We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Chocolate Museum
from $14.09
More Info
from $12.40
More Info
from $27.06
More Info
from $32.13
More Info
Reviews (4,988)
Filter reviews
4,917 results
Traveler rating
1,836
1,768
957
248
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,836
1,768
957
248
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate fountain free samples cocoa beans production line make your own design your own gift shop manufacturing process whole process create your own interactive displays rainy day waffles couple of hours rhine river christmas market lindt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 4,917 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2015

Spend an hour finding out about the making of chocolate and then try out the resturant for a hot drink on a cold december shopping day.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank LongfordGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

This was the most serious place we visited in our time in Cologne. I expected a dash of Willy Wonka on the place but it was basically an encyclopedia of chocolate spread across several floors.

nowt wrong with that... but it's a chocolate museum jeez man you'd expect it to be a little bit fun.

The manufacturing part with working machines was interesting, as was the fake tropical rainforest and is worth a look.

We were most interested in the advertised "make your own chocolate bar" however it's more like order your own chocolate bar, and there was a previously unmentioned 45 minute wait, and it was right at the end of the tour. Oops

Long story short, interesting, but boring.

2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2015

The chocolate museum is nicely located along the river and easy to find. Entry is a bit steep for what you get we though (€9) it is not over expensive, but as travellers going round the whole of Europe, we have had better experiences in other museums for half the price.
The museum itself contains a lot of information regarding the production of chocolate, and the history, which is good.
The production is alive with all the moving components, but in no way interactive, you just get to look, at other chocolate museums we had visited in the past you get involved.
The 'chocolate fountain' does look cool, but the waffle/cookies that were described that you get to dip in the fountain are merely cheap wafer type biscuits.....?
The upstairs of the museum is more for kids, with a few games etc, and some old chocolate memorabilia. But after that we swiftly moved on as it was getting less interesting.

For some I can Imagine this would be a great place to visit, unfortunately not for us. Better things to visit in Cologne.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank gman_waddy_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2015

The musesum is great for any chocolate lover, regardless of the age! What is so nice about it is that it is not actually a factory, but still shows you how the chocolate is being made. At the same time there is a lot of information about the chocolate, where and how it originates and all processes until it ends up to the chocolate that we know. In the history part there are specially designed reading texts for children so they do not get tired and bored! Of course, the chocolate fountatin is great, but what made me the most significant impression is that on few times it was undelrined to what extent child labour is being used to produce chocolate!! This is why at the chocolate shop at the exit there is a great variety of different chocolate offered only by organizations that do not use child labour - make sure you do not miss it!

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank martinab381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015

It is not the cheapest museum at around 9 euro. However it does contain several levels of exhibits, some interactive and a lot of reading that you can do.

Upstairs there are some of the very old chocolate vending machines and old artifacts from the aztec/mayan/other tribes that relate to chocolate.

There is also a chocolate shop out the front, if you don't have an interest in the history of chocolate you will likely be bored with this museum quite quickly!

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank somecsstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews