We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”
Review of Wyndham Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Koeln
Ranked #61 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
crawley, Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to visit the Christmas markets in Cologne, the location is great, accross the road from the railway station and Cathederal. The breakfast is pricey but very good and convienient. The room was very clean fairly basic with bottle water but no tea making facility. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luluhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear luluhorn,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    334
    250
    83
    33
See reviews for
110
330
58
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Grand City Hotel Köln is a very modest, but affordable hotel in the heart of Köln, next to the railway station. Its staff is very friendly and it has rooms for smokers, which has become exceptional in our times! It looks pretty dated, but for those who like 'retro' and 'vintage', it will look like paradise: the furniture in our room looked as if it hadn't been changed since the '60's...
From the rooms, one has a 'pretty' view over the city and the river Rhine and the Dome is within reach. The rooms are clean, but plain.
There is only one small elevator, that operates very slowly as does the water reservoir of the toilet. The free Wifi that is offered, works poorly: even our iPhones didn't work properly. Breakfast is not very cheap, but the city is crowded with places that offer enough to eat from morning till late night.
For a short stay and a small budget, there's nothing wrong with this hotel.Those who need no more than a bed and a place to get some rest will enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchrudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear dutchrudolf,
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I only stayed there one night and I don't think I would have liked to stay longer. The room was small ,an odd shape and extremely hot even when the thermostat was turned way down. The bed was at an angle and to watch the TV in bed meant getting a crick in the neck. I do not think I have ever seen a smaller bathroom than the one I had. You could sit on the toilet, wash your feet in the bath and brush your teeth in the basin all at the same time if you had wanted to! The food wasn't brilliant and the choices were poor, but I was travelling with a group and we had a buffet dinner provided. We had vegetarians in our group and I have an allergy to chilli so the choice of chicken curry or some kind of white fish wasn't very good (I hate fish!). There were not many staff around but those that were there seemed very helpful. The breakfast was sufficient but there were a few complaints when it was discovered the English Breakfast tea had run out! It is extremely handy for the main station though

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 372weatherwax15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear 372weatherwax15,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As dinner buffet we offer a salad buffet, a soup, two main courses and a selection of cheese and desserts. Unfortunately we did not meet your taste and we apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

As our rooms are all slightly different in size and furnishing we will make a note, that you prefer a spacious room for your next stay.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future to convince you of our service.

Best regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel twice over the last couple of years. It's a great location right next to the train station, so perfect if you are just stopping over for a night. The train station is a noisy place though, so it's not the quietest night sleep. We also found the rooms quite hot and stuffy this time round and it seemed impossible to tune the thermostat to a reasonable temperature. We also had a bad surprise with breakfast. When we checked it I was certain I was told breakfast for Euros 6.50 per person. I'm a native German speaker, so I'm pretty sure I understood what she was saying. As that seemed reasonable we decided to add breakfast on. When we arrived in the breakfast room, we were presented with a piece of paper stating that breakfast was Euros 19.50 and as it said "two persons" at the top of the sheet, we assumed that the price was for the two of us. At check-out we were then told that it was Euros 19.50 per person. We were horrified! It was all very misleading and based on that, I would not stay at the hotel again. It's a good spot, for a quick one night stop-over, but I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays as it is noisy and the standard rooms at least are very small and stuffy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Diana V,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We offer two different breakfast, the buffet breakfast for EUR 19,00 or a small breakfast for EUR 4,80. We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the breakfast price and any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you.

We hope to get another chance to convince you of our service and would be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Cologne.

Best regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Best Western in Cologne has an extremely good atmosphere, and a good service. The staff is always hey very helpful and friendly and will do everything to meet your requests. The location of the place is good, close to a lot of shops and a metro station. The rooms are clean, bright and spacious and beds are very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for any stay in Berlin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear CMS00,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and all on the team say a very heartfelt thank you!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln soon,

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here one night on a business trip. My rating is strongly influenced by the location of this hotel which is very convenient to explore the pedestrian area or when you arrive by train. The hotel is situated across the main train station.

What I liked
- location, location, location
- Really great (one of the best I ever had) breakfast
- Very quiet despite the location across the train station - the windows must be isolated really good
- Free WiFi and speed ok
- Nice bar setup serving Koelsch beer and a great selection of other beverages
- Friendly service people

What I did not like
- small rooms (but understandable considering the location)
- breakfast very expensive (19 EUR) so make sure you book in advance
- a bit run down with cracks in the tub, sink and furniture
- NO PARKING though advertised on the website (one star down). When you ask reception they actually send you to park in the Marriott garage which is about 300m away. Strange they send you to the competitors and not sure what the Marriott thinks about it. Also not sure why the mention parking on the website when there is really NONE available.

I would stay here again but only if I don't arrive by car.

Room Tip: Book breakfast with your rate or be ready to pay 19 EUR! Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear teaki78089,

We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our accommodations and we look forward to you visiting us again during your next visit to Cologne.

Best regards

Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have used this hotel quite a few times when it was the Four Points. Now it is a Best Western I thought it would have had a makeover but no.

The room I had was a good size althought the bathroom was quite small. It was clean and fairly quiet as it was the end of the corridor.

However the lifts are still useless and in sad need of refurbishment and the breakfast expensive. Being near the station means that there are cheap alternatives nearby.

However the location is good and now that the new underground station is nearly finished it is more accessible. Would stay there again for the location if nothing else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear NigelHa,

Thank you most sincerely for your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#95 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Koeln

Property: Wyndham Koeln
Address: Breslauer Platz 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 131 rooms at our Cologne hotel enjoy a comfortable and modern design. Sound-proof windows and air conditioning ensure perfect sleeping comfort. Our hotel guests have free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel. Relax in the hotel bar with a cool "Kölsch" beer or a sparkling cocktail. The WYNDHAM Köln 's summer terrace is the perfect place to socialise in the summer months. The WYNDHAM Köln is located at the heart of the city, across from the Cathedral and central railway station. Cologne, the fascinating Rhine metropolis: 2000 years of rich history, gathering ground for people from around the globe, home to a vibrant art and culture scene of Cologne and extensive shopping miles, with a picturesque historic district and the trade fair grounds - all within just a few minutes' walking distance. In summer you can enjoy the view from the hotel terrace at the heart of Cologne while the city's night life pulsates outside. Relax with a cool Kölsch beer or a sparkling cocktail in the hotel bar "Le Perron" or on the terrace. Our hotel rooms are ideal for business travellers and visitors planning a short trip to Cologne. Our hotel's comfortable beds ensure a good night's sleep and tempt every guest to have a lie-in. The free WiFi internet connection in the rooms keeps you in touch with your colleagues, friends and family at any time of the day or night. All rooms are equipped with a desk, telephone, flatscreen TV and a safe deposit box. A free bottle of mineral water is on hand as refreshment. A kettle and a selection of teas & coffees provide you a relaxed start to the morning at the WYNDHAM Köln. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wyndham Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Hotel Cologne
Four Points Cologne
Sheraton Cologne
Cologne Four Points
Cologne Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing