We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Christmas markets”
Review of BURNS Art Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BURNS Art Cologne
Ranked #60 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Christmas markets”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great. Hotel not to far from Christmas markets, food was excellent and rates were very very reasonable , I would stay again , shame you don't get tea and coffee in your rooms , however you could get it at the bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    74
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
46
6
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

been @ Burns for just one nite while travelling for job
5mins walking from Messe north entrance, so definitely great for Messe attendant; I saw as well an S line was near but on the opposite direction so I didn't check

crew was gentle and familiar, from other feedbacks I expected wifi connection to be paid separately while I got 24H access to login from my iphone, maybe they changed their tariff or it was included in my room rate

room was clean and well furnished with a kingsize bed
liked the free samples including flips / sewing kit / nails kit / shoecare kit

breakfast as well was ok and continental even if I usually have just some sweets in the morning, I saw as well scrambled eggs and bacon were offered

saw about free parking but I did not enjoy

didn't have any dinner due to weakness but while walking to the hotel I didn't see any restaurant or club: it's definitely on a residential area so I'm afraid you should move downtown to get some restaurants

while walking to the hotel I passed in front on a building supposed to be an art centre: I'd definitely stepped into and check if I had some spare time

definitely suggested

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Travellers who love to stay in a modern, high-quality hotel, without the fuzz of fancy hotel bars and expensive restaurant adjacent, and who do not mind to stay 3 stations away from the heart of town will love this hotel. The 4* building offers art, modern and well equipt rooms with space enough to feel comfortable. The 3* main building is comfortabel and modern as well, with just some smaller rooms and and more rooms per floor. The breakfast buffet is great value for 11 EUR (as per Jan 2013), WiFi is free and although there is no stylish hotel bar you can enjoy a fresh beer or a good glas of wine. The hotel has no restaurant so freshly baked pizza is the only option for the hungry. The tram is just a 3-minute walk away and will bring you within 1 station (1 minute) to the exhibition center, 2 stops (2 minutes) to Lanxess arena and within 5 stops in the middle of town. Enjoy the quiet surrounding of the hotel - sleeping so close to town with open windows in really comfortable beds/rooms makes this hotel for me THE choice when being in Cologne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobettertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Because of the great experience at Burns Düsseldorf a year earlier (see my raving review of that hotel), we decided to go to a Burns hotel again, this time in Cologne. While the Cologne branch is not a bad place to stay, and I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again, it just didn't meet up to all expectations.

Rooms are OK, although a bit cold in terms of decorations. I understand that the bare concrete is part of the "design" idea, but it doesn't help in terms of creating a cosy room. Room amenities are fine, with a good bed, good shower, and a minibar. Buffet breakfast is superb; do not skip, it certainly gets the engine started for the day. It's strange that a four-star hotel doesn't avail of a swimming pool.

Our package included a bottle of sparkling wine and tickets for a nearby sauna (Claudius Therme); this package turned out to be a great value for money. As mentioned, I wouln't mind returning here, but then again, I wouldn't go out of the way to stay here (as opposed to Burns Düsseldorf).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is located in a very plain residential/business area with a 5min drive or 15 min walking distance to the Cologne fair grounds.Walking downtown may take a good while, but you can take a Taxi (app. 15 €) or public transport. So, if you actually are on a private city trip, you might want to choose somewhere nearer to the action in the old town and with a nicer view.

While I am generally fond of designer hotels, I did not like my room much: While claiming 4 stars, it felt like a standard uneventful hotel room with a (fake?) wooden floor without rugs. No flatscreen.

The hotel offers no amenities whatsoever, nor gym or spa, Wifi is 7 Euros per day, which I find unacceptable for a business spot. How this place classifies four stars in Germany, is beyond me anyway. The breakfast buffet was ok if you were early enough (and the hotel is fully booked!): Special treats like salmon are not always restocked, and some colleagues, who came one day in advance a show with only a few rooms taken in the hotel, had a very basic breakfast selection on their first day.

I did not feel the staff was very helpful: When I complained at check-out, that my rooms smelled heavily with old smoke, the girl just shrugged it off, and did not even bother to apologize, when another customer paying next to me also said the same thing...

I was not thrilled, really. We paid 150 €+ while a show, which is way to much for a standard hotel like this. At regular prices or even a special offer you might want to give it a shot if you only need a place to sleep for a night or two in Cologne and don´t expect too much.

Room Tip: Don´t take one overlooking the entrance – residents my be very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Burns Art Cologne is located near the fair and a bit out of the city centre which is around 10 to 15 minutes away. For fair visitors the location is perfect. The hotel is clean and very well equipped in an renovated building in a side street. Rooms are not very big but okay and clean. The design of the rooms and the service areas is modern and stylish, so is the breakfast room which is quite nice. The buffet breakfast offered has a good quality. Service is nice and friendly. Price ratio is very good especially over weekends. All in all hotel can be recommended even if it is a bit far from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvellousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are in town for sightseeing then you might want to go for something more central - if you're going to Koelnmesse exhibition centre however this hotel is in walking distance.
The hotel itself is modern with a minimalistic edge, think concrete walls and white furniture.

Standards are in line with what you expect from a business hotel, with 2 notable exceptions:
There is no restaurant and while food can be ordered to your room, be prepared for taxi rides to the city centre if you want a proper dinner (there don't seem to be any restaurants in the area).
The hotel also charges a small fee for Wifi, which strikes me as a bit unnecessary.

All things considered, if I am back in town for a trade fair I will book this place again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 260 in Cologne
200 reviews
Mülheim
Centro Hotel Ayun
Centro Hotel Ayun
#191 of 260 in Cologne
257 reviews
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
The New Yorker | HOTEL
The New Yorker | HOTEL
#103 of 260 in Cologne
98 reviews
Ibis Koeln Messe
#43 of 260 in Cologne
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BURNS Art Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BURNS Art Cologne

Property: BURNS Art Cologne
Address: Adam-Stegerwald-Str. 9, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BURNS Art Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Particularly long-term guests, business travellers and culture enthusiasts will find a second home at the BURNS Art Cologne! Located directly at Cologne's trade fair centre, the hotel affords rooms and spaces featuring sophisticated architecture. The Burns Art Hotel is one of the privately-run, 4-star hotels in Cologne with a unique philosophy that corresponds with the art concept of its culture-loving owners. It is already the fifth hotel of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BURNS Art Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing