We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Star at Town Hall”
Review of Stern am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stern am Rathaus
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Star at Town Hall”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel Stern am Rathaus, (Cologne, Germany) is truly the "Star at Town Hall". Located on a quiet dead-ended side street next to the old Rathaus (Town Hall) in the center of old Cologne and within easy walking distance of the Main Train station, the Cathedral, the Philharmonie, Museum Ludwig, the Römisch-Germanisches Museum, the numerous restaurants and cafes of the Alte Markt and Heumarkt, and a slightly longer walk from the main shopping streets this "Star" couldn't have a more ideal location.

This is a small place, just four floors with a total of seven rooms. The decor is lean, clean modern - colors are mostly white with lots of blacks and reds too. The room we were in, the suite on the top floor, was incredibly huge.

On the ground floor is the breakfast room, in which is offered an extensive, largely organic breakfast buffet of locally produced foods - anything one could want - cereals, yoghurts, breads, cheeses, meats, eggs,fruits, etc - and including a large selection of juices and fruit/veggie smoothies. Keep an eye out for homemade treats, such as Beckie's "Armer Ritter" (Poor Knight), a delicious concoction similar to English Trifle or Italian Zuppe Inglese.

The small staff is professional but laidback and hip - and at all times friendly and helpful.

The rates are quite reasonable. We booked well ahead of our stay and got the suite for around 90 euros per night - a real bargain!

One caveat (not for us really) - there is no lift. So those who have trouble with climbing stairs should keep this in mind.

Room Tip: If you book go for the suite on the top floor. It is definitely worth the few extra euros. It is dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-n-Nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    101
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
321
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed in room no. 1 from April 5 to 11.

I agree with all the positive reviews here. Rooms are very comfortable and the decor is excellent. The quality of food offered at the breakfast buffet is very high - everything either home made or locally produced. The hotel is located at the most convenient place, yet away from the noise. The people are extremely nice and helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokaimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great location, not far from the Cathedral. We thought the Hotel Stern am Rathaus offered good value for money for a suite
Excellent amenities in the split level room, fairly quiet for a city Hotel....
The large bed was very comfortable and also the room has an excellent luxury bathroom with a large wet-room style shower and a big bath.
Our room rate included the delicious breakfast with eggs cooked to order and a good choice of other breakfast items..Home-made jam, lovely breads, fruit, yogurt etc:
We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel very much
No lift.... so a few stairs to go up to the suite at the top of the building......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel looks somewhat boring from the outside, but don't be fooled by this. Once you step inside, you are met with friendly professionality, the rooms are newly renovated, breakfast is wonderful and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reindeer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

First of all, the hotel sent reminder of the upcoming stay. It also showed clear direction (with pictures) to the hotel. A little bit of walk from the train station but hotel location is close to the main shopping streets. We arrived early that day when the room was not ready. We took a walk around town first and later found pieces our heavy luggage were up in the room. Note that there is no lift in the boutique hotel. We found the service warm and friendly, in particular, there is a gentleman who offered good suggestions of places to visit.

I booked through Expedia for a 3-person room because the hotel website did not have this selection. Suggest that you contact the hotel direct. Room is not large for three person though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484PasirRis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for four nights in March. Staff were warm and helpful. Room was comfortable with UK charging facility as an extra. Location could not be faulted with easy access to the Altstadt and all the sights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroxham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This boutique hotel certainly lives up to its reputation. We booked the suite at the top of the hotel and it exceeded our expectations ( although you need to be fit as there is no lift ! ). The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom quite luxurious. The breakfasts provided interesting, home-made options with a variety of breads and daily smoothies. We were also provided with suggestions of places to visit each day and these proved to be immensely rewarding e.g. Konigswinter, Drachenburg, and Zons. The staff were helpful and efficient, so we would definitely recommend this as a brilliant place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penjondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,312 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stern am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stern am Rathaus

Property: Stern am Rathaus
Address: Buergerstr. 6, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Rathaus)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stern am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our hotel in the heart of the historic city center in a quiet side street, close to the historic city hall. Stern am Rathaus is a small, cozy and comfortable boutique hotel & cafe in the center of Cologne close to the main station, cathedral and "Altstadt" (old town)with all major sights, museums and the shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Stern am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing