We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value . Good location for the Lanxess Stadium”
Review of BURNS Art Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BURNS Art Cologne
Ranked #67 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value . Good location for the Lanxess Stadium”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a modern (if not rather 'concrete ') hotel that was great value for money. The service was good and the rooms clean and comfortable . We chose it for the convenient location for an event that we were attending at The Lanxess stadium.
However , it was still an easy taxi ride in to the city centre and we had the benefit of free car parking .
The buffet breakfasts were just amazing and I think it was worth going just for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
45
6
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenggries, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

friendly, ez, good hotel. all we needed for a 5 day stay. all you need close by, Fair around the corner, Rhein River just 10 mins. walking. Dwntwn 2 stops with metro, Köln Zoo just a stonestrow away, graet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWagnerP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the 4* building, which is full of art. In our opinion, the colours and art were not coordinated and it just wasn't our taste. We do liked the modern touch with the concrete walls and the well placed lights.

The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is good value for money. It's a 5-minute walk to the Messe, but a bit far from the city centre.

Overall, we liked the hotel and would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great. Hotel not to far from Christmas markets, food was excellent and rates were very very reasonable , I would stay again , shame you don't get tea and coffee in your rooms , however you could get it at the bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

been @ Burns for just one nite while travelling for job
5mins walking from Messe north entrance, so definitely great for Messe attendant; I saw as well an S line was near but on the opposite direction so I didn't check

crew was gentle and familiar, from other feedbacks I expected wifi connection to be paid separately while I got 24H access to login from my iphone, maybe they changed their tariff or it was included in my room rate

room was clean and well furnished with a kingsize bed
liked the free samples including flips / sewing kit / nails kit / shoecare kit

breakfast as well was ok and continental even if I usually have just some sweets in the morning, I saw as well scrambled eggs and bacon were offered

saw about free parking but I did not enjoy

didn't have any dinner due to weakness but while walking to the hotel I didn't see any restaurant or club: it's definitely on a residential area so I'm afraid you should move downtown to get some restaurants

while walking to the hotel I passed in front on a building supposed to be an art centre: I'd definitely stepped into and check if I had some spare time

definitely suggested

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Travellers who love to stay in a modern, high-quality hotel, without the fuzz of fancy hotel bars and expensive restaurant adjacent, and who do not mind to stay 3 stations away from the heart of town will love this hotel. The 4* building offers art, modern and well equipt rooms with space enough to feel comfortable. The 3* main building is comfortabel and modern as well, with just some smaller rooms and and more rooms per floor. The breakfast buffet is great value for 11 EUR (as per Jan 2013), WiFi is free and although there is no stylish hotel bar you can enjoy a fresh beer or a good glas of wine. The hotel has no restaurant so freshly baked pizza is the only option for the hungry. The tram is just a 3-minute walk away and will bring you within 1 station (1 minute) to the exhibition center, 2 stops (2 minutes) to Lanxess arena and within 5 stops in the middle of town. Enjoy the quiet surrounding of the hotel - sleeping so close to town with open windows in really comfortable beds/rooms makes this hotel for me THE choice when being in Cologne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobettertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Because of the great experience at Burns Düsseldorf a year earlier (see my raving review of that hotel), we decided to go to a Burns hotel again, this time in Cologne. While the Cologne branch is not a bad place to stay, and I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again, it just didn't meet up to all expectations.

Rooms are OK, although a bit cold in terms of decorations. I understand that the bare concrete is part of the "design" idea, but it doesn't help in terms of creating a cosy room. Room amenities are fine, with a good bed, good shower, and a minibar. Buffet breakfast is superb; do not skip, it certainly gets the engine started for the day. It's strange that a four-star hotel doesn't avail of a swimming pool.

Our package included a bottle of sparkling wine and tickets for a nearby sauna (Claudius Therme); this package turned out to be a great value for money. As mentioned, I wouln't mind returning here, but then again, I wouldn't go out of the way to stay here (as opposed to Burns Düsseldorf).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 261 in Cologne
197 reviews
Mülheim
Centro Hotel Ayun
Centro Hotel Ayun
#191 of 261 in Cologne
257 reviews
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Servatius Hotel
#98 of 261 in Cologne
65 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#33 of 261 in Cologne
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BURNS Art Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BURNS Art Cologne

Property: BURNS Art Cologne
Address: Adam-Stegerwald-Str. 9, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BURNS Art Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Particularly long-term guests, business travellers and culture enthusiasts will find a second home at the BURNS Art Cologne! Located directly at Cologne's trade fair centre, the hotel affords rooms and spaces featuring sophisticated architecture. The Burns Art Hotel is one of the privately-run, 4-star hotels in Cologne with a unique philosophy that corresponds with the art concept of its culture-loving owners. It is already the fifth hotel of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HRS so you can book your BURNS Art Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing