We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms in a central location”
Review of art'otel cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Ranked #30 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms in a central location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Located by the river within walking distance of the main rail station (Koln Hbf), next to the Chocolate Museum and near the older part of the city. The rooms are quite new and reasonably large, with new fittings and new rain showers. The rooms I have stayed in also gave a different piece of art on the walls, making every room a little bit different. There are also some good facilities such as a sauna room and a restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review.
We all hope to see you back again in 2014.

Regards,

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    422
    171
    59
    33
See reviews for
76
396
54
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had booked a queen room and we did not think it was particularly "queen like" when we arrived for one night on 18 Oct. We were taken downstairs by Manfred who was working on the 4th Floor who was amazingly helpful, and put us at our ease instantly. We moved to another room but the wifi did not work and upgraded to a suite where the wifi was better but not great. The room was superb and very quirky overlooking the railway bridge and the motorway but we never heard a sound in our room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and check out in the morning was a breeze. Breakfast was avoided as we considered it too costly and we had loaded up on coffee from the most excellent machine in our room before we left. Parking underneath the hotel is very convenient and secure.
Ineke and Alan

Room Tip: Check that wifi works. It does in the lobby but seemingly not in every room. The views of "the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the lovely comments about Manfred, and sorry that you had a few niggles to sart with.

Look forward to meeting you next time you return to Cologne.

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved this artsy little hotel. Check out the artwork throughout the hotel. Clean, friendly, and modern. Space was compact but great for Cologne standards. Decor was gorgeous and modern.
On the Rhine, next to the Chocolate museum, and stops for all tours. I liked the space of it as opposed to the cramped, crowded accommodations elsewhere. Great bar and restaurant on ground floor with amazing entertainment at night. Great spot for that last Kolsch of the day and a bit of relaxation before bed. Prettiest showers I have ever seen. Pricey but well worth the feeling of space after a day of cramped and busy streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveler245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

What a lovely review. Thanks so much for your appreciation of the hotel.
Hope to see you return soon.

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Viewed from the exterior, it looked dreary and dissapointing, but once you stepped into the lobby you're greeted by an explosion of colours - furniture/art works - and a very efficient yet friendly staff. 2 couples, 2 different booking sites, same rates, but our friends were given a road facing room , which was quickly changed to one next to us and facing the Rhine.
They had glass panels separating the shower from the bedroom - luckily opaque and coloured like a stain glass (uncomfortable to have sheer/plain/transparent panel if sharing with friends!).
Took me a while to get used to the washbasin being in the bedroom.
Coffee maker - yes!
Housekeeping could have been a little more diligent - coffee maker was not very clean.
Carpets also looked like they needed a good wash.
Less than 15mins slow leisurely walk along the Rhine to the city centre and the Cathedral.
And for those attending trade fairs, there is a tram service from the city centre.
Only gripe is the slow speed of the free internet service.

Room Tip: Our friends room windows were shaded a "sickly/slightly nauseous yellow" whereas ours was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneSequerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for another perfect review!

I sincerely hope you will return again soon!

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Love this hotel. The style is very "quirky" and the hotel doesn't look much from the outside. I've stayed twice and upgraded to an Art XL room, a corner room. With views towards the aRhine and the Chocolate museum. The rooms are a good size, with decent quality furnishings, albeit it lots of white. The beds are comfortable and clean,and the bathrooms are long with plenty of room.

There is a coffee maker and a little fridge with some beer and soft drinks (chargeable).

The only downside so far is the choice of English language TV channels... They are restricted to News only.

The staff are wonderfully friendly.... Almost flirty.. But respectfully just stopping short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degsyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer


Thanks for the perfect review!

I think our arty staff are our greatest asset, and I am sure they don't mean to be flirty- its just that compared to the normal boring, cookie cutter chain hotels our team do seem to actually care and enjoy talking to guests!


Cheers,


Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great stay at this nice modern hotel. It's near the chocolate museum and about a 10 minute walk along the Rhine to the cathedral.

The staff were really helpful.

The bedroom was very cleverly designed with a long desk with the wash basin at one end and a nice separate shower room.

The art element was the pictures on the walls which are all by the same artist and generally the design of the hotel was light and fresh.

The carpet could have done with a clean and we had to ask for our wash basin to be properly cleaned. Having said that, we would happily stay there again. Three days was not enough to see all there is to see in Cologne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,


Great review thanks.

We will watch the issue in the room carefully, and Sophie the Executive Housekeeper says sorry!

Cheers,


Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#17 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#11 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Property: art'otel cologne
Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#45 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiration’s everywhere at art’otel cologne. We’re opposite the Chocolate Museum in the Rheinau docks and a short walk from the World Heritage Cologne Cathedral. Visit the Altstadt (Old Town) to discover the Römisch-Germanisches Museum and the Wallraf Richartz and Ludwig Museum. You’ll enjoy 218 guestrooms, many with coloured cubes overlooking the harbour, Pan-Asian cuisine in our award-winning Chino Latino restaurant, an indulgent sauna and signature cocktails on our alfresco patio surrounded by SEO’s artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing