We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very fast!”
Review of Maredo Steakhouse

Maredo Steakhouse
Ranked #1,147 of 2,385 Restaurants in Cologne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
409 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“very fast!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

if you are in a hurry - they do an excellent job. Starters (pork sticks and onion rings) came very fast. We just finished them and our steaks arrived. We had no time to make our choice and the salad buffet. Lucky it was a hot evening and the steaks are still hot on the hot plate. The steak was only average and more medium than the ordered english style. So the chef took his time at the wrong end. Service was good - but we hat the feeling that they want to be a fast food restaurant. It is a nice place at "Heumarkt". But nobody stays long.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    143
    110
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not good”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The meat was good, I took some fajitas (a lot of vegetables but not a lot of meat).
What disappoints me a little bit: you have to pay for every extra. If you want sauce for the meat, you have to pay it, if you want salad or fries with your piece of meat, you have to pay it, and so on. At the end, the bill is quite high. It would be a reasonnable price if the meal is good, but it's just random food. So I think that it is to expensive for what it is. The location is okay, but it looks more like a cafeteria.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orchideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Really disappointing visit”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Four of us visited and were left feeling let down by both the food and the service.

over the last ten years i have visited many Maredo restaurants in Germany and Austria and i have to say this is one of, if not the worst. The food was undercooked and totally lacking the flavour expected at Maredos. The service was truly awful; no attempt at eye contact and little at dialogue. We even had to ask three times to pay, however at an adjacent table things were even worse. While our food was eatable, though not enjoyable, our neighbouring table sent back two steaks!

They have probably had better days!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
689 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“we love it”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

we love to have a steak so close to the hotel, so we walked to Maredo and we had a very good service, normal steak, good and clean location. No complaints at all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a steak”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Steak was OK, service was quick, that's what you get. Poor side dish, cafeteria style interior. Unlees you absolutely need to have a steak you should find somewhere else to go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bkcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maredo Steakhouse also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Maredo Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing