tinned! The staff were a little abrupt - especially when the desserts had run out and more was requested - not enough was put out for 42 people. Others were told there was no more dessert, but eventually some was brought out.
Breakfast was included for us and was a typical European buffet style meal, with a reasonable choice.

The hotel was quiet - if you closed your windows and had the air conditioning on low. There was a lot of street noise, but this hotel is in a busy part of Cologne, so what do you expect?

I would recommend this hotel for business travellers or as a short stop over. We would stay again if we visited Cologne overnight again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooligan-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Hooligan-59,

we thank you for your recent stay with a Great Rail Journey group in the Best Western Grand City Hotel Koeln and we thank you for your very valuable feedback. Your comments regarding the dinner are very helpful for us to verify and improve our Performance steadily.

We look Forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
180 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,036 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 261 in Cologne
850 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Koeln

Property: Wyndham Koeln
Address: Breslauer Platz 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 131 rooms at our Cologne hotel enjoy a comfortable and modern design. Sound-proof windows and air conditioning ensure perfect sleeping comfort. Our hotel guests have free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel. Relax in the hotel bar with a cool "Kölsch" beer or a sparkling cocktail. The WYNDHAM Köln 's summer terrace is the perfect place to socialise in the summer months. The WYNDHAM Köln is located at the heart of the city, across from the Cathedral and central railway station. Cologne, the fascinating Rhine metropolis: 2000 years of rich history, gathering ground for people from around the globe, home to a vibrant art and culture scene of Cologne and extensive shopping miles, with a picturesque historic district and the trade fair grounds - all within just a few minutes' walking distance. In summer you can enjoy the view from the hotel terrace at the heart of Cologne while the city's night life pulsates outside. Relax with a cool Kölsch beer or a sparkling cocktail in the hotel bar "Le Perron" or on the terrace. Our hotel rooms are ideal for business travellers and visitors planning a short trip to Cologne. Our hotel's comfortable beds ensure a good night's sleep and tempt every guest to have a lie-in. The free WiFi internet connection in the rooms keeps you in touch with your colleagues, friends and family at any time of the day or night. All rooms are equipped with a desk, telephone, flatscreen TV and a safe deposit box. A free bottle of mineral water is on hand as refreshment. A kettle and a selection of teas & coffees provide you a relaxed start to the morning at the WYNDHAM Köln. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wyndham Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Hotel Cologne
Four Points Cologne
Sheraton Cologne
Cologne Four Points
Cologne Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing