We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer, good food and good service”
Review of Gilden Brauhaus

Gilden Brauhaus
Ranked #65 of 2,385 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mülheim
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food and good service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night in the adjacent hotel, en route to Dessau. My partner had visited the Gilden Brauhaus previously so knew that as a vegetarian there would be something I could eat. OK, you're not as a veggie going to gets loads of choice, and the usual European staples are your options, but the beer more than made up for this (as did the dessert).
The huge salads are really good value too.
Our meal cost 48.10 euros, which included one main meal meal, two large salad platters, one veggie main (baked camembert), one dessert, 4 beers (particularly recommend the Kolsch) and two schnapps.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vwbeetle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    79
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A really good place to spend an evening. Good food at reasonable prices and staff who are always friendly and very welcoming. We visited there most evenings of our six night stay in Cologne and would definitely recommend it. Wouldn't hesitate to visit again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place right next to our hotel. Fantastic atmosphere in and out as you can seat inside or in the beer garden outside. Massive portion of fine german food including famous wurst german sausages and of course great german beer. Definitely would come back. Best gastro pub in Cologne

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHALKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awesome food, outstanding service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Menu in english available, Kölsch on tap.
Helpful staff, fast and pleasant service.
Local food served, daily menu, both excellent quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 0picak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very friendly.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

As non German speakers, we were made to feel extremely welcome and given an English translation menu which was very useful. We were staying at the best western hotel which has its own restaurant, these two are not to be confused. I had the 500g steak and it was juicy and delicious. We would definitely come back if just for the staff who were attentive and entertaining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jez34140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilden Brauhaus also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Gilden Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing