We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lebanese I have ever had”
Review of Beirut

Beirut
Ranked #13 of 2,437 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best lebanese I have ever had”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lebanese is my favourite cuisine, and I have tried many, many restaurants all over the world, even in places like jordon where the food should be most authentic, but I have to say this restaurant just wins me over every time. It has the best chicken I have had cooked in any way (schiesh taok), so very tender and full of flavour, served with a dellicous garlic puree (thom) and everything is served with lovely bread until you can eat no more! Brilliant value and a huge variety. Love the staff, and on occasion they have been known to bring out a little mint tea on them, or a pudding to share. Can't recommend it more

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesElizabethKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    180
    51
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We live nearby and have walked past it loads of times without trying it out.
Finally, on recommendation from a colleague, we tried it.
I can't believe what we've been missing all this time!

Wonderful food, good service, nice atmosphere.

We shared a falafel starter - just as well. 6 Falafel and a load of salad.
Main course, my wife had the starter platter which consisted of 10 different starters. It sounds a massive amount but was a good size, not too much.
I tried one of the lamb kebab dishes with rice.

Everything was excellent, very tasty indeed.

The lebanese beer was also nice.

We both tried a puff pastry dessert. Very small but they are cheap also so no problem there.

I ended the evening with a lebanese coffee. VERY strong!!!

We will both definitely be back here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I have ever tried Lebanese food and I can honestly say, I'm a fan! This restaurant is very tiny and quite busy so reservations are probably a good idea. We shared a starter of Falafel and for our mains my husband had the lamb kebab in tomato sauce and I decided to try the Beirut-Teller which has 10 different items on it. The menu doesn't actually say what comes on this plate but from what I can figure out (ok I'm guessing) I believe what was on there was a falafel, Tabbouleh, hummas and there were 2 other dips I'm not sure what they were, other than delicious! There was also 4 different warm starters on the plate. All in all, I'm so glad for my first time trying Lebanese food I ordered the teller, you get a great assortment of foods to try. Even though the restaurant was busy our service was good and our food came out quite quickly. After supper my husband decided to try a Lebanese coffee and really enjoyed it. I'm not a fan of coffee but took a tiny sip of his and have to admit, it wasn't bad at all! We both highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great food, wonderful staff. Eat here when you are in Cologne!

Tip: do not order a main dish, eat some of the hot and cold starters (like falafel and lams sausages).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Messi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Middle Eastern Specialties”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

On our last trip to Cologne, we had just gotten up from eating lunch when we discovered Beirut. We bought some desserts as take-out an decided to come back to eat the next time we were in Cologne. Today was the day and it was excellent!!! We had several appetizers and shared two main courses. The service was very friendly and had several suggestions for us to try. The food arrived promptly and was fresh-made. My favorite was the tabbouleh (parsley salad) and the hummus (ground chick peas). There are lots of restaurants that cater to tourists, but this one is authentic. The location is about 10 minutes from the Dom and only a short walk from the Rhine river. I highly recommend it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beirut also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing