We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Wow, Wow”
Review of Stern am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stern am Rathaus
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow, Wow, Wow”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked 3 nights at the Stern am Rathaus Hotel, on the Trip Advisor recommendation from previous guests. Wow what a lovely little hotel, we cannot rave about it enough. The location was excellent, the accommodation was superb, the breakfast was delicious & the staff were all extremley helpful and polite. There wasnt one single thing we could fault. We would definitely return, it made our stay in Cologne very enjoyable.Its a wonderful little hotel.........but ssssshh we want to keep it our little secret!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 212Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    101
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
321
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Stern am Rathaus and could not fault it. The location is perfect, the rooms modern and spotless and the staff extremely helpful. Breakfast was full of home made specialities and the coffee the best ever.Cologne was ideal for a 3 day visit, claudius therme, cycling and a boat trip along the Rhine all to be recommended.

Room Tip: The suite was ideal for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph59465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were very impressed with the very courteous and professional staff. Excellent location, close to everything yet far enough away from the tourist commotion. This is really a family friendly hotel. I accidentlly booked this hotel twice and unfortunately they charged me for both bookings, so be careful. (I know I will)

Room Tip: They don't have an elevator. This is a hotel for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaJolla3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred M, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear LaJolla 3160,
first of all thank you very much for your kind feedback,
it is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed our service and your stay with us at Stern am Rathaus.
As you mention your double booking I would like to point out that it is really important that all guests check their booking confirmation, especially when booking through an online channel. Usually we do not get full guest details and from some channels we do not even receive guests emails. So if there is any doubt do not hesitate to contact us directly!
If booked through our website (which by the way even includes breakfast) we have direct access to all guest details and in this case we would definitely have required about a booking if 2 rooms are booked on the same name.
Even if this information comes too late in your case it may help other guests planning to stay with us.
In your case maybe you could contact your online booking channel as the double booking obviously occured there!?
Thank you for this important information and best regards from Michael, Manfred and the "StaR" team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

stayed one night in the junior suite (2 floors!!). hotel is well maintained and clean. everything is recently renovated and really, I can't think of anything bad to say. The breakfast is very generous, espresso machine is out of this world, and the homemade products give a real nice touch. Best quality/price value I have come across in awhile. The management and staff were very warm and accommodating. If I ever find myself i Koln again, I will go straight for this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zakkutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in November whilst in Cologne for the Christmas Markets. The location is perfect - right in the centre, just two minutes from one of the main markets (you can fall asleep listening to festive music if you leave your window open!) The staff were extremely helpful, setting up a cot with linen for us and offering to bring a snack/drinks up to our room while we settled in. Breakfast was a fantastic spread each day. It's a very child-friendly hotel, but still feels like a nice place to stay if you don't have kids. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sikorsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred M, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sikorsky,

thank you very much for letting us know your impressions about our place.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate us so favourably! Reading those positive reviews we feel a need to clarify a few things about our hotel.
We run a 3 star place and even though we really try to offer outstanding personal service we want to point out for prospective guests what to expect when booking with us.
We are proud of our breakfast, we produce a lot ourself, bake our own bread, make our own butter, jam or yoghurt for example. We use regional, where ever possible organic products.
But the buffet is not huge, it offers a small and as we think delicious choice.
The same is true about other parts of the hotel, our rooms are clean nicely furnished and recently renovated- but again they are small (except for the Suite).
We just had some disappointed guests who expected something else, missing amenities like slippers, shower caps or a bathrobe. So please be aware, we are a good 3 star hotel in a great central location. If this is what you are looking for, we think you found the right place! If you like fancy big rooms with lots of amenities, 24 hour room service and a nice wellness area- Stern am Rathaus will definitely not be your best choice. Sometimes guests get a wrong impression when reading the raving reviews here at tripadvisor, so we really want to clarify what we can offer and what is beyond our possibilities!
In your case fortunately it seems we were just the perfect place for your stay, thank you so much for your kind words and best regards from all of us here at Stern am Rathaus!
Michael, Manfred
& the "StaR" team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel w my lovely icelandic wife during a business trip.
The hotel is small and clean and very well located. The lack of elevator is not a big deal (only 3 floors and the staff is ready to help you to carry your bags).
The room itself was nothing special (clean, comfy bed but a little small overall....and the column right in front of you when you enter the room is kinda weird....). What really makes the difference though:
- the staff: always extremely kind and available to give you hints/advices;
- the breakfast: excellent fresh home mode products (bread, jams, yogurt, fruit salad....) to get a nice morning-start.
I will definitely return there if I happen to visit Kohln again! Kisses to my lovely icelandic wife.... TOURILOUUUUU!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is centrally located within close walking distances to Central train station, The Dome, U bahn stations, main Shopping street (Hohe strasse) and the Riehn bank. The staff is helpful (every request we asked for was taken care of), the design of the hotel is modern (nice!), very clean (room and bathroom) and well maintained. breakfast was great. Tourist must consider that there is no lift (3 stories) no safe in the room and no receptionist at night. We didn't see any problem with that. Altogether - great value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MB20011954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,313 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,740 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 260 in Cologne
1,618 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stern am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stern am Rathaus

Property: Stern am Rathaus
Address: Buergerstr. 6, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Rathaus)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stern am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our hotel in the heart of the historic city center in a quiet side street, close to the historic city hall. Stern am Rathaus is a small, cozy and comfortable boutique hotel & cafe in the center of Cologne close to the main station, cathedral and "Altstadt" (old town)with all major sights, museums and the shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Stern am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing