We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Koeln
Nearby Hotels
$171
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$73
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$102
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveler rating
188
389
305
92
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
389
305
92
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshort stayexcellent locationmain stationstayed one nightsmall bathroomcologne cathedralbeds were comfortablewalk in showerthe riverbasic hotelcouple of nightsexhibition centreeasy accessfew minutes walkbreakfast was includedold town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here in July 2011 and I really couldn't have been happer. We got a twin room and a double room. The double room was small but cosy and had a lovely view. The twin room was very, very spacious, we had a large bathroom and a balcony with a view of the Dom. Both rooms were very clean upon arrival and were cleaned each day by staff. Both rooms also had two complementary bottles of water put into our mini-fridge each day, which was a nice touch. Staff were very helpful, kind and polite. Food in the hotel is expensive, as is wifi. However, there are loads of cafes and restaurants within walking distance and, to repeat a tip I read on here, use the wifi in Starbucks in the station directly across the road (the staff there are also very polite, I would buy a hot chocolate in there each evening and spend maybe an hour online - no problem!) The lift in the hotel is tiny and upon checking out we were charged some sort of government fee of 40 euro which we didn't expect but our stay here was so perfect that it didn't really matter much. Cannot emphasise how much we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarawrrr_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sarawrrr_x,

Thank you most sincerely for your comments. To say that the hotel has it all is the ultimate compliment to all on the team and all have requested that I pass on a very sincere thank you to you – we are most grateful.

Also we are happy to inform you that wifi is now free of charge in all of our rooms and the pubic area.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of group, great rail journeys, so had minimal input into choice of hotel etc. Excellent location for station and quiet overnight on Sunday. Service and food very good and would stay again. Rooms well appointed with all facilities including complimentary bottled water and tea and coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear PeteGlasgow,

We were delighted to have welcomed you to the Best Western grand City Hotel Cologne. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our customers following their stays.

We are excited that the team delivered an excellent standard of customer service and with great pleasure we will share your motivating comments with our colleagues.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I chose this hotel for its central location and the good reviews, and it was in fact extremely central and the room was much more luxurious than expected. We were given a large room with a large bathroom and view of the cathedral on the 9th floor, as I had requested, even though the rate we paid was discounted, I was very impressed! I can only recommend this hotel and if you were to book a room, do request a room with a view!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadiavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Nadiavd,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night with a group en route to Switzerland. Arrived tired, glad to find a swift buffet meal provided for the group - choices were OK. Bedroom clean, well-equippedn, comfortable except far too hot: wedged the balcony door open while we went out for a walk, which cooled it a bit, but had to shut that door when we came back to sleep (traffic noise) and there seemed no way to stop the aircon from pushing out hot air. Other guests reported the same.

Wifi available but you have to go down to reception to get a code. Breakfast buffet good (be sure to explore it all - I missed the bircher muesli because it was round the corner and I'd already chosen uk-style muesli!). Staff friendly.

Very convenient for station, cathedral, Rhine. But the room heating needs to be fixed. (Ah, perhaps that's why there were 2 complimentary bottles mineral water, to prevent dehydration?)

Room Tip: Some have view of Rhine and/or cathedral.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear PMDLeeds,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln.

Thank you for the positive feedback on our rooms as well as our breakfast and our staff.

Also, we are pleased that our central city location provided a convenient base for your visit.

It would our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great stay.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight with a group en route from Switzerland to London. The hotel is ideally placed, only yards from the main railway station. The other side of the station is the cathedral, so in all the location couldn't be better.
Our room was clean and fresh, if very small. The bed was very comfortable - we slept very well.
The evening meal was adequate but offered no choice. Our group appeared to be the only diners as the staff couldn't wait to finish with us and clear up. Breakfast was standard stuff.
Overall the hotel did what we needed it do but with no flair. As such it was adequate but apart from the bed we wouldn't want to have a longer stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room! Quiet rooms face away from the station.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milko09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Milko09,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As dinner buffet we offer a salad buffet, a soup, two main courses and a selection of cheese and desserts. If we did not meet your taste we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

As our rooms are all slightly different in size and furnishing we will make a note, that you prefer a spacious room for your next stay.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future to convince you of our service.

Best regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews