We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local spot and delicious food”
Review of Max Stark

Max Stark
Ranked #15 of 2,385 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local spot and delicious food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place was recommended by our hotel, the Marriott, which was a short walk. We went two nights in a row. The first night we were lucky because it was Tuesday and they do fresh potato pancakes on Tuesday only. There was no where to sit as it a tiny place but you can sit with strangers which we did and and had a great conversation with a local. My hubby had the potato pancakes with applesauce and I had the goulash. Delicious!

The next night we went back and hubby had Wiener schnitzel and I had sautéed mushrooms with garlic sour cream. So awesome. Why can't I get this in Texas? Yummy!

Great local place. I love this type of tiny place where you can experience the neighborhood and not the tourist traps.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    125
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A proper German bar”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Domstern and this friendly bar us just round the corner. Frequented by locals which is a good sign. Excellent beer and basic but good quality food and very good price. We really liked the atmosphere of this bar away from the tacky central bars. Would recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NessN233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to lose count of how many Kölsh you had had”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This pub is the best of the bunch in cologne. Its very simple, cheap and excellent beer and food in a rustic setting. Tries several pubs in cologne and this one stands out from the rest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lew90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Jovial buzzing atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

A short walk from our hotel Domstern. Very characteristic German pub atmosphere. Food was good for pub food. The beer was good. It was quite noisy as you would expect from a busy pub. Good value. An interesting German experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Traditional and homely”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A great place to come for good traditional beer and food. Friendly service, lovely food and a fine example of the Kolsch experience!
Well worth walking out from the town centre to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohnonotagain42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Stark also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Max Stark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing