We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slavia

Slavia
Ranked #535 of 2,347 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: European, Croatian, Central European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On the banks of the Rhine in the centre of beautiful, historic Cologne is Slavia, a Croatian restaurant with a traditional lean. Boasting a large blue sign and lamp adorned frontage you might expect to step in to a very old fashioned interior however a major overhaul has given Slavia a modern and elegant look in warm, welcoming colours. Priding itself on providing a link between Germany and the Balkans, Slavia gives a classic taste of Croatia whilst also providing delicious international dishes too. All year round you’ll receive a warm Croatian welcome.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

When going to an expensive restaurant I expect to be treated with respect and here we were not. By the time our food arrived we were all cross and just wanted to leave. As it happens the food was very good and by the time we had finished our waiter obviously realised he had not behaved well did his best to make
amends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeHse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    23
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trappes, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, average croatian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having lived in Croatia for many years, we decided to visit the oldest croatian restaurant in Köln based on its numerous positive reviews here and there.
We took cevapi and while the portions were über generous and the price reasonnable, we were a bit disappointed. It would not even be considered as average in Zagreb. The ajvar, on the other hand was probably the best I have ever tasted. Gulas was very good.
Interior decoration is a bit old fashioned. Great service, both waiters we had were adorable.
All in all, we left with mixed feelings about the place. Location and service are fantastic but the food we tried just average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stillwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

this restaurant has a good combination between Croatian food and Argentinian meat.
i had the steak with mushroom sauce which was made exactly right, i enjoyed it very much.
the service although a bit slow was very warm, kind and welcoming.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“This gem on the Rhine was a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

While expecting a traditional German restaurant after a half-day of touring, this Croatian restaurant was a delightful experience. Specializing in Argentinian steak, the lamb was also delicious. We enjoyed the local Kolsch beer as well as a couple of local dishes. The lamb was prepared ideally (imported from New Zealand) and the steaks were prepared perfectly. The outdoor seating was inviting on a lovely riverside arrangement and this location is particularly popular with the locals as well as the river cruise set. When in Cologne, consider Slavia!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camodoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
460 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good food in the Altstadt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

There is plenty of competition in the Altstadt area of Cologne but this restaurant on the river front is particularly popular. This restaurant has a slavian theme and presents shared platters of starters and mains. It specializes in meat and Argentinian steak. We had a shared platter of cold meats and cheese as a starter and individual mains of duck and rib eye steak. The starter was good and substantial and the duck excellent. The steak was disappointing. The restaurant was very busy with visitors to the Christmas markets and end of year corporate parties but the service was still excellent. The decor was modern and light. It is good value for money if you keep away from the wine which is expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slavia also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing