We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luciano Il Ristorante

Luciano Il Ristorante
Ranked #471 of 2,347 Restaurants in Cologne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great italian restaurant - very little english spoken - but that did not matter. Food consistently good from course to course. Prices reasonable. Obviously popular - book early.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 22jaycross22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Luciano's with 3 business associate and we had a great evening! The restaurant was full, but after some pleadings he found room for us. We had marinated salmon, viejas and shrimp for starter, lamb, veal and blue cheese pasta. The food was exquisite, no mention the viejas with spinach in a buttery suave- divine! The wine, a suggestion on the house was also excellent! No wonder why my mouth is watering!

Helpful?
Thank Ma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine and authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The menu is presented on a blackboard and reflects all that is good about Italian cuisine - well cooked pasta, flavoursome meat and fresh seafood. Knowledgeable waiters and chefs who are always flexible to accomodate your tastes make this a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have you ever had this feeling of reminiscence, returning to a restaurant after, say, ten years, and finding that nothing has changed? The exact same waiters, exactly the same lay-out, exactly the same menu? You feel at home right away, right?
That’s what happened to me returning to an Italian restaurant in Cologne after many years. It’s a cozy little place on Marzellenstrasse near the central railway station, called Luciano. And it’s like time froze over until I returned.
The choices are still chalked on a blackboard shaped like a painter’s easle and they haven’t changed the menu for a decade. I had garlic shrimp as a starter, fried veal’s kidney in a mustard sauce with garlic spaghetti as the entrée and a cheese platter for dessert: an absolute marvel throughout, although some of you may want to throw up just reading this. A Sicilian red wine (Regaleali) topped it off and I was absolutely great!
The only - minor - drawback was, the four (!) waiters had nothing else to do but to keep pooring my wine and water since there were only 5 other patrons dining, so after each sip they kept topping the glasses up. Still, their friendliness made up for it and, what's more, the music was really tranquil.
Not a cheap place though, since I had to pay around € 100 including a tip. Still. I think that’s worth it. Go on, try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
375 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I tried this restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and was very disappointed. Italian restaurants are usually a safe bet for a good value meal with friendly service. However this place was ridiculously overpriced - starters at least 15 euros each, main courses 20 euros or more. The service was unfriendly, they made no effort to make me feel welcome, and refused to allow me to pay by credit card.

Anyone travelling on a budget should avoid this restaurant - maybe they are more welcoming to business travellers with generous expense accounts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciano Il Ristorante also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Luciano Il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing