We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel”
Review of Stern am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stern am Rathaus
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great central hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights end of June into July. What a great little hotel/cafe! Rooms are a very comfortable size with modern bathrooms, LCD TV, fridge, free safe, Tea/Coffee facilities on request and free WiFi. The cafe (Where you have breakfast) is bright due to natural night from the big glass doors at the front. Excellent continental breakfast, Eggs available on request and the choice varies daily as the they have 'specials' from various countries. You also get a printed booklet at breakfast which includes weather info, sightseeing, places to eat etc. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and always smiling. The hotel is in a great location just off the old square. Will be re visiting in the new year :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    102
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
118
340
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cologne was the fourth stop on our "European Vacation." Hotel Stern am Rathaus was a great location for exploring Cologne. Being a triple booking, we had a suite on the top floor of the property (#7). The suite included a loft where our third had a bed prepared. This was the most privacy she has had on the trip. The double-glassed windows did a great job of nearly eliminating any street noise--even the church bells were barely audible. The suite was roomy and very comfortable. The view of the cathedral from the loft windows was impressive. The only cautionary note is that there is no elevator on the property. So, those with reduced mobility or with heavy luggage should be aware. We pack light (no check bags), so the three floors of stairs was not an issue. Breakfast each morning was very nice and was presented in a comfortable lounge on the first floor. If we visit Cologne again, we definitely will stay at Hotel Stern am Rathaus again!

Room Tip: Unit #7 is a suite with a loft. We were three staying here, but I suspect the loft would allow a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Tuscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at Stern am Rathaus for 4 nights with my daughter in June. A wonderful stay! Lovely environment. What comes across is that the staff enjoy what they are doing. Marvelous breakfast with many home made products - bread, various spreads and cheeses, honey, even home made butter! Daily updated information sheets with what's happening and the weather. A great cafe downstairs (super home made cakes) - a good place to drop in for a break in the afternoon - conveniently central but quiet. This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arrived in a thunderstorm for a three day city break, but the weather soon cleared when we walked through the front door of this small but very friendly and atmospheric accommodation. We were met by staff with smiling faces and who made us feel most welcome from the start, and throughout our entire stay. Anyway, down to business !

The location is in the heart of Cologne. A 5 minute walk from the main train station and just a couple of minutes from the cathedral. Whilst it is in a quiet side street, it is less than 100 yds from the busy town squares and market places, which is packed with restaurants, cafes and bars. Yet, you wouldn't notice it once inside your room.

Besides the transport facilities at the nearby main station, there is also a underground station (Rathaus) right next to the hotel. Then 5 minutes walk south you'll find another main terminal - Heumarkt.

The breakfast was fantastic. It was extensive and also themed. A lot of the offerings were home made or locally sourced and was simply delicious. It certainly set you up for the day.

The free Wi-Fi in the room was excellent and probably the most reliable and efficient hotel Wi-Fi I've known.

On arrival at the room we found a small packet of sweets on the pillow, and the following day, after the room was cleaned, we found a chocolate toffee. Lovely touch.

The rooms were equipped with a free safe and fridge. Tea and Coffee / kettle facilities were available on request. We took up the offer and the teas/coffee's/milk were plentiful and of a decent brand.

Our room was on the first floor and overlooked the main street outside. Whilst it was a quiet side street, the rooms were all double glazed so it was very quiet and sleep quality was excellent.

There were plenty of power points in the rooms, including a GB/UK power plug/adaptor.

The cleanliness of the hotel and rooms were impeccable. The rooms themselves were very modern, and whilst quite small (as you'd expect with a building like this), we found no problems with storage for our things.

If we had to pick fault with one thing, (in fact the ONLY thing we could find) was that the design of the shower was such that it was open plan within the bathroom, without a shower curtain. It was in an alcove and the drain didn't run fully across. We found that water would run out onto the main bathroom floor making it wet. A design fault perhaps, but not a major problem for our stay. If it was in my own house then I wouldn't be happy, but it wasn't and it was tolerable for our stay.

If we ever visit Cologne again then it is safe to say that we would go straight back to this hotel with no hesitation whatsoever. We wouldn't bother to look elsewhere as I am confident that there is nowhere else in the city that offers such fine accommodation, food and excellent service for the price. It is one of the best 3* hotels we've ever experienced and we will be telling our friends and family about it - if only to make them jealous if they can't visit themselves.

Thank you Stern Am Rathaus for making the trip to your city ever better.

PS. Ask reception if they have any buy one get one free tokens for the Chocolate Museum. They saved us 8,50!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roscotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred M, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear roscotrain,

thanks for your review of Stern am Rathaus here at tripadvisor.
I picked it for a reply, because I think you really hit the mark when describing our place
(and by the way you did it in a funny way which made us smile while reading it)!
For anyone who is unsure if our place might be right, I can only recommend to read your description before deciding.
You are also right about the shower layout, actually this keeps us busy, because after installing it, the plumbers found out, they put the drains on the wrong edge. Of course it was too late to change it and now we have to see how to deal with it.
At the moment we are testing 2 corrections (small barriers on the ground) that should solve the problem.
We are really proud of our bathrooms, we think they are gorgeous and we really do not want to ruin them by installing shower curtains.

So please come back and next time you will hopefully be able to use the shower without flooding the whole bathroom :-)
Thanks for sharing your vies and thanks for staying with us!
best regards from Michael, Manfred and the "StaR" team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The antithesis of the chain hotel - small, personable, with a great character. I arrived late and was buzzed in by someone at their sister hotel, finding a packet with keys to my room and the parking garage, and detailed instructions on how to get to the parking, etc. The room was tiny but simply wonderful in a cozy, welcoming way. The bath also small, but efficient and modern. Breakfast was excellent and the woman on duty friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to the cathedral and all the activities along the Rhine. Highly, highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: With only a handful of rooms, I am not sure there is a "best" :) I was on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred M, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Travis B.

thanks a lot for your review and for sharing your experiences.
Many guests book with us based on the feedback they read here and when we ask how they found us we hear the word tripadvisor constantly! So it matters a lot for us to learn what we did right but of course also what we could improve to further enhance our service!
Let me just pick 2 things that you mention n your review.
As we are a very small hotel with just 8 rooms we can not afford to have our front desk open 24 hours. So it is a very useful hint that everyone planing to arrive later than 8 pm sends a short notice to simplify the check in process. As you mention this procedure is very easy and of course the night shift will be available 24/7 on the phone (or via doorbell) to answer questions.
You also mention that our rooms are small and this is another important information.
Being on such a top position at tripadvisor guests sometimes think what they get is the 5 star Excelsior Hotel Ernst (ranked #1) just at a third of the cost. But we are a small hotel with small rooms and even if we try to achieve 5star service we can definitely not offer the room size or amenities of one of the leading Hotels worldwide.
But for everyone who is looking for an " antithesis of a chain hotel" as you put it, Stern am Rathaus may just be the right place!
We are definitely happy that it was for you, thanks for staying with us and thanks for recommending our place in such a friendly way!
best regards from Michael, Manfred and the whole "StaR" team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Only very small, but so well run, well positioned and well appointed. We stayed for three days and once the car was parked up (a hundred metres from the hotel in a secure covered car park arranged through the hotel) we didn't see it again until it was time to leave. You can walk everyehere from here, or catch the metro at the new Rathaus station 75 metres away. The breakfast was super, with a theme each morning, and a daily summary sheet with weather, what's on etc. There is no evening catering, but there are so many eateries within a stones throw that it really didn't matter. The old building is tastefully modernised to a high standard. Free WiFi was the icing on the cake. Very quiet for somewhere so central.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was delighted to find this comfortable, stylish and well-located hotel at such a reasonable price. The room was large and comfortable, breakfast was generous and the staff were polite and helpful. I will book again (well in advance) the next time I visit Cologne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effjayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,211 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,400 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,771 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,660 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stern am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stern am Rathaus

Property: Stern am Rathaus
Address: Buergerstr. 6, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Rathaus)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stern am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our hotel in the heart of the historic city center in a quiet side street, close to the historic city hall. Stern am Rathaus is a small, cozy and comfortable boutique hotel & cafe in the center of Cologne close to the main station, cathedral and "Altstadt" (old town)with all major sights, museums and the shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Stern am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing