We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Koeln
Nearby Hotels
$171
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$73
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$77
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveler rating
188
389
305
92
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
389
305
92
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshort stayexcellent locationmain stationstayed one nightsmall bathroomcologne cathedralbeds were comfortablewalk in showerthe riverbasic hotelcouple of nightsexhibition centreeasy accessfew minutes walkbreakfast was includedold town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have used this hotel quite a few times when it was the Four Points. Now it is a Best Western I thought it would have had a makeover but no.

The room I had was a good size althought the bathroom was quite small. It was clean and fairly quiet as it was the end of the corridor.

However the lifts are still useless and in sad need of refurbishment and the breakfast expensive. Being near the station means that there are cheap alternatives nearby.

However the location is good and now that the new underground station is nearly finished it is more accessible. Would stay there again for the location if nothing else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear NigelHa,

Thank you most sincerely for your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

You know the saying it's all about "location location" if only that were true. True its close to the cathedral and within walking distance of Christmas markets and station. But it certainly wasn't the best of anything!! Tiny room with bedding that didn't fit, cushions so flat you couldn't plump em and so cold. This looked nothing like the photos, so give the man (or woman) credit for creating a perfect picture from nothing. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and considering where they get to work each day this was truly an achievement. It dates back to as old as the cathedral (or seems to). Cheap and convenient are its best qualities. A bed to rest your weary head? You won't get that here.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wowwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear wowwoo,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. As our rooms are all slightly different in size and furnishing we will make a note, that you prefer a more spacious room for your next stay. We also offer a pillow menue with 4 different pillows which are available at the front desk on request.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future to convince you of our service.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This little hotel behind the station may be part of the Best Western chain, but doesn´t look as though it´s had much love and attention since around the 70s, the decade that taste forgot. I booked online as a last resort having missed my train and needed somewhere near the station. Beware: Although it says opposite both cathedral and station, what they really mean is behind the station reached from the exit at the back.

That being said the night reception desk clerk was friendly and did his best to make my stay a pleasure. But the hotel is clearly a long way past its best, the reception desk containing a rack of spaces for keys that no longer exist. The room in this 4 star was one of the smallest it has been my pleasure to touch both walls simultaneously. And the bathroom, though clean, was designed for agrophobic midgets. But you can´t complain and getting there at midnight and leaving at six in the morning, I was grateful for any sleep that I could get.

The night clerk was still there when I left. He was friendly despite zero hours sleep. But the breakfast room was not yet open, so sadly I had to bid the place goodbye.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear SwissFrenchBrit,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Cologne for your recent stay and thank you also for your feedback. We will make a note, that you prefer a spacious room for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there for several nights commuting to a conference in Dusseldorf.
Location - Very good for commuting, just cross the street to the main railway station (****)
Rooms - When we checked in we got a terrible room which was smelly old and dirty not anything like what you think of German standards. Of course we complained and they politely changed it to a renovated room which was OK but still it left a bitter taste of pushing a bad room to new customers. Bath was good and new but the mattresses are much too soft. There was no hot water for several hours during our stay due to a faulty pipe, and we couldn't take shower that day (*)
Service was polite and efficient but not overly trying and breakfast was good and above average (***).
I gave it only (**) rating on the whole because I've stayed in Germany in (***) hotels which where more comfortable, with no hot water problems, and yet without brand name so I expected more of Best Western. If it wasn't for that they would have been given (***).
Stay there if you need quick access the the railway station and the city center. For one or two nights it's OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room not one of the old ones.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octapack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Octapack,

Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I have taken personal note of your review to share with our staff to ensure that future guest stays are nothing short of superior. These reviews are of great importance to us in allowing us to continually monitor and improve our service. We hope that you come back in the future and see how your feedback positively affected the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very basic hotel, small rooms, air-conditioning switched off in winter heating only. Gives stuffy atmosphere in hotel and rooms. Good location across railway station, but noisy with open window.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
1  Thank RVV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igottschlich, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear RVV54,
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Grand City Hotel Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We hope to see you again on the next visit.
Kind regards,
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews