We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too pricy for the food they serve”

Luciano Il Ristorante
Ranked #484 of 2,367 Restaurants in Cologne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too pricy for the food they serve”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went there on a business dinner (three people). Our food was mediocre to say the least. We all ordered fish and the flavors were very flat and un-interesting. The portions were quite small so we ordered bread a couple of times... The service was good and the waitors friendly. The big surprise was the check! It was very pricy for what ate. Sorry Luciano, but I will try to find another Italian restaurant next time I am in Cologne.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dinner was delicious but afterwards, I was rather forgotten except for giving me the bill...no dessert?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was looking for another restaurant but thought this was it. Found out after I left that the restaurant I wanted was actually across the street. I arrived 15 minutes too early however being that it was chilly outside, A waiter came to me and said that I was too early. I asked if I could sit inside until they officially opened. After looking hesitant, he seated me. The waiter was Rosario. After asking what his name was in German, he laughed because he could tell I was American. I had just learned that phrase today.

Rosario gave me an English menu. The only thing that appealed to me were the lamb chops with garlic and herbs. Cost 27 Euros. He brought bread with a spread and olives to my table. I asked if I could have some water. My bill said the bottle cost 4.50 Euros. I couldn't even drink all of it so that was money wasted. It seems to be difficult to just get a glass of tap water.

I must say that the meal was delicious...6 small lamb chops and spinach. After asking how my dinner was and I said it was very good, Rosario left and never came back to see if I wanted dessert. Another waiter brought the bill then came back to take my cash. If Rosario had come back, I was going to give him a 5 Euro tip but seeing he never approached my table again or said goodbye, I kept the tip. I wasn't going to give it the waiter who came only to give me my bill.

By the time I was finished with my dinner, the restaurant was about 3/4 full. They do a great business but they cater to those repeat customers they know. I can understand that. After all, I'm leaving tomorrow for Berlin and won't be dining in their restaurant. However, they don't know that. I might have visited Cologne often and might have become a frequent customer.

31.50 Euros for dinner however, I won't forget my delicious meal...even without dessert. Guess, I didn't need it anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food but overcrowded and pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

They refused to accept payment with a credit card saying that card was declined by the bank. Food is good but overpriced and waiting time is not always reasonable. In my estimation 5 waiters are serving around 60 guests. They are doing their job virtuously but obviously facility is understaffed! Free tapas with vine. Refusal to get payment via credit card was truly unpleasant experience and spoiled that evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must have met the wrong member of staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I didn't even get as far as dining here. The man who served me was very rude about my British accent (I still do speak fluent German though). He was speaking in a slow, patronising voice and had no interest in being polite- just shoving the specials board in my face and being rude............so I left...This might be a nice place but I will never know!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizWhitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I dined at this restaurant twice in a row. It was close to my hotel and my customers liked it.
Italian staff, Menu on a board that is brought to your table. Twice ate fish, very good. Wine selection good. Not tried the dessert. Very busy, better to reserve. Has outside tables with some heating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abukalam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciano Il Ristorante also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Luciano Il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing