We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Cathedral, a good break from the sausages and beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Da Damiano

Ristorante Da Damiano
Ranked #125 of 2,347 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Close to the Cathedral, a good break from the sausages and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

While I'm not a big fan of german food, I admit they make the best sausages and beer in the world. But after a few days, you're ready for something else. Considering that GErmany is filled with Italian imigrants and italian restaurants, there are many great options, and this is certainly one of them. Of course it helps to speak to them in italian, but you'll definitely eat well here. They had great antipasti, pasta with truffles and excellent desserts. Also good wines by the glass as well.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    45
    10
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good food ,but a little lacking in atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Next door to Luciano's, but not as atmospheric. Excellent food, but staff seemed a little disinterested.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Plan for a long stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is my second visit to Da Damiano. Both times my party let the host and hostest make most of the decisons for us - wine, appetizers... Their choices were excellent and they did not go straight to the top of the price list. Plan on a relaxed, delightful, memorable meal lasting about 3 hours. There is no pressure to hurry and clear the table for another party. This is a terrific restaurant. Expect to pay $75 to $125 per person and feel that you got a bargain.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NattyClevelandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I have recently visited the Da Damiano during a business trip with a friend. The restaurant is nice. Small but cultivated. The food has a good quality.

However I cannot share most of the enthusiastic opinions on this page. I did not find the restaurant to be that special. The location next to main railway station in cologne is everything but beautiful. It looks like a suburb.

The price per person is about 70€ including a drink.

The service was the most annoying thing because he was not very professional. They do not have any card so the waiter is just telling you what the todays menu is. So far OK. The annoying thing is that you have to ask for every single price ... because he is not telling you any prices. This is somewhat embarassing and in the end you order without to know what it will cost you.

In the course of the evening the waiter made also two major faults. First he forgot many of our starters. Then it was not possible to get them. The he confused the main dish of my friend and we had to return it. So I was forced to wait for him to bring the new dish.

When it came to the payment the waiter returned me also less money than I expected. I did not mention this to him because I was already fed up.

So this is my experiance. I had better evenings for less money.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the_real_Kosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Always Numero 1!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Once again we had the opportunity to celebrate our team outing (Christmas party) at the Restaurant „Da Damiano“. It was again fabulous!
The kitchen is very impressive. We started with a delicate pumpkin soup and then a nice crepes-bundle with ricotta cheese and pistachio. Before to get the main course, we had the possibility l to try really well made Ravioli with wild boar ragu. The main course was a great success: prawn, salmon and crayfish with asparagus and chestnut mousse. Really superb! At the end a hot chocolate muffin, which was worthy to close an evening full of masterpieces of the gastronomic world!
All that accompanied by the friendliness and professionalism of the Damiano’s Family.
P.S.: Damiano is opening an enoteca next to the Restaurant. I am really looking forward to go there!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Damiano also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Ristorante Da Damiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing