We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel ever: fun rooms + great staff = memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“best hostel ever: fun rooms + great staff = memorable stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. The room was fun and quirky. We had the Bollywood themed room and it was so colourful and warm. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The common area was a comfortable place to enjoy a cup of tea. The friendly staff really made this place special. They gave us great tips for local breweries and places to eat. We recommend Coco Schmitz for great breakfast and lunches. Cologne isn't the biggest city so you can definitely get around on foot from here. Come before Christmas markets take over the city. They are definitely some of the best in Europe. Can't wait to come back here!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    49
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
47
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I'm just back from a 3 night stay in a dorm here and I loved every minute of it. The hostel has a great location in between 2 tram stops - it's 2minutes walk from Rudolfsplatz with restaurants, bars supermarkets and shops, plus the trams and U bahn. The hostel is on the 6th floor there is no noise from outside and it's very secure as you need your key to get up to the floor and into your room. It's staffed from 8am to 8pm and there's a bar/cafe downstairs if you need anything after this. The dorm room is fab - it only has 8 beds which are double mattresses and have curtains across for privacy and a handy shelf and light so you can keep drinks/books close at hand. The lockers are huge and could fit your whole rucksack in, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean - with enough room in the shower room to get changed and a huge mirror and plenty of sockets for hairdryers/straighteners. The decor is lovely, very stylish and there's a comfy lounge with sofa, table chairs etc. There's no kitchen facilities other than plates, cutlery, coffee facilities etc but plenty of cafes and Lidl & Netto close by to buy fresh bakery items and drinks. The staff were very helpful with information and the transport links are so close. I walked to the main shopping area of the city easily in 10minutes and had dinner in the handy Vapiano restaurant at Rudolfsplatz (I love Vapiano so this made me very happy!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is just an amazing hostel!

We've arrived in the 2nd day of Christmas, the 26th, and we are still happily greeted by a wonderful lady at 10 am in the morning - in other places I guess i would've been a gloomy face and the smell of beer and cigarettes.

Well other things aside, the hostel is well located in Rudolfplatz, not far from the shopping center and definitely in walking distance to the Dom and Hauftbahnhof of Köln. No breakfast is provided, but a coffe machine and tea is always available - and as an Asian who constantly need hot water this is really confortable.

Lastly but definitely not least, the ROOM! Simply AWESOME! We stayed in two beds of the 8-bed dorm names the "shakesperonas", which is one of the 8-ish rooms designed entirely by the young owners of this hostel. For everyone you'll have a locker, a huge bed, and bed-side lamp, a plug, a simple shelf and curtains over the bed. Basically it's never been better than this. The bathrooms, showers are also well functioning and clean.

I would definitely be visiting here again, even not for the city and just for this wonderfully lovely hostel of Köln.

Room Tip: the 8-person dorm is definitely great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James-Tsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a hostel with a bit of character, comfy, clean and in a good location. Prices are reasonable and the dorm setup is good and private, kinda like pods, so you have your own space with a curtain and secure lockers next to your bed for luggage. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliansOnTour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We visited Cologne in October and stayed here one night. The room and bathrooms (shared) were clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful, providing maps and information on Cologne. The Hostel is not located in the very center, but using the tram/train network makes it easy to get around, maybe a 5 minute ride into the main area, trams come frequently. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadie688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My girlfriend booked this place as a surprise, and a surprise it certainly was. The rooms are lovingly decorated, each completely different to the last. There are no private bathrooms but the shared ones were plentiful and spotless. There is free tea and (very good) coffee in the living room, and although there were no towels in our room, we were provided with some the second we asked. We stayed in Paul's room, which has a raised bed which is level with the window, so you can watch the city go by from your bed. A really cool place, in a great location (on Saturday night the streets all around were filled with very cheery revellers, but the atmosphere remained friendly). Just one street north is Aachen Straße, which has loads of restaurants which looked good (we ate in Bar Tabac, which was good too). The guy at reception recommended the Burger bar just east of Bar Tabac, which was packed and looked amazing. A really good place to stay in Cologne.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great (they let us have a look around the empty rooms) and all are totally indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbdrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

To this day we still will not even try how to pronounce this hotel's name but we surely won't forget our stay here. We stayed in April 2011 when the hotel is just 6mos old. Guido, the very nice and helpful owner saw how interested i am in checking out the other rooms that he gave me the grand tour. The photos here are the exact depiction of the actual rooms. No photoshop magic there! Each room has it's own interesting character. We stayed in the Emilia room which is perfectly romantic for our honeymoon. To cap off the room's romantic atmosphere, we were even given a huuuuge bottle of wine to celebrate our special vacation.

There are several toilets, showers and bathrooms strewn across the floor. All are kept pristine. Even the bathrooms have their own character! And what great coffee they have in the common room that is available anytime of the day. They also have numerous films and books you could borrow or even take with you as long as you leave something behind as well.

The hotel is at the 6th floor of the building and at the ground floor is a bar/cafe from the same owner. It is also a wonderful atmosphere inside, with mismatched furnitures that made up the uniqueness and the place. We left our windows open at night and could hear sounds from the people outside the cafe, it is not enough to bother us too much though. But if you are a light sleeper, we suggest you close your windows or request for a room not facing the cafe side of the street.

The hotel's location is excellent. Walking distance from most if not all the attractions. The metro is also just a block away for the lazy bones. I have nothing but great things to say about the hotel, Guido and his staff. They truly take loving care of their place and their guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimerald_Evangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#9 of 261 in Cologne
745 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,359 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 261 in Cologne
527 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel

Property: Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel
Address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 39, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hostel "die wohngemeinschaft", the hostel for special live-in experiences in Cologne's creative center, the "Belgische Viertel". Feel like you're at home in one of our 8 rooms, which are unmistakably unique and full of charming details. The Wohngemeinschaft isn't just a hostel but also a cafe-bar as well as a theater. We are conveniently located amongst other Bars, Clubs, Restaurants, small shops, Galleries, Theaters and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Die Wohngemeinschaft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing