We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean rooms and friendly staff”
Review of Stern am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stern am Rathaus
Ranked #1 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location within easy walking of all the key sites in Cologne. Breakfast was included and was fresh with lots of variety inlcuding organic and home made products. The staff were helpful and friendly. The daily news and world focus on the breakfast menu was a nice touch. We had a twin room for 2 nights in August, the room was a 'queen' that had been seperated into 2 x single beds which resulted in 2 beds not quite as wide as normal single beds - that's ok if your also small body size but if your not then the bed is a bit small.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Stern am Rathaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 682 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is so well placed for discovering the many sights and cultural treats that Cologne has to offer. It is within walking distance of the train station for exploring further afield as well. The friendly staff at the hotel were most welcoming..........and spoke good English too ! Breakfasts were very substantial and the standard buffet was augmented each day with a selection of breakfast treats from a different country. Delicious !! Our room was spotless and comfortable (air-conditioning was useful ) with plenty of fresh linen and towels and two English TV channels which were appreciated for news and updates of the Paralympics. I would definitely return and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: There is no lift so all rooms are accessed by a staircase. The rooms at the front of the hotel seem...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koelnsterne_team, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear B787skipper,
thank you for recommending our place and rating us so favourably!
We are pleased to hear that you got such a good impression of our place and service.
Reading your other reviews here at tripadvisor shows us that you stay and know many outstanding hotels and places around the world.
Of course it makes us more than proud to read that you give us such high marks for our small hotel, joining a group of first class hotels and resorts around the globe.
By the way, we did not forget your recommendation for the cafè in Belgium and we will definitely visit next time we travel there!
Looking forward to meeting you there, or here at Stern am rathaus agai!
Please stay with us
Michael, Manfred
and the "StaR" team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a wonder full little place to stay with a great location near to all the things one would want to see while visiting Cologne (Koln).
The owners / managers and staff are wonderfully hospitable and willing to help with anything you request. They are also very knowledgable in pointing you in the right direction when needed.

being in the travel industry myself I can truely say that this is one of the places not to miss, if not for the location and friendly staff but for the value. The price includes breakfast and free WiFi which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed for two nights here and can recommend Stern am Rathaus. As the name suggests, it is just behind Cologne Old Town Hall and very close to the city night-life, sights (Cathedral, Roman Museum) etc. But because the street is slightly off the main streets it is quiet and the small cafe on the ground floor gives it a pleasant overall feel. Rooms well planned and comfortable- I've stayed in worse 4* hotels.

Also very convenient for transport - 5 mins walk to the main train station (Hauptbahnhof).

Note for early risers - breakfast starts at 7:30 am (not 7:00 am as the website says).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koelnsterne_team, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear V S
thank you so much for your terrific feedback.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!
Without being immodest we also think our place is nicer than many 4star Hotels ;-)
Our big advantage is, that we only have 8 rooms, so personal service and attentiveness are our big strength and we can do many things that are impossible in bigger hotels.
On the other hand of course this can also be seen as a disadvantage- of course we can not offer the same amenities or services like hotels with 200 rooms and more.
If you are looking for wellness areas, spas, diverse restaurants and bars, conference rooms and so on Stern am Rathaus is not the right place...
But in our niche we will do ebverything possible to make your stay special!
by the way, you are right about breakfast. For early risers breakfast is available from 6.30 upon request but our inhouse buffet only starts at 7.30, so please make sure to let us know your needs when checking in!
Thank you and please stay with us
Michael, Manfred
and the "StaR" team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but would definately return. The room was very comfortable with wet room. There is a fridge to help ypurself to drinks with honesty box. The cafe downstairs sells a good range of foods. We were very impressed with the central location and secure parking was just round the corner . The breakfast was served in the cafe and was excellent quality with homemade breads, jams and butter. The staff were very welcoming and spoke good english and recommended an excellent brauhaus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoppersleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here between a stay in Paris & one in Amsterdam.
We originally intended to stay at Hotel Domstern (their other hotel), but couldn't get a family room with 2 children's' beds.
We stayed in room 7, the Wedding Suite on the top floor, which was absolutely amazing.
We had a wonderful double bed, an amazing bathroom with THE coolest shower area ever & a large bath as well as a separate upstairs area with two sofa beds.
We even had a choice of electric sockets from 3 different countries just in case we had forgot our adapter.
The views from the windows really have to be seen; a cathedral on one side & beautiful town hall on the other.
Staff were amazing, ensured we had maps & knew what we should be visiting & even carried a couple of our bags up the stairs to our room.
There is secure parking nearby at €14 per day, & an amazing array of restaurants, bars & ice cream shops within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was THE BEST with a great selection of fresh, local produce.
We ate at the Hard Rock Café one night, which was really cool, & then at a waterside café/takeaway called Enteresan which was absolutely amazing value - once you reach the river turn right & this place is near the end of the block before the main road.
We can't wait to return - this hotel is FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domstern_team, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Johnny-Northerner,
thanks a lot for your feedback which is quite overwhelming. Of course we are also really proud of our Junior Suite, we think it definitely is the nicest and coolest room in the house, including the shower and the bathtub with cathedral view :-)
Only small problem- it is on the 3rd floor and we do not have an elevator, so please everyone keep that in mind when booking.
On the other hand we are more than happy to help with your luggage...
After almost one year of renovation work it`s absolutely great to get such terrific feedback and we definitely promise that we`ll do our very best to make your stay here as comfortable as possible.
By the way, next time we need to write a promotional text we might come back to your review as it sounds so fantastic! We definitely hope that future guests will confirm this experience and enjoy their time as much as you did!
Thank you so much and please stay with us
Michael, Manfred
& the "StaR" crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were impressed by the hotel design. It is decent and cozy. They well manage many details in the room, well utilized room space. And it is at a very good location. 10 mins walk to central station and Koln cathedral is just beside station. Also very convenient to reach shopping area, restaurants.
Moreover, I have to say the people are very friendly and nice that makes us feel easy stay.
Stern is the best hotel I've stay when traveling in Germany. :D

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domstern_team, Inhaber at Stern am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear June C,
after opening our new hotel in November we got a lot of feedback from our guests.
Fortunately most of it was excellent and it motivates us enourmosly to hear how much our guests enjoy their stay.
Reading that Stern am Rathaus is your personal favourite when traveeling in Germany definitely makes us proud! Thank you very much for this kind feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the future here in Cologne,
please stay with us
Michael, Manfred
& the "StaR" crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stern am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stern am Rathaus

Address: Buergerstr. 6, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Rathaus)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $124 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stern am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our hotel in the heart of the historic city center in a quiet side street, close to the historic city hall. Stern am Rathaus is a small, cozy and comfortable boutique hotel & cafe in the center of Cologne close to the main station, cathedral and "Altstadt" (old town)with all major sights, museums and the shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Stern am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing